We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise! ”
Review of River Inn Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brownville
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Inn Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brownville
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

The rooms were clean and refreshing, the Quietness of the community and the wonderful breakfast was just what we needed to finish off our vacation! The only thing missing was a nice place to have supper. The eatery in town is open only on weekends. So pack a picnic and enjoy the view!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lefleurgraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

This review is more about the New Years Eve party than the resort itself. We were still impressed with the same lovely little rooms which were very clean with a most comfy bed, nice bathroom, and great views of the river. But the party for their New Years Eve event was lacking compared to a year ago. We had such a good time a year ago that we decided to return even though the price had gone up a little this year. ( A little over $240 per couple for both the room and party) We still figured it would be worth the price. We even encouraged several other couples to attend as well. And although we still had a nice time there were some noticeable differences from a year ago. The time for wine tasting and hors d'oeurves seemed to be cut short and the food offerings were nothing like the top class items that were served last year. For instance, last year there was unlimited shrimp cocktail, this year each shrimp was served separately and it appeared there was only about one per person. They ran out in about twenty minutes so if you were toward the end of the line, well tough. Other offerings were similarly sparse compared to the sumptuous and varied table a year ago. Not much variety and not much there. Wine served was still quite good, but so little time to enjoy it. Just one person serving so the line was quite long. Didn't leave time to socialize and mingle with the crowd in such a short time. It also appears that they have changed vendors for the meal as it was not nearly as good as last year. It was OK, just not like last year. And be careful when you order pop or beer from the bar. Much of it seems to be outdated by quite a bit. My husband had a beer that was marked March 2012 on the bottom of the can -- nearly two years old. Others in our group found similar old dates for pop as well. That is unacceptable. The band, Sum Guise, was great and we enjoyed their blue grass renditions of many old favorites. Unfortunately, they packed up at 11:00 PM and never played again. Come on guys! It's a New Years Eve party for heavens sake. Hang in there till midnight! There was nothing left to do after the band quit so we were back in our own rooms well before the new year arrived. Bummer! The fireworks were probably better than last year but were also shot off at 11:00. That would not have mattered to us had the band continued to play for another hour or so.
Breakfast was good but there was no champagne offered with the orange juice as there was last year. We had expected so much more from this event considering our previous experience, but compared to a year ago, we were kind of disappointed. This is still a really nice place for a relaxing overnight visit and a good spot to view wildlife -- we saw eagles flying around over the river -- but I probably would think twice before spending that much money on New Years Eve again as we just didn't think it was quite worth it.

Room Tip: River side is lovely. You might spot bald eagles flying over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Huskerredhead22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We needed to get away from things for a few days and came across this unique bed and breakfast on a former casino boat now permanently docked in Brownville, Nebraska. We leisurely watched the Missouri River flow by with cheese and wine (We brought it!) and then spent two great nights in a wonderful room. We came mid-week because it worked for us, but keep in mind that Brownville rolls up the sidewalks except on weekends. But we didn't mind, because we came to get away, and we actually had the place to ourselves. The breakfast is absolutely wonderful and the hosts are very hospitable. Be sure when you come that you want to slow down and relax and enjoy some good leisure time, because that is what you get here.

Room Tip: The "executive" rooms are worth the extra $20.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I stayed at this B&B on a Saturday night. This B&B is a boat on the Missouri River at Brownville, Nebraska. Very comfortable mattress, clean room and unique experience. Fun to be right there in the Missouri River! The sink faucet in the bathroom is quite unusual--the water flows over a clear disk into the sink! The breakfast is excellent! Fresh fruit on a skewer, quiche, blueberry muffin, hash browns and a slushy orange-pineapple juice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Missouri River!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teapotmarylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

The package we bought included a dinner cruise, 1 night on the "hotel" and a concert by a group called the Ladybugs. The food is decent but not exceptional. You have a selection of a meat and ham entree and cheesy potatoes. The spinach strawberry salad was very good and the hotel itself is extremely clean and the concert was also very good. Highly recommended experience for people from either Kansas City or Omaha.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the water side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We traveled to Brownville on New Year's Eve with another couple for their year-end party and to stay overnight on the boat. What a great time we had!! The rooms are very well appointed and clean and the bed was really comfy. Roomy bathroom and lovely decor, but the tile floor was kind of cold -- but it was the middle of winter so that was not much of a surprise. I think this would be an awesome summer trip when you could sit outside and watch the river lazily flow by. Might have to try that. Now the party. It was wonderful. There was wine tasting in the lounge area serving wines from the local Whiskey Run Winery. Quite good. And the hors'dourves were plentiful and top class. Good thing we saved room for the dinner in the lovely dining room. Prime rib, chicken cordon bleu, and pork loins were the entrees and you could have each one. Plenty of side dishes and topped off with either cheesecake or carrot cake. Delicious! There was champagne and a few fireworks outside to ring in the New Year and a really great 7 piece blue grass band. If I recall, I believe they were called "Some Guys". Lots of fun! The next morning we enjoyed a great breakfast of quiche, fresh fruit, muffins, and fried potatoes along with either orange juice or mimosas if you opted for that. The wait staff was super -- very efficient and friendly, and Captain Randal is the perfect host. Did not get a chance to meet his wife but we have heard compimentary things about her as well. This was a really great way to celebrate the New Year and we would not hesitate to do it again.

Room Tip: We had a room facing toward land. We were not in the room that much so it did not matter but if I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huskerredhead22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We stayed at the Inn in July and really enjoyed out time there. The Inn is very nicely furnished and the rooms are very modern and clean. Randall and Jane are great hosts and the breakfasts are excellent. The only negative to our stay was the strong AC unit positioned right next to our bed which blew cold blasts onto the person on that side of the bed. Had to keep the AC going otherwise the room got hot and stuffy. However, the beds were high quality and very comfortable.

Brownville is a great place to come stay for the weekend. We went to the Whiskey Creek Run winery for wine tasting and music while sitting out on the patio, and did a riverboat dinner cruise on the Spirit of Browneville, ate dinner at the Lyceum, spent a day at Indian Cave State Park horseback riding and walking around viewing the sites and demonstrations, and visited the downtown shops in Browneville. It was a great way to spend the weekend.

Room Tip: Our room was along the river and we had great views. I would ask Randall to see if he can adjust th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkHusker57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to River Inn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Inn Resort

Address: 72898 648a Ave, Brownville, NE 68321-6065
Region: United States > Nebraska > Brownville
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Brownville
Number of rooms: 18

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing