We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was So Great We're Going Back!”
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Redcliff, Alberta
2 reviews
“Was So Great We're Going Back!”
Reviewed 11 January 2009

We recently had the opportunity to spend a night at the Kandahar Lodge on Big Mountain in Whitefish and loved everything about it. We hadn't been to Whitefish in 14 years and this was our first experience at the Kandahar Lodge. Walking in the front doors I felt like I was truely in a ski lodge with the fire place burning and the coffee, cider and cookies were a very nice touch. The staff were extremely friendly and welcoming. Our requests for a "few extras" were met quickly and efficiently with a smile. The rooms were very clean and cozy. The loft room we had was an excellant choice for two adults and two teenagers. The mini kitchen was a pleasant surprise and came in handy. Unfortunately we were only able to stay one night but enjoyed our stay so much we have booked another weekend later this month.

  • Liked — The Friendliness of the staff
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirch_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    89
    51
    20
    6
See reviews for
110
107
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of the summer season. The lodge and lobby were pretty, woodsy but not rustic, quite polished looking. NIce big fireplace (more about that later) and sitting area.
First there were the stairs with no elevator available. The front office employees did haul our baggage up- We could not have done it without them. The 3 flights of stairs was a hardship for me- I ended up coming up the outdoor path most of the time, it was easier to negotiate.

The parking was atrocious. About 6 designated spaces, and about 4 more "cram in wherever you can" spaces. The overflow was across the street and down a hill.

The hotel room was small for the price. We had 2 queen beds. They were very high and interesting beds- the kind of beds that usually have a step that goes with them, and should. It was quite a climb, and there was no sitting on the bed to put your shoes on. The blinds to the window were inoperable- broken. The housekeeping was shoddy- the beds were barely made, soaps and lotion not replenished. There was nowhere to store luggage

The reception staff we saw most often was not that friendly. We had planned a night to eat at the cafe, and were told by the office that morning that we did not need reservations. When we came for dinner, we were told we could wait in the lobby for an hour and a half and there might be a table. We had looked forward to dining there, other than breakfast, and were very disappointed.

One night we noticed a smoky smell. We were settling down for the night, turned lights off. When our eyes started burning, I got up out of bed, dressed, and went down to the front desk. When I asked what was going on with the smoke, the receptionist jumped up and asked where our room was, and sounded paicky about how she hoped the fireplace in the lobby wasn't "backpuffing", and got on the phone with someone who advised her how to shut off the smoke alarm if it came on (!). She told me not to worry because the fire station was right next door. The smoke did decrease after about an hour, but the experience was unsettling.

The grounds were lovely, and the best thing about the place. They weren't extensive, but every corner was filled with very naturalistic gardens that were just enchanting. There were also hanging baskets and traditional flower pots all around the grounds.
The hot tub was huge and deep, and we enjoyed an evening soak with just us in the tub.

The thing is, if you intend to stay at Big Mountain, there aren't many choices. We needed to be close to family who stayed at the Edelweiss, and that was our only option. The purpose of our trip was to visit Gacier NP, and staying in Whitefish would have been a better way to go. Big Mountain itself is a small resort village at the base of a skin mountain. We did enjoy the lift to the top, but all of Big Mountain resort shops could be gone through in about 30 minutes.

  • Liked — The outside
  • Disliked — The stairs, room size
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Opossums5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2008

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Kandahar Lodge. We found the rooms clean and cozy. We rented a "hotel" room which had a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker AND dishes. The Cafe' Kandahar dinner was exceptional (comparable to any fine dining in the Seattle area), but breakfast was lacking for the price. There are several nice breakfast cafe's in downtown Whitefish, a simple 7 miles down the mountain. Buffalo Cafe' and Lula's (try the pie) are two that were suggested to us. We loved the outdoor hot tub at the hotel and the Snug Bar. We had never been to Glacier Park before, so we asked the front desk staff many questions and they were very accommodating. We liked the fact that the locals gave us the "down low" on where to go. We hope to return to Kandahar Lodge and Whitefish Mountain Resort on Amtrak during the 2009 ski season.

  • Liked — The friendly staff and homey feel, not like staying at a big chain.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vivianlillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2008

Everyone on the hotel staff was very nice and very friendly. The lobby is really nice.

The Lodge is exactly where it says it is but their photos would give some people the sense that it is a bit more remote and isolated than it really is. For ski purposes, the proximity to everything is probably great. For "commune with nature in Montana in the summertime" purposes, it doesn't do the job.

The Lodge makes note of its quiet time after 10pm when guests are expected to tone down the decibels. Unfortunately, in our room, it was possible to hear conversations in the adjoining two rooms even when they were being conducted at normal levels. And, because of modest construction standards, walking-around noise from the room above came through LOUD and clear. Then, when the kids upstairs started playing hopscotch ...

For a lot of people, the Lodge would probably be wonderful. For us, it could have been lots nicer.

  • Liked — Lobby
  • Disliked — Room/room noise
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank NewSmyrnaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2008

Our 3 day stay at Kandahar The Lodge at Big Mountain proved to be a real gem. The room was very warm, nicely appointed, quiet and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will stay there again when we go to Glacier or fishing in the area.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, ca
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2008

We stayed two nights - our room was on the fourth floor and there is no elevator and no bellman - the lady at the desk said they could help with our luggage but no one did - we had a room with a loft which was nice enough but the loft was another flight of steps - also, there was NO air conditioning in the loft so it was incredibly hot
It is six or eight miles out of Whitefish and not near anything except the ski slopes, so it really doesn't work for the summer.
The night we got there, the restauarant (the only one for eight miles) was closed for a private party. We saw a list with multiple dates of private parties in the upcoming weeks so apparently this happens frequently.
Skip this one and stay at the Whitefish Lodge on the Lake - the rates are about the same and it sits right on the lake with a gorgeous lobby and facilities like a pool and marina

  • Liked — rooms clean
  • Disliked — fourth floor walk-up
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mollyholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
il
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2008

We stayed two nights at Kandahar Lodge and one in Many Glacier Hotel in Glacier national park
The lobby is nice but The room we stayed in needs badly redecorating
The owner is very unfriendly. The hotel was expensive and the room doesn't fit this rate. Dinner was O.K. but we expacted more for 120$.
Whitefish is 30 minutes from Glacier national park. The going to the sun road was closed and that caused a problem.
We stayed the 3rd night in Many Glacier Hotel in Glacier national park and liked it much better.

  • Liked — the lobby
  • Disliked — the room and staff service
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandaharlodge, General Manager at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2008
This guest was unhappy about the amount of an out of country long distance telephone charge. I refunded 1/2 of the charge to their cc.

The rooms were completely redecorated in 2001.

Cafe Kandahar is owned and operated separately from Kandahar Lodge.

The Going to the Sun Road in Glacier National Park opens for vehicles as soon as they are able to clear feet of snow from where the Road crosses the Continental Divide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
5.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
9.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing