We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Buderim, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay!”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. Staff were amazing, accommodation wonderful with stunning views. The restaurant was delicious and wait staff were friendly. Best packed lunch on Queen Charlotte Track.

The animal feedings were great fun! Would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    46
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A nice relaxing place to be if you want to call in for a meal or just a coffee.
Service is top notch and the food is beautiful...loved the mussels.

The dedication to the preservation of wildlife is apparent as you take a walk throughout the grounds. There are lots of hidden things to be discovered. We went at night to find the glowworms! The Flying Fox would just delight any child or you can chill out by lazing in one of the many hammocks around the property.

Loved this place and will be back

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandygle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at Lochmara Lodge for 2 nights in a Tui chalet, and are a family of 4 with 2 young children. I must say that from the moment we boarded the Lochmara water taxi in Picton until the moment we checked out, we felt we were lucky to be part of a very special place in New Zealand. The location is absolutely stunning, and the view from the room(chalet number 11) through triple sliding patio doors was breathtaking to say the least. Our bags were taken from the boat and arrived at the room before us, even though we were personally shown to our room straight away. There is lots for a family to do, and if you are a guest, every activity is free, from riding the Flying Fox to feeding the eels and pigs, or taking kayaks out onto the water. There is a nice fairly small but sandy beach, and the resident dog (Lockie) and parrot are very friendly. Food and service were excellent, although for longer stays the menus could get a little limited, although daily specials were available. I recommend either the pasta with beetroot or the home smoked brisket for lunch, simply wonderful. Lots of artwork to see, and there is resident artists on site to watch in action. We had a very relaxed stay but there is lots to do without crowds of people bustling around, and would love to return in a few years if we are lucky enough. Many thanks to all at the Lodge.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mogpie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aliandfreddy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had a awesome evening tonight, boat over to Lochmara and the meal was fantastic!! Booked at i site, so easy! Got boat over from wharf in 15 mins. All round fantastic experience. Well done to the staff .

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliandfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Great sheltered wee bay not far from Picton with very nice accommodation. The lodge allows 'day trippers' and has it's own water taxi for this. Very safe, sandy beach for kids (and Poms) and a licensed cafe, with indoor or alfresco options and great view into the sounds.Queen Charlotte walk, Wildlife commitment plan, fish feeding and arts centre are a nice bonus.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil83_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The lodge and centre have great staff and the food is good however the management service experience was poor. At check out just about everyone had some problem with their accounts and the bill itself did not detail each of the items so you had to ask what each amount represented. There was confusion about what groups were entitled to and what they were charged for. This left a very bitter taste for a lot of people. A real shame as it is brilliant spot.

Room Tip: If you stay, the standard rooms have excellent views as well as the superior ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thanks for the review and feedback – we take all feedback seriously and I have investigated your concerns regarding management service. I suspect that you are part of the party who ordered breakfast, not realizing that it wasn’t included in your pre-paid voucher issued by your travel agent? We apologise that this spoiled your stay at Lochmara (although thanks for the positive comments on everything else!), and we hope the complimentary breakfast went some way to showing you our real efforts to make sure guests are happy. In the future, we will recommend that all guests have read their vouchers issued by their travel agent and present these when they arrive, so everyone is clear on what has been pre-paid. Thanks again for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We walked here, detouring 3kms off the Queen Charlotte walk. Arrived early, about 1.30pm and was welcomed. Bags not yet arrived, but still shown to our room. Cafe made us great coffee.
Explored the wildlife area, glowworm grotto, and chilled out.
Best dinner ever - smoked poisson.
Recommended detour, or for a boat visit.
Accepts day visitors too....

Room Tip: Worth the extra walk here.... different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Thanks Linda W! Love it when people kick back, relax and feel welcome. We've passed your comments on to the chef too - the poussin is a real favourite. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
314 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
322 reviews
4.2 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#6 of 84 in Marlborough Region
184 reviews
4.4 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing