We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Lodge, Great Snow Sports, Incredible Scenery” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
St. Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful Lodge, Great Snow Sports, Incredible Scenery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

Wow! - Glacier Park, Big Mountain Ski Resort, fabulous restaurants in the town of Whitefish. I can't wait to visit this place again this summer. The Kandahar Lodge was perfect. The rooms are beautiful. The restaurant is only open for dinner (weekends for brunch), but it is an absolute first class experience. The Lodge does a nice, free breakfast every morning in the lobby area. There is also a super coffee bar called Expresso Montano. We found all the staff to be very friendly and helpful. I loved sitting in the large, leather filled lobby reading or checking e-mail (on high speed WiFi) watching the fire burn and drinking a great glass of wine from the Snug Bar. They tell me golf in the area is spectacular, so we will be back this summer.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bobglatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    88
    51
    19
    6
See reviews for
106
106
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lake, Missouri
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2010

IF charming, enchanting, wonderful are in your vocabulary... then Kandahar is the place for you!
Simply Wonderful. From Laurie and Rick greeting you at the front desk... to Paul helping and assisting so much! (they do help you with your bags up the steps to your room)
Andy and Tom in the SNUG Bar... to Housekeeping staff... Everyone is so kind at Kandahar!
The 24/7 roaring fire keeps the lobby/living area so comfy... you will meet so many folks from so many different places. It is a family place... a very welcoming place to call home for as long as you stay.
The continental breakfast more than fills your morning hunger...
The snug bar can replinish your thirst!
The Kandahar Cafe is a wonderful dining experience...
The 'small plates' that are offered are a treat in the lobby area.
(the elk burger was devine).
The hot tub is great... the work out room offered all that we needed to exercise.
The ski room is just off the lobby to get geared up!
A TRUE DELIGHT! We will return as soon as possible! My Husband LOVED skiing the mountain... no lines... great condition...
PLUS... downtown is AWESOME!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaAnne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

I traveled from Seattle along with family to do some Montana powder skiing and snowboarding. We were absolutely delighted with the quality of Kandahar lodge and their staff. People went out of their way to help us. We had 3 feet of snow accumulate on our car while there and they kept it shoveled out and swept off. We went off skiing early most days ignoring our chores and the room was tidy and clean upon return. We needed a place to do some work on our skis and they accommodated us.

The quality of their building is exceptional and is maintained with the highest standards. They have a great boot warming and ski room. In the morning, after breakfast, we walked downstairs, put on your warm boots, picked up your skis, and walked a short way to get on a groomed trail. We skied home for lunch to warm up and headed out again until lifts closed. At the end of the day we'd catch a trail called "Home Again" that brought us back to the lodge. To loosen up for the next day, we'd enjoy their huge outdoor hot tub and indoor steam room. We'll definitely be back to enjoy another week of relaxation and great Montana skiing. The lodge and staff are remarkable with a true Montana lodge feel and people who are genuinely kind. They care that you have a good time. I've recommended them to colleagues and friends looking for a great ski trip and relaxing week in Montana.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthwestSkier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

We spent a few days at the Kandahar over the Christmas break and loved it. We had a loft room with a kitchen which was really convenient for making lunch and breakfast. We our dinners out and I really recommend Cafe Kandahar. Our room was very clean and quiet, the hot tub was wonderful and the ski and boot storage was very convenient. We were taken by shuttle to the ski hill and back and it was very easy to ski out/in as well. Superb staff (they were dealing with a water main break) and lovely lobby. This is a perfect place to stay for a ski vacation.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wkd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

This is a great place. When we were driving there, we thought it was a litle far, but it was well worth it. Our room was lovely, very nice furnishings and very comfortable.
We used the huge hot tub in the evening and morning after long hikes in Glacier National Park. It was very nice.
The staff was very welcoming and very helpful.
We are looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyjo60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2009

We would recommend the Kandahar Lodge to others. The staff accomodated all of our needs in a friendly and efficient manner. They helped us with travel tips. This lodge has a continental breakfast, presided over by a very friendly and informative fellow who provides expresso and coffee. A great outdoor hot tub, beautiful flowers everywhere and a fire in the hearth at the end of the day really made us feel pampered during our vacaction stay.
Mary-Beth and Joe Wagner

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catmanwagner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
home
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2009

We stayed here 6 nights of our 2 week vacation. The staff were lovely-very kind and helpful. Unbelievable beauty! By far the best value of the 3 hotels we visited while in Montana and Wyoming. The only bad part was that we had to leave!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ssexsonlyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Rocky Mountain Lodge
17.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 16 in Whitefish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
9.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing