We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Gateway Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$308
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
High Street Living Motel(Picton)(Great Value!)
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (215)
Filter reviews
215 results
Traveller rating
117
54
28
9
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
117
54
28
9
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater taxifree kayaksqueen charlotte trackglow wormsday trippershot chocolate in the roomkune kune pigsinstant coffeeduring high seasonbeautiful view of the baycafe restaurantmarlborough soundsevery staff memberwine selectionbath housesunny daynice ride
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 215 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

A beautiful spot, and lovely place to visit. Wonderful to sit on the deck in the sun with a wine, friendly parrot to sit on our shoulders, steal the sugar sachets and entertain the kids. Exhilirating rope swing for the more daring bigger kids, exotic sculpture park to wander through as well as intersting animals and information to view. Have only visited and had snacks, but really enjoy and will be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank Kirsten D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. Staff were amazing, accommodation wonderful with stunning views. The restaurant was delicious and wait staff were friendly. Best packed lunch on Queen Charlotte Track.

The animal feedings were great fun! Would love to go back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

A nice relaxing place to be if you want to call in for a meal or just a coffee.
Service is top notch and the food is beautiful...loved the mussels.

The dedication to the preservation of wildlife is apparent as you take a walk throughout the grounds. There are lots of hidden things to be discovered. We went at night to find the glowworms! The Flying Fox would just delight any child or you can chill out by lazing in one of the many hammocks around the property.

Loved this place and will be back

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandygle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

We have just stayed at Lochmara Lodge for 2 nights in a Tui chalet, and are a family of 4 with 2 young children. I must say that from the moment we boarded the Lochmara water taxi in Picton until the moment we checked out, we felt we were lucky to be part of a very special place in New Zealand. The location is absolutely stunning, and the view from the room(chalet number 11) through triple sliding patio doors was breathtaking to say the least. Our bags were taken from the boat and arrived at the room before us, even though we were personally shown to our room straight away. There is lots for a family to do, and if you are a guest, every activity is free, from riding the Flying Fox to feeding the eels and pigs, or taking kayaks out onto the water. There is a nice fairly small but sandy beach, and the resident dog (Lockie) and parrot are very friendly. Food and service were excellent, although for longer stays the menus could get a little limited, although daily specials were available. I recommend either the pasta with beetroot or the home smoked brisket for lunch, simply wonderful. Lots of artwork to see, and there is resident artists on site to watch in action. We had a very relaxed stay but there is lots to do without crowds of people bustling around, and would love to return in a few years if we are lucky enough. Many thanks to all at the Lodge.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mogpie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Had a awesome evening tonight, boat over to Lochmara and the meal was fantastic!! Booked at i site, so easy! Got boat over from wharf in 15 mins. All round fantastic experience. Well done to the staff .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aliandfreddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews