We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2009

Reading the reviews about this place, I had high hopes, but was sorely disappointed. Our room was tiny and minimalist to a fault -- there was a single light bulb hanging above the bed, and the room smelled of mildew and sewage (they were apparently having a problem with the sewage system while we were there). That said, the view from our little shoebox was quite nice, and there were interested things on the grounds. We enjoyed looking at the glowworms, relaxing in the hammocks, and having a beer at the bar. The private hot tub was also neat. So, if you're looking for a nice hotel room, this is not the place for you, but this could be fun if you're looking for an interesting location as a whole.

  • Liked — The hot tub
  • Disliked — The smell
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    46
    27
    7
    6
See reviews for
38
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2009

Beautiful place with gorgeous views of the bay and surrounding mountains. Very relaxing time. Especially loved all the sculptures and hammocks all over the property and kayaking in Lochmara Bay. Stayed in the luxury chalet for 2 days and wish we'd stayed longer.

But just a warning that the cafe is quite expensive - decent food but probably overpriced and with limited vegetarian options and slow service. We were surprised to find a fridge and plates etc in the room so you may want to consider bringing some wine and food with you if you are catching the water taxi to the lodge.

  • Liked — View
  • Disliked — Expensive cafe
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KALAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

This place is a bit of a paradox. As a hotel, the rooms are really just OK. I don't recommend the studio units, as they smell pretty bad. I don't know why, they just do. Go for a family chalet or equivalent if possible. The rates are reasonable considering the absolutely beautiful and remote setting. The grounds are a bit odd. There is a veritable maze of trails to walk on and you pass sculptures, tree people, sheep, pigs, chicken coops, caged possums, a collection of geckos (?), and, at night, glow worm caves. There are hammocks everywhere, although some of them are hard to get into with all the overgrown shrubbery. However, in my opinion the best thing about the place is the restaurant. The meals are absolutely amazing. They are expensive (especially compared to the room prices) and there's nowhere else to eat, so you don't have much of a choice but to fork out $30 per main. So, if you're not on a tight budget, don't mind basic digs for sleeping, and want an unforgettable setting and overall experience, this could be the perfect place.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2008

We only stayed in Lochmara Lodge for one night. We were so disappointed when we arrived to think we would have to leave the next morning. It's in the most wonderful situation on the sounds, which we got to by water taxi courtesy of the Lodge.

The villa we stayed in appeared to be very new. It was huge, beautifully decorated, and had a huge shower big enough for two. However, despite how lovely the villa was, it's everything else here which makes the experience - free kayaks, a rope swing!, animals, hammocks to lie in, a glow worm dell, an excellent restaurant, and many more things which we just didn't have time to do.

It makes me smile to remember we turned off the jetty light and threw stones into the water in the dark of the night to see the glowing phosphoresence in the bay. (We were too chicken to use the rope swing at night which we were told was the best way to experience the phosphoresence and too stuffed from the lovely restaurant food!). One other reviewer mentions the stars - they really are quite extraordinary. It's hard to believe that there are so many stars in the sky and that they are so bright. In a city like London, which is blighted by light pollution at night it's very easy to forget they are there, and looking up in the night sky at Lochmara was truly an astounding experience.

I can't wait to return to New Zealand, and when I do I will make sure that I spend at least a few days at Lochmara to experience everything they offer.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EYM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
386 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2008

We walked off the Queen Charlotte Track to Lochmara. The track was stunning and one of the most enjoyable 4 days I ve had.
We had already stayed in some excellent accomodation but Lochmara was superb all round. The new luxary villa we stayed in was beautiful, huge walk in shower, views of the sounds and tastefullly decorated. The food in the restraunt was the best food we have had in NZ and we have been here for one year.
I had a massage and it was so relaxing. The owner was so friendly and helpful. Free kayaks and I saw a huge sting ray.
The glow worms at the back of the villas were a treat to see after evening meal. This really is a great place.

  • Liked — Beautiful Rooms
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gill h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2007

Wow where do you start!!!

This place is amazing. We got collected from Picton waterfront by Lochmara's water taxi and taken across the sounds to the lodge.

As soon as the water taxi pulled up there were loads of members of staff waiting to welcome us, take our luggage and show us to our chalet.

The chalet was clean and comfortable. It was equiped with small corner kitchen area with kettle and fridge. Outside is a private patio complete with table & chairs overlooking the sounds. There is also a spa on site which we didn't get the chance to try this visit.

The property is amazing, you can follow little trails that open up on to grassy area's complete with hammocks to sit in whilst you have a beer and overlooking the sounds, around every corner you find a piece of art to admire.

The food from the resturant is wonderful and the massage simply divine.

Once darkness falls be sure to go and take alook at the gloworm grotto. Its magical, then take time to sit out on one of the loungers and look at the thousand of stars you can see because there is no light pollution.

Words really cant describe Lochmara. If you are visiting New Zealand make time to spend the night at Lochmara Lodge.

  • Liked — The peace
  • Disliked — There is nothing here is dislike
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Herefordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2007

Lochmara is amazing....the staff was very friendly and extremely hospitable, the property is breathtaking, and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. Has a great restaurant and cafe. The best part was the walking trails...everywhere you look is either a beautiful sculpture or a beautiful view of the bay.

  • Liked — the atmosphere
  • Disliked — can't think of anything
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MollyNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 306 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
1.6 mi away
Te Mahia Bay Resort
Te Mahia Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Te Mahia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Lochmara Bay | Marlborough Sounds, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing