We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful... Will be back”
Review of Kandahar Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kandahar Lodge
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Certificate of Excellence
Montana
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful... Will be back”
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We met friends from FL, GA, MT in Glacier and all had a horrible experience at Lake McDonald Lodge on our first night.
Our second night we stayed at Kandahar Lodge and it was the total opposite. From the wonderful woman working the front desk to the gentleman working the lounge, to the masseuse, everyone was awesome. The lodge is charming, modern and very comfortable, The rooms are large with beds that are to die for and we all enjoyed the 15 foot hot tub. We didn’t eat in the restaurant so I cannot comment on the food. The only complaint I have is the lounge is called ‘The Snug’ and it is small. There is a large seating area out front of the lounge but it is tight just to get into to make your order. We all wished we had stayed there the first night and drove in to the park. In the morning we walked over and did the Zip Line, Bob Sled like course, took the lift to the top of the mountain and had lunch… it was a wonderful day and we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ga2r111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    89
    51
    20
    6
See reviews for
111
108
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

This hotel is perfect for a week-end getaway after spending the day in Glacier National Park. We stayed for only one night and plan on going again, in the winter hopefully, and stay longer to make the most of it. The location is great, right at the bottom of the ski slopes. The staff is amazingly friendly and helpful, the hotel is really nice and cozy, there is a great hot tub the whole family has enjoyed, and the restaurant (Cafe Kandahar)... the food is extraordinary! So much variety and quality! Of course, make it a special event because it will cost you more than a regular restaurant, but it is definitely worth the price!! They have a great choice of wines, and the staff is so pleasant and professional, they will make your meal a moment to remember.
You should really go, you will not regret it. :)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

Well...this place was just a little weird. Great spot with pretensions of being a luxury location, but without the sensibility to back it up. I'm sure it's a great place to be in the winter, sitting around the big fireplace apres ski, but in the summer you notice all the negatives: No elevator (and we were on the fourth floor). Indifferent housekeeping staff (had to complain when we received a notice that our room wouldn't be serviced after 10 AM!). Very limited parking at hotel - rest was across the street and down a hill. Oh, and as we were leaving after checkout, a desk clerk came running out to the car with an envelope yelling "I was supposed to give you this!" - an important message that had been received two days earlier! Location is key for this place, and I'm sure that gives them the freedom to be a bit iffy - but there's plenty of condos to rent if you want to stay on the mountain, and The Lodge at Whitefish in town is supposed to be excellent. A shame we didn't know about it before picking the Kandahar.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tumbleweedColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitefishHobo, Front Office Manager at Kandahar Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2010
Thank you for your review regarding Kandahar Lodge. We are sorry to read that you think our 50 room boutique hotel is "weird". Kandahar Lodge is located at Whitefish Mountain Resort. Whitefish Mountain Resort is a ski resort, established in 1947. Yes, Kandahar Lodge does not have an elevator. We make no pretense to this fact. Kandahar Lodge was built in 1981 without an elevator nor does the hotel plan to add an elevator. Yes, we do have limited parking in front of the hotel, but plenty of parking is available within walking distance.

The message that was to be given to the guest was in fact given to the guest upon check-out per the instructions of the person who wrote the message.

The notice that was left under the door regarding housekeeping not servicing the room was from the previous day in which a "Do Not Disturb" sign was observed. Our guests privacy is highly valued at Kandahar Lodge.

We hope that you would consider staying at Kandahar Lodge in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
128 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

We chose this place for our first night on trip to Glacier-Waterton Park because it was close enough to airport and friends had recommended restaurant. Dinner was very good. Room was OK and location was OK. Breakfast (continental bkfast included) was pre-packaged pastries and not good). Lobby was charming and staff was very friendly. Room was fine - one bed was very soft and the other was good.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olderfemaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheridan, Wyoming
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2010

The room was nice but dark. Some missing lightbulbs in bathroom, not very bright to begin with. Carpet was wet by the refrigerator so room was musty we called the front desk and they fixed it quickly. Resteraunt on site was awesome. Very much a lodge would be great fun during ski season. A little disapointed in the ambience. There wasn't alot of extras in the rooms like shampoo, soaps, etc. The grounds were beautiful and well maintained lovely location.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richardandlaura1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2010

Nothing beats the Kandahar Lodge!! This is a wonderful hotel right on Whitefish Mountain. The staff are amazing, very kind, accomodating, friendly and go above and beyond the call of duty. The hotel is small and cozy with a great hot tub, fireplace and sitting area. Continental breakfast is served daily which is great and very convenient. Rooms are also nice and very clean, each one is different. The restaurant right on site is also great. The van takes us right up to chair 2 and we ski right back to the hotel. We are Canadian and have gone back for the past three years. It is our favorite place to stay in Whitefish and a wonderful way to ski and relax!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heaterw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2010

Our family have been staying at Kandahar for the past 6 years. The location is great, and the staff is awesome! This year they included a continental breakfast which exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuckcalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whitefish
5.0 mi away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
114 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Rocky Mountain Lodge
6.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Whitefish
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
995 reviews
5.4 mi away
Pine Lodge
Pine Lodge
#5 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
9.4 mi away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kandahar Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kandahar Lodge

Property: Kandahar Lodge
Address: 3824 Big Mountain Rd, P.O. Box 278, Whitefish, MT 59937-8624
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > Whitefish
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Whitefish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kandahar Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kandahar Lodge is a rustic, yet elegant lodge located at Whitefish Mountain Resort, 7 miles north of Whitefish and 32 miles from the west entrance of Glacier National Park. The Lodge has 50 rooms, a fully licensed bar and a gourmet restaurant that serves dinner only. A continental breakfast is included in the rates. The lovely lobby has a wood burning fireplace, free WIFI and comfortable couches and chairs. Other amenities include a large outdoor hot tub, steam room, exercise room and massage treatment room. The rooms all have queen beds, down comforters, microwaves, small refrigerators and a/c. Kandahar is open from the first week of December to the first week of April (ski season) and June 1 through September 30. The Lodge opens to prearranged groups of 20 or more in the spring and fall ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kandahar Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kandahar Hotel Whitefish
Kandahar Lodge Whitefish, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing