We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Genuine”
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We decided to take break from the queen Charlotte walk here. - it is an hours deviation each way but will reduce the final days walk on the track . We planned to go kayaking in the afternoon but unfortunately the weather wasn't great but enjoyed relaxing and watching the various animals included endangered parrots . The food although limited compared to other good lodges on the track was of a much higher standard and the cost and wine was more reasonable . I had manuka smoked baby chicken and my wife grilled John dory on lentils and garden vegetables including broad beans , it did take longer to arrive but a more intimate feel to the other lodges .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks for the review. 'Genuine' makes us genuinely happy - thanks. Will pass the feedback on to the cafe an keep on keeping the prices as reasonable as we can. Sorry about the rain, we'll see what we can do about that next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    46
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Fabulous location, peaceful, beautiful food and excellent service add up to a must do stop in a busy schedule. Transported across from Picton in the Lochmara water taxi with our 10 year old enjoying the ride up front with Shane, great fun! We loved kayaking, walking round the pathways, discovering the hammocks. A highlight for Joe was the animal feeding with hands on feeding of karikaris ( think that's what they were!) and watching the pigs and chickens in a feeding frenzy with recycled food scraps from the kitchen. The eels enjoyed their lunch(not all were hungry!). We saw our first glow worms at night, a couple of minutes walk from our tui chalet. Fully recommend a visit here and thank you to the lovely staff at Lochmara.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you :) And you were super close - the parakeets are called Kakariki (it's also the Maori word for green, appropriately!). Thanks for visiting us, and the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maroochydore, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great value, exceptional standard of rooms, service and surroundings. Genuine wildlife protection and care facilities on show with rare parrots, and endangered eels and gheckos. loads People pay to come for a day trip here it's so good. Also, the restaurant is a top shelf gormet dining experience. If you are tramping the Heaphy Track it is worth the extra 1/2 hour off the track detour to stay here. Free kayaks and if you can cook them you can harvest rock mussels from the kayaks.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimierod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for the review and recommendation! Fantastic that you had a great time. I'm sure this was just an unintentional mixup, but to confirm for other readers, the track we are on is the Queen Charlotte Track - the Heaphy is a further West, between Tasman and the West Coast. They are both great tracks though, offering different experiences for hikers. Lucky you, if you walked both of them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiwi
Level Contributor
155 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We took all of our staff and had a full day at the Lochmara, sort of a team building day. The Lodge staff were great and helped organising the day, the food was great, a little short but tasty, and the grounds were just perfect. Lots of bush, birds and the friendly pigs. This has got to be a perfect place for a quiet weekend or blob out during the week.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank airbus0320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thanks! It was great to have you guys out with us, and good to hear that your team enjoyed the day. Sorry it's taken me a while to respond to your feedback, but we did read it and pass it on to the chef. Hope to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was one of my highlights whilst back in Picton and Queen Charlotte Sounds, where I spent my youth. I was there in May and it was picture perfect, peaceful at end of their season. Could not fault the accommodation, and it came with a kitchenette to prepare light snacks etc. (Not all rooms have that facitlity) I loved the dinner and lunch dining and could not fault the food for freshness, variety and prices. Every morning I would take out a kayak (free) and paddle around the bay, spotted dolphins and local seals. Some lovely spots for privacy if wanted. A big mention and thank you must go to the staff for their friendliness and service. I love this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobynDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I went to Lochmara Lodge in 2011 and it was one of the highlights of my south island trip. My partner and I went in September during the world cup and our day spent at Lochmara was probably one of my favourites. The staff were more than accommodating and friendly. I strongly recommend borrowing the kayaks - I didn't want to go kayaking but did it as you sometimes do in relationships and I'm so glad it did. It was relaxed and the scenery was AMAZING. I loved the kunekune and wanted to take him home with me.
I don't have anything negative to say about the lodge or anything that I would change.
I'm writing this review very much belated, as I was just talking about it at work and thought that I enjoyed my time so much that they deserved a review.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirstie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thanks Kirstie! And thanks for taking the time to write the review. It's always awesome to hear that people had fun, and that 'once discovered...never forgotten' is more than a tagline for us :). Hope you have had a chance to get out on the water since...and we still have the kayaks for if you visit us again. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Only 15 minutes across the bay from Picton to the magical, scenic and idyllic Lochmara Lodge. Nestled among lush green bush, bordering the emerald green sea that is the Marlborough Sounds - the approach from the water taxi will not disappoint. The friendly, warm and welcoming staff ensure we truly feltl like "guests" and also that we were well informed of the many sights and activities for the children. Our room was fairly spacious, well positioned for the incredible scenery, warm and functional. The land surrounding the lodge encompasses many points of natural and enhanced interest for the family, including a replica bush camp (crumpys camp), flying fox, kuni kuni pigs, eels, native parrots, massive rope swing, kayaks, hammocks and nature walks. The restaurant was superbly located and oozed atmosphere - however was too pricey for us - so we had to suffice with a couple of cold brews accompanied by a bowl of wedges - then cook a meal in our room. The menu did look amazing though - but would have been quite expensive for a family dinner. The price probably reflects the isolated location and cost of transporting goods etc. We were very impressed with all aspects of this lodge and will most definitely be returning again. Tot op off the wonderful weekend we had the privilege of getting up close with a pod of friendly dolphins on the return trip to Picton.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubybayNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. Your guesses are absolutely right - we work hard to keep costs reasonable, but bringing most things in by boat does have a cost impact. We cook everything fresh and from scratch, even all the baking (no pre-made muffin mixes here!). We also use some of our own produce, for example, herbs, honey and eggs and fruit from our gardens. Awesome to hear that you felt welcome and your family had a good time exploring. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.5 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing