We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome and alsways is!”
Review of Lochmara Cafe

Lochmara Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$25
Cuisines: Cafe, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Lochmara cafe is set right on the waters edge of the Queen Charlotte Sound. Cafe serves local and seasonal produce, local wines and great coffee. Come on over for breakfast, lunch or dinner. We can arrange water transport for you from PIcton. Charges apply. Free use of our kayaks, safe swimming beach, rope swing into the water, self guided tour of the property with information panels to learn about the local flora and fauna, daily animal feeding, flying fox, art gallery......Lochmara also has accommodation if you would like stay a night or two. We monitor VHF Chanel 63 if you are arriving with your own boat.
Blenheim, Marlborough, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome and alsways is!”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

This is an amazing spot to dine or have a couple of quiets. Lou and Shane hire the best staff and best chefs! we got married here and it remains our favourite place in the Marlborough Sounds!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thanks! We're lucky that the best staff want to come work here, we're very proud of the team :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    23
    10
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Venue”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

A short boat trip across the bay from Picton you will find a magical spot nestled amongst the bush background and echoing the sounds of the bird song.Bathed in morning sunshine and sheltered from all but the nastiest winds.There is a lovely sandy beach..a rope swing out over the water (If you are game ) and beautiful short bush walks.This is relaxation heaven ! Great for families ..you can get there by scheduled water taxi (or hire one to suit your own schedule) or take your own boat..there are moorings available for patrons to use.Fish swim around the jetty and there is an opportunity to feed them..amazing ! Considering the location the quality of service and food delivery is exceptional without being too expensive...Well worth the short boat ride to visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pictonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thanks Pictonboy! We love it when locals love coming here - if you don't have one already, think about getting a season pass then you can come out on our boat as much as you like.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kawerau, New Zealand
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“magic spot”
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Shane and Louise have created a wonderful sounds experience here.
I have taken visiting friends to Lochmara a few times now and just love enjoying a nice meal in the sounds after walking, kayaking or boating to Lochmara.
I really enjoy the nature walk with the parakeets, eels, Punga people and sounds views.
There is something for visitors, children, art and coffee lovers and all so very close to Picton
Transport to the sounds always adds cost to everything, but if you can fit in a visit to Lochmara Lodge I'm sure you wont regret it -two seperate groups of my guests have said it was the highlight of their sounds visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amysmum578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thanks for the review. We really want to capture the spirit of the Sounds for people, and it's lovely to hear that people come away loving the Sounds. We try and keep the day trip cost as low as we can, and we do have group rates and regular-visitor options. A proportion of all day trip costs go to the Marlborough Sounds Wildlife Recovery Trust too, which looks after conservation work locally so at least you know you're supporting the local environment with your vist :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Could be so much better!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I headed out here for lunch on New Years Day with friends and we were all a little worse for wear of course. This time of year is always going to be busy and there were plenty of kids running round, swinging into the sea etc. However we didn't have a problem getting a mooring or an outdoor table at the restaurant. There was a fairly long line when ordering though. Unfortunately, it seems the staff were perhaps ring in's for the holidays as they all seemed rather young and inexperienced. I had fish and chips which was fresh and very yummy. Was a bit pricey but considering the location, not too bad. The downside was the service which was terribly slow, even for newbies. Not all drinks turned up as ordered and took an absolute age. They could have had several more out of us if they were prompt. Meals were slow too and some of us finished our meals before others had even received theirs. All that being said, Lochmara is such a beautiful spot that despite the average review, I'll happily go back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BowlsTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thanks for the review! I'm very pleased to say we've taken you feedback and made some changes to our systems. it's always going to be a little challenging on days like New Year's, but we've tried to streamline the process for drinks/food, and tried to prepare new staff a little better for the sudden rush. Hopefully when you come back, you'll see an improvement. Our lunch menu does change seasonally, but never fear, we'd be lynched if we took off the fish and chips, so it's a constant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Paradise, with great food”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

I've been three times on a short boat trip from Picton. The setting is wonderful with native bird life, garden sculpture, and great waterfront dining. The big breakfast is great!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Cafe, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Thanks! You can justify a big breakfast when you've got a day in the Sounds ahead of you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lochmara Cafe also viewed

Picton, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Arthurs Bay, Marlborough Region
Picton, Marlborough Region
 
Anakiwa, Marlborough Region
Marlborough Region, South Island
 

Been to Lochmara Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing