We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$145
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beachside Sunnyvale Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
High Street Living Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$113
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Picton Beachcomber Inn(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbour View Motel Picton(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jasmine Court Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$101
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aldan Lodge Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (216)
Filter reviews
216 results
Traveller rating
118
54
28
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
54
28
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxifree kayaksqueen charlotte trackglow wormsday trippershot chocolate in the roomkune kune pigsinstant coffeeduring high seasonbeautiful view of the baycafe restaurantmarlborough soundsevery staff memberwine selectionbath housesunny daynice ride
Filter
Updating list...
128 - 133 of 216 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Was very disappointed to get challenged for a Queen Charlotte track pass which was supposed to be included in the price but never materialised in the hand. Seems the lodge encourages you to trespass over other peoples land without contributing to the path upkeep. Other than that, staff lovely, food lovely and check out the cute little piggies who love being scratched.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holiday-pigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Thanks for your review. Unfortunately re the track, the information you have been given is incorrect. The Department of Conservation maintains the whole 71km of the awesome Queen Charlotte Track, including the sections on private land. The access pass goes to these landowners as a collective and we do include these for all guests walking the 18km from Anakiwa. Unfortunately you were drawn into some administration issues with one landowner about 200m of track on the short lookout walk. This issue should never have been allowed to interfere with your enjoyment of this beautiful part of the world and we’re working to resolve it. Thanks for the review and I’m pleased you enjoyed Lochmara.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Mostly enjoyed the lodge, and the restaurant cooks some of the best food I've ever had (and my wife is a Cordon Bleu chef). Would like the owners to go the extra mile with the kids (having built every cool toy known to man for them to enjoy - e.g. would've been great to use the flying fox for more than one ride). Rooms are good. Beds are amazing BUT two small things: have somewhere for my wife to put her makeup bags in the bathroom - all of our toilet bags were on the floor because the only shelf was tiny, already full and too high for her.And I'd love to have had a luggage shelf at the foot of the beds. I don't mind having no wardrobe, provided I have somewhere to put my bags that isn't the floor.

Room Tip: Some very cheap rooms are used in package deals with a Kayaking company - don't do it - a lady staying there while we were staying had a room that as she said "where I'd sleep the help - not guests!". Apparently overlooked the service areas and was dreadfull.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Thanks for the feeback. We'll look info the bathroom shelf space. Some of our rooms do have luggage racks and wardrobes, we'll add this into the info for each room so if it's important to you, you can choose a room accordingly. So pleased you enjoyed the flying fox enough to ride it again! This activity takes two staff to run and we do provide it for free, so we do have to have some limits on it. It's the first year it's been open, so after this season we'll review how the system worked and any changes. Jonathan Kari, our head chef, says thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

We returned to Lochmara Lodge after our first stay 4 years ago. We booked the great Kakariki Chalet again. The chalet was fine as before, lots of space, nice and tasteful interior, large bathroom, and everything was very clean. After our 33km day hike from Mahana Lodge to Lochmara Lodge we were happy to find an excellent BBQ buffet at the restaurant in the evening, an amazing choice of vegetarian, excellent and delicious warm and cold salads, stuffed potatoes, pizza bread, desserts and so on. Vegetarian stacks were also prepared for us from the grill –great and recommended! We also had dinner the next evening which again was delicious. The grounds are a great spot in the Sounds, hammocks all around, Punga people watching you on the lodge’s tracks, and the glowworms not to be missed when night is falling.

What made us rate this place only 4 points instead of 5 how it could be is mainly the fact that meanwhile a lot of day trippers are coming to Lochmara Lodge between 9 am and 6 pm, mainly families with young children using Lochmara Lodge and its grounds as a large playground running around, screaming, leaving toys and toddlers everywhere, and changing the restaurant including the verandah into a mess. We had the strong impression that Lochmara Lodge is even trying to attract more day trippers to come here announcing this family fun on their website. They even have a parrot with clipped wings near the restaurant during daytime to entertain the kids and parents by letting the (speaking) bird pass from shoulder to shoulder for photo taking. “He is happy”, we were told when we asked at the reception how this fits together with their attitude for environmental care and animal protection.

This leaves some mixed feelings, although the grounds, the suite and the restaurant were really great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

when we arrived,exhausted from our manic NZ holiday we were overwhelmed with the service that Louise and Shayne provided adding a n additional night , lucky us, and a fishing charter whilst we stood in reception and ogled the beautiful artworks. The Japanese inspired bathhouse was a delight and the second afternoon of light rain did nothing to dampen our delight walking through the carved pungas (we found about 20). Service a delight, wonderful staff and great food (especially the blue cod and scallops we harvested ourselves). We will be back

Room Tip: bay views are 'really' special
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K3Gub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2013

Thanks for the review. So pleased you had a good time - and didn't let the weather stop you. You get a different perspective of the bush in wet weather I reckon, and the changing colours of the Sounds. Hope to see you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This was the second time I have stayed at Lochmara. Last time I gave it five stars, but it's actually improved since then. The rooms had been freshly painted since our last stay, and the bath house is wonderful. It still feels really warm and inviting, with every staff member we met seeming to really care that we were happy. We stayed in one of the family chalets this time, and the room was very attractive. But it’s the bushwalks and things to see that make the place special and not like anywhere else we have stayed. Crumpy’s Camp and the replica maori hut with the new carving outside were totally unexpected. The new eel feeding experience was good too – the guide was very informative and I have a whole new respect for eels. Food was absolutely excellent – I have written a separate review. We said it last time too - we'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms were good for us last time because we just wanted somewhere to sleep, but if you want a more decadent experience, the more expensive rooms are definitely worth it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Marketing Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thanks for the review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your visit and we'll see you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews