We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great experience”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great experience at Kandhar lodge. Very charming and quaint. No elevator though. Beds were awesome super comfy. The best part of stay was the Snug lounge...the bartender Holly was there and what a rock star. Totally accommodating and worked her butt off. She provided great entertainment as well. We had a great night out there

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    90
    51
    21
    6
See reviews for
114
112
17
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Just an over priced.not good breakfast.poor wifi.no air port or train station pick up.I checked in 8/7/14 and checked out8/9/14.they charged me $762.57
They said I stayed 3 nights.I was busy in the morning to check out and I called them later.they said sorry

Room Tip: Stay away from these people
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank abhilash s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Traveling solo to join an educational tour, I wasn't sure what to expect from this lodge based on past reviews. I loved it! The rooms were clean and well-appointed. The staff were attentive and kind, responsive to my special requests. The setting on Big Mountain couldn't be better for evening summer walks, and the cozy lobby was perfect for reading a good book on a comfy couch. Breakfast was more than adequate. I would definitely stay here again, and again, and again!

Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank MaryKLady1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central cal
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The lodge was a great base for us to discover the area outside of Glacier National Park. We spent 3 nights at the lodge. As my title stated, no elevators to be found, so pack light. We stayed in a second floor room with a kitchen. It was clean and well appointed. My main complaint was there was no view from that room, and I'm not sure if any of the rooms have views. I also like to sleep with the windows open , but I got tired of the constant drone of the a/c units that you could hear from the other rooms. I finally broke down and shut my window and turned on the air like everyone else.
I must say that the staff we interacted with were great. We didn't eat dinner there, but the bar was cozy and the keep was very entertaining.
If I were to go back, I would check out the room situation better to see what my options were .

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank brokecheerdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Not the best experience. Dark Dark rooms... no views. I wouldnt recommend it unless you are desperate. I was, for 4th of july I couldnt find anything under 250 dollars except this place. This place is 15 minutes walk from the ski lift but not much else around there. For summers, I wouldnt recommend this place.

For winters I can imagine it being pretty cozy, however there isnt much to the property besides the lobby and I cannot imaging people wanting to hang out outside for too long in that cold weather.

I wouldnt recommend this to anyone.

Room Tip: not very good wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pranjals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for only 1 night during our trip through Glacier and it was a little far off the beaten path. It took almost 20 minutes to get back to the main road which just made the morning earlier. The room itself was nice. We had a good view of a garden area, but the room was super dark and the beds were so far off the floor we had to jump to get in them. Strange that there was no handicap access. No elevator so had to climb 2 flights of narrow stairs to get to the room. The breakfast was lame and the service was just okay. It was really expensive so we won't be staying there again, but if we were there skiing, probably would because it's convenient to the lifts.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed at the Kandahar Lodge for one night with a bunch of friends prior to a wedding. Lovely lodge! It was early July and the greenery was lovely. Most of the group didn't want to pay the prices for dinner at their restaurant, which disappointed us as the menu looked amazing and it's well reviewed. Instead we ordered take-out for a crowd from a nearby fried chicken/BBQ place; the staff at Kandahar were so accommodating as to provide us with plates, silverware, etc. Nearby you can ride the ski lift up to the top of Big Mountain to enjoy the AMAZING view, which was a fun excursion. Staff at Kandahar informed us that in the winter you can ski down to the Lodge from the mountainside, and the shuttle stops nearby to bring you up to the chairlift with gear during winter season. Be able-bodied as you need to ascend the stairs with your own luggage. Nicely furnished rooms. Nice continental breakfast including hard boiled eggs, bagels, toast, cereal, muffins, yogurt, instant oatmeal, juice/tea/milk/coffee.

Room Tip: If you can't walk up stairs - Ask about it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitefish hotels
5.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
143 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,041 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
352 reviews
4.9 mi away
Grouse Mountain Lodge
Grouse Mountain Lodge
#6 of 17 in Whitefish
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing