We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kandahar Lodge”
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Plano, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Kandahar Lodge”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The Kandahar Lodge is beautiful - beautiful setting, beautiful lodge. We had a room with a king size bed on the main level and a loft with two queens. The room was very nice, but there is not central air - there was a wall units that was extremely loud and it blows directly on the king bed, so you are freezing on the main level and unbearably hot in the loft. The room was quite expensive and we were expecting more.

Room Tip: Don't choose a room with a loft and expect to get a good night sleep in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobbie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    89
    51
    21
    6
See reviews for
111
109
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wausau, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The four mile drive up the mountain-hills to get to the Kandahar is a real heart rush! A beautiful setting! We had a nice medium sized room. No real place to eat in your room and we had a window with no view. Beautiful setting and grounds. Dusty parking lot across the street! Booked the room through National Park services web site and had a very nice lady book our room for us. This was our destination point to travel to Glacier National Park everyday which is about an hour away. They have a top rated restaurant located at this hotel. We did not eat there but heard great reviews. The continental breakfast was also very nice. Friendly staff! We enjoyed sitting outside several nights and relaxing. The beds were comfortable and the rooms are clean! Overall.. we enjoyed our stay at the Kandahar!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobHollMusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We spent 3 nights at Kandahar Lodge, really enjoyed our loft room. Plenty of space, had a kitchenette and table, bed and sitting area and TV in lower level and another bed and sofa in the loft area. The beds were very comfy and the decor was quite nice. No real view from window, mainly trees and another section of the lodge. The lobby is pretty with fireplace. The outside is well landscaped. The main draw back is no elevator and we were on third floor, the design of the lodge does not make an elevator feasible. Taking luggage down was not so bad it was the going up that was difficult. The lodge is located about 5 miles outside White Fish, pretty drive and very relaxing atmosphere. I would stay here again. Staff was helpful and friendly. One of the front desk staff recommended we explore Big Fork, so glad we did what an artsy and fun town, also gorgeous drive.
Their restaurant Cafe Kandahar is amazing.

Room Tip: loft rooms have more space and are very liveable, nice to have microwave and fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Kandahar is a fabulous hotel. There are, however, no elevators if stairs bother you. The rooms are clean with lovely furnishings (comfortable high 4- poster beds). The desk staff was friendly and helpful. The restaurant in this hotel is a 5-star type for dinner. Included continental breakfast is OK. The hot tub (not pool) is large and behind plexiglass to eliminate the wind. Views are everywhere! If you need a taxi to the nearby town, plan ahead. They need to be arranged hours before you want one.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jts621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2013

It is a lovely hotel in a lovely location. The restaurant is very good at dinner. The continental breakfast was fair. The lobby is lovely with a nice fireplace and the staff is nice. However, it is overpriced, especially since the room was very crowded (filled with too much big furniture), there is no shuttle to town (abour 5 miles), and there is no elevator. However, the staff is very helpful about carrying stuff up. I'm not sure what they do with people who have trouble walking, though. The landscaping is gorgeous. I lost control of myself and spent a lot of time figuring out how I would redecorate the room. (mount the TV on the wall and get rid of its cabinet, put in a less massive bed or even a murphy bed, get smaller pictures, replace the very heavy table and 4 chairs with lighter ones. Replace the sofa and the chair with less massive ones.)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magarin0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013 via mobile

For such a pricey hotel, the carpets are worn and stained, the light in the room was wholly inadequate, the towels are thin and scarce and there is only an infinitesimal amount of hot water in the shower. No elevator is a major inconvenience when hauling luggage to the third floor. Staff was really nice though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dctraveler050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I want to thank past reviewers for keeping my expectations low, because we really enjoyed our stay. I was a little nervous that service would be surly and breakfast would be awful. Neither was the case. Front desk staff members were very nice and accommodating (made sure we had breakfast for our early departure). The continental breakfast was fine with plenty to choose from -- on par with Hampton Inn etc. minus the make-your-own waffles. Our loft room (2 Queens 1 King) was plenty big enough for our family. Only complaint is it was a little dark. Yes, we had to walk up to the 4th floor, but, come on, people! You are presumably visiting because you are hiking or skiing or doing adventure stuff. What is the big deal to walk up stairs? On-site restaurant is excellent and the Snug Bar serves same food. Outside, the flower boxes and plantings are lovely in summer.

Room Tip: Loft rooms fit a family of 2 adults 2 teens fine if you're OK sharing a bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galinuva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
129 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,011 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
340 reviews
9.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing