We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2006

We stayed at the Kandahar Lodge for three days while we toured Glacier National Park. The lodge is very warm and inviting, and as previously mentioned, the rooms were decorated nicely and were very cozy.

The Kandahar Cafe was fantastic for breakfast. We ate there all three days, and everything we had was delicious. We intended to eat dinner there at least once but never made it due to the time we arrived back from touring the park.

The only complaint I had was the cleaning service. The room was very clean when we first arrived, but on subsequent days, they did not refresh the coffee, clean the coffee pot, replace all of the towels, etc.

On a side note, they do not provide in-room ironing boards. You have to ask for one, and then they only have the small tabletop type. This was not a big deal for us.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brittany2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2006

We couldn't have been more pleased with our accomodations!! We arrived on an unseasonably warm day, with temperatures in the 90's. Although our room did not have an air conditioner, it was immaculate and tastefully decorated. In the evenings it does cool down quite a bit, but my husband suffers with asthma and has a sensitivity to heat. I didn't want it to ruin his vacation, so I contacted the front desk. They kindly gave us a room with an air conditioner. (MOST HOTELS IN OR NEAR GLACIER PARK ARE NOT AIR CONDITIONED) The food at Cafe Kandahar is exceptional! My husband is a Chef and we frequently dine at upscale restaurants. It was one of the best dining experiences I have ever had!!! The menu provides a wonderful selection. The mushroom appetizer was fabulous!!!! (AND I DON"T LIKE MUSHROOMS!!) The elk was also exceptionally good. The dishes were prepared to perfection. Kudos to Chef Andy!!!
WE WILL RETURN FOR ANOTHER FINE MEAL !!!!!!

3  Thank llamplugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2005

My husband and I, and our 14 year old son booked our summer vacation at the Kandahar Lodge and LOVED it! The Kandahar is a beautiful ski lodge situated on the mountainside of Big Mountain, a few hundred yards from the base of the ski slopes. The lobby is beautifully decorated with fabulous oversized sofas and chairs gathered around a big stone fireplace.

We reserved two adjoining queen suite rooms. The rooms are beautiful as well, tastefully appointed with light pine cabinetry. I believe the rooms were remodeled in or around 2001, so the rooms were very fresh, clean and up-to-date. And the bathrooms have beautiful natural tile and a great shower (I'm very picky about bathrooms). Our room did not have air conditioining, and we were there during some of the hottest days in July, but we were never uncomfortable. We kept our windows open when we were in the room and enjoyed a delightful breeze. A few nights it got cool enough for us to crawl under the big down comforter! What a treat!

The dining room, Kandahar Cafe, is AWESOME! We had breakfast there every morning, using vouchers they gave us as guests of the lodge. The dining room was often full, but the waitstaff did a very efficient job of handling the patrons. The food was delicious.

Dinner at the Kandahar was as fine a meal as any I've had. We dined there 3 nights. The attention to detail, freshness and presentaion was unmatched. Upon seating and ordering drinks, we were presented with an "amuse-bouche", a delightful bite to start the evening. The menu offered wild game, seafood, steaks and one vegetarian selection. We enjoyed everything we ordered. The decor in the Cafe is also enjoyable as framed vintage black and white photographs illustrate the development of Big Mountain and its early years.

We frequently used the outdoor hot tub (they have 2; one inside and one outside) after our day hikes, which was just the ticket. Then sometimes we would enjoy a nice cocktail before dinner in the small cozy bar called "The Snug" and enjoyed getting to know our server Mimi. (All the waitstaff was very personable and friendly)

The Kandahar is about a 5-7 mile drive from Whitefish, a neat little town of coffee shops, galleries, great restaurants, and spas. We spent our days hiking in Glacier National Park (spectacular scenery) and shopping in Whitefish and Kallispell. Our trip to this beautiful state and particularly this area and this lodge was one of our best. (Even our tennager had fun!) The days went too fast. But we'll definitely be back...and maybe in the winter to ski!

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank designerchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kandaharlodge, Front Office Manager at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2007

Summer travelers...All our rooms have air conditioning now!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Columbus, TX
17
Reviewed 6 August 2004

My husband and I finally took our honeymoon a year after we got married. We decided to kind of wing it as for picking out a place to stay on our trip to Whitefish. I checked out the Kandahar online and sent email messages which were promptly answered. The pictures on-line do not do it justice. We stayed at the Kandahar the beginning of June for one night before our trip through Logans Pass and on to St. Mary's where we stayed one night. When we returned to Whitefish the next day we stayed at the Kandahar again.

Since we've been home I've been trying to redecorate my bedroom to match that of the Kandahar rooms. The rooms were excellent and well priced. Stayed in the standard "hotel" style room one night and it was great, the next night stayed in the Queen Suite and both were excellent. I plan on coming back in the winter and we will stay at the Kandahar. The front desk was helpful, accomodating and friendly and the rooms were beautiful and the view from Kandahar was breathtaking. This is the cozy, log, ski lodge your looking for.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2003

The drive to Kandahar Lodge is worth the trip in itself. The Lodge is warm and cozy(even in the summer when we visited), with an eager to please staff. All the staff were very helpful in helping us plan some day excursions. Our room was very clean, spacious, and most of all quiet. In the summer(I'm not sure about the winter), they give you vouchers towards breakfast, which by the way was absolutely delicious.
They also serve dinner, although a little pricey, we did treat ourselves one night, and it was well worth it. Although not much goes on in the summer on Big Mountain, there was still activities to keep us busy on some of our down time. There's a Walk in the Tree Tops that I thought was very interesting, mountain biking down the slopes, a ride to the top of Big Mountain for great views, and a few gift shops to bring home some unnecessary knick knacks. Although the ride to Kandahar Lodge takes about 20 minutes from downtown Whitefish, it's well worth the drive. I am looking forward to one day to spending time there during the busy ski season(even though I don't ski)to soak up the atmostphere.

20  Thank tripgirl74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
2  Thank Sug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer F, Director of Sales at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2015

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
5 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
184 reviews
17.5 mi away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
11 mi away
Cedar Creek Lodge & Conference Center
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#3 of 17 in Whitefish
1,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range: £101 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing