We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slightly overpriced, but when you're the only place in town ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Big Springs
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Springs
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Slightly overpriced, but when you're the only place in town ...”
Reviewed 11 March 2011

I've stayed here before and will likely do so again. I don't really like paying $49 for a Motel 6, but there isn't anything else close at any price so it's either stop short or push further for the day and you'd still be in the same price range.
Check in was pleasant and helpful. WiFi is free, so that is $3 that other Motel 6's charge extra for. It has an indoor pool but that was closed. Room was larger than a lot of 6's, the beds where not pushed against both walls. Clean, warm, quiet, doors opened to a hall instead of to the outdoors, a plus in the winter.
Two restaurants next door plus Subway and Little Caesars. This is one of five Motel 6's owned by the Bosselman Truck stops

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim-OnTheWayHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    18
    18
    11
    14
See reviews for
24
10
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, NE
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2010

Hotel smelled badly, incredibly sparse accommodations. Felt priced high at $70 with tax which surprised me.

Parking lot access is not good through either a gas station parking lot or a terribly rutted gravel drive without good signage.

Wi-Fi signal was mostly unreachable and very unstable in the room, had to tether thru my cell phone instead (which is so slow that it is quite shocking it was better than the in hotel Wi-Fi).

Bathroom toilet was very loud when flushing, and could hear flushing from other rooms clearly.

Hallway floors looked quite dirty.

TV was slow to respond and very dated compared to what most hotels now have, even at this price range.

Overall we did not expect much at $70.00, to feel like we overpaid was of great surprise. We will go further down the road next time rather than stopping at the Big Springs Motel 6. Still can't get the awful smell of the entire hotel our of my head.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketchy311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Big Springs hotels

Lincoln, Nebraska
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2010

We stopped here on our way to Colorado and were not disappointed. We passed all the over priced hotels in Ogallala and stayed here for only $50. It was clean and the rooms were large. They also have an indoor pool and baby pool. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VacationsRule4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincoln ne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Yes, it's right in the middle of a truck plaza. Much better priced than Ogalalla hotels, but you get what you pay for. The beds were awful. You could feel the springs in your back. They were "Big Springs"! I had to sleep on pillows on top of the bed. By far the very worst hotel bed I have ever encountered. On a positive note, the pool area was great. There was an attached restaurant that smelled pretty good. No continental breakfast. That's about it. I'll stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmc1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2010

For being right of I-80 this is not your average Motel 6. I have stayed her many times and never been disappointed. Very reasonably priced rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the rooms have always been clean.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colotravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sant paul, nz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Perfectly clean rooms and lobby. Friendly staff, would stay again!!!
Prices are reasonable.
CON: No breakfast served.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brwoodru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quintana Roo, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2009

The other reviews are absolutely correct. This is the nicest Motel 6 we've been in and we have traveled from Mexico to California and are now en route to WI and back down to Texas, so we have seen more than a few Motel 6 motels. I asked for a room on the opposite side of hte freeway side but the clerk let me know that trucks idle over on that side and now that I'm in the freeway side room, I can't hear a thing (heater is on though) from the freeway or any other room.

The indoor pool is a HUGE bonus, there doesn't seem to be a grassy area for the dog but it is literally freezing outside, so maybe it is just frozen. The Wifi, unlike any other Motel 6 we have hit, is free and available everywhere. It is fast and reliable. The room is HUGE - room for almost another bed - and very very clean. Clean enough to sleep on the floor, if that was something you needed to do. Heater works well, pool is warm, bathroom is clean - I really can't think of anything to complain about. Furniture in good condition and front desk staff is cute and helpful beyond measure.

There is a steakhouse very closeby as well as Grandma's. Both seemed incredibly expensive to me (breakfast entree $8-10) but we are more used to Mexican prices for eating out.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamnkats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Big Springs
10.9 mi away
Budget Host Platte Valley Inn
18.9 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#3 of 10 in Ogallala
603 reviews
19.2 mi away
Travelodge Ogallala
Travelodge Ogallala
#6 of 10 in Ogallala
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Ogallala
122 reviews
19.0 mi away
Super 8 Ogallala
Super 8 Ogallala
#2 of 10 in Ogallala
406 reviews
19.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ogallala
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Big Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Big Springs

Property: Motel 6 Big Springs
Address: 111 Circle Rd # 107, Big Springs, NE 69122-5014 (Formerly Best Value Inn)
Region: United States > Nebraska > Big Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Big Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Big Springs 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Big Springs NE is conveniently located near shopping and dining, including our on-site restaurant, Sam Bass Steakhouse. Coin laundry facility and truck parking. Enjoy free WI-FI in all modern guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Big Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing