We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best stay of our trip in new zealand”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“the best stay of our trip in new zealand”
Reviewed 18 March 2010

the best stay of our trip .friendly alpacas and sea birds lizards to spot, hammocks where we saw shooting stars,interesting art.and artists Our room was a little noisy from upstairs ,but there was so much to do and see around the lodge that we didn't spend much time there,we went canoeing ,walking, feeding the birds and swiming with the fish.
the views from the lookout were incredible .worth the walk
at night we went to visit the glowworms and swim in the glowing water on the beach-- a must do its a truly magical experiencei cant .recommend it enough .

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    46
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

i recently stayed at the loch mara lodge as part of a wedding party and it was extremely enjoyable.
the hotel is owned and run by a couple where the enthusiasm of the owner is infectious
and she is thinking for you ...
the hotel is an inexpensive motel type accomodation but the food is 5 star ,
the only thing i think i would need to make this a highly recommend ed is ability to get to the queen charlotte track and for the walk to be signposted around the resort...its not easy walking .
i had a massage here also and it was very good.
the motel has linited access to teh outside world,if you stand at the water edge you might get a mobile signal and while we were there, their internet was down for 4 days ...
so dont expect to communicate with family etc while there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHighgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We had a long weekend away here for some R&R and it was a tonic. I can thoroughly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LachlanHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, WA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2010

We loved our stay at Lochmara... great trip in from Picton where we dropped off our bags and then were taxied about 12 miles down the trail for a day hike back to the lodge. Hike was incredible, but by the time we started down the final hill toward the Lodge we were ready to be "home". And then we were, as we walked through the gate and were greated by some (overly?) friendly alpaca, welcoming hammocks and interesting art. Our room was no-frills, but the view was incredible and there was so much to do and see around the lodge that we didn't spend much time there. Our stay was on a Sunday night, so there was a bbq dinner where all guests were invited to eat together outdoors, and we met another honeymooning couple and had a great evening together talking and enjoying the cafe when it became too cold to be outside. Later we went to visit the glowworms and see the glowing water on the beach-- a truly magical experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LexAndBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

We had only one night here doing the Track but it seems plenty of people come here for a holiday and stay a week. It's a very good place. We had a 2 bed apartment. It had rained heavily the day we arrived so we were all a bit wet. The heater dried things off quickly. The beds were very comfortable. It wasn't the sort of apartment we could have lived in had we been staying longer, but that didn't matter. We had excellent food in the cafe both at dinner and breakfast. There is a very good communal feel. The staff are very good. Friendly, helpful and professional.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blah1025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

Lochmara Lodge was a bit of a mixed bag for us. My husband, mother and I stayed for 2 nights in a family unit before hiking out to Anikiwa. The location is amazing, the restaurant fantastic (make sure you have the mussels), the beds super comfortable, and the staff helpful, but there are a few inconsistencies that would make this place a lot better.
Firstly, the "kitchenette" in the units consists of a fridge, sink and microwave. There is no hotplate provided. We had brought in supplies to make lunches and a pasta dinner one night to cut down on costs, but were forced to eat in the restaurant when we couldn't prepare our meals. Not altogether a bad thing, as the restaurant is great, but this can be quite expensive.
Secondly, we were in a ground floor unit, and both nights had to listen to stomping, yelling, and partying in the unit above us until well past midnight (despite banging on the ceiling). I'm not sure, but it seemed like this was staff members and not guests. I know staff need to let off steam after a long day at work, but maybe this should be done away from paying guests.
Thirdly, when you're spending close to $800 over 2 days on accommodation and meals, would it not be reasonable to throw in the cost of a water taxi, or at least include it in the accommdation cost? This adds quite a bit to the final invoice, at $25 per person, per trip.
And finally, while the staff were very helpful organising water taxis from Anikiwa back to Picton for us (after our hike), the "water taxi" they booked for us (Beachcomber Cruises) was actually a "fun cruise" and it took us 90 minutes to get back to Picton. Our other options were slightly more expensive, but if we had been told how much quicker we would have gotten to Picton, we would have gladly paid the extra money. Especially after a long hike.
So yes, I would recommend Lochmara Lodge, but do your research and be prepared to fork out a lot more than just the accommodation costs.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank butterbuns3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 5 March 2010
Thanks for the feedback. We have looked into the noise - staff have a separate social area well away from all guest areas (up the back, behind the vege garden) so we're still trying to work this one out.
We appreciate the feedback on water taxis. We use our own direct service (15 mins) and we keep the price separate for those who have their own transport (boat, kayak, bike, or on foot). Very occasionally, we use another service and in future we will make sure that when using another service (e.g. Beachcomber) guests are aware of the timing.
in 2007, we closed the backpacker lodge and opened our newest accommodation (the chalets). Since this time, we aim to make it very clear that there are no cooking facilities available at Lochmara (except a fridge/microwave in some rooms and tea/coffee facilities). We have notified all the guidebook companies, and have it on our email signature and website. We're sorry the message didn't make it through to you, but we'll take the compliments on the food, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chch
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2010

For the price that we had to pay we expected for more then pretty basic rooms with no kitchen area and no cooking facilities or lounge.You must eat in the local restaurant because there is no way to store and make your own food.In total the price for the room plus the water taxi plus the restaurant come to a very expensive night in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yodn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 5 March 2010
Hi - Thanks for the feedback. Since 2007 (when we closed our backpacker lodge) we have been trying very hard to ensure all guests are aware that we have no cooking facilities, only tea/coffee making and in some rooms a fridge/microwave (info on which is on the website, along with info on what rooms have sitting areas). It is on our website, our email signature and we have informed all the guidebooks. We do hope you enjoyed the facilities and your time in Marlborough all the same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
315 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Marlborough Vintners Hotel
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
325 reviews
5.8 mi away
Okiwa Bay Lodge
Okiwa Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Anakiwa
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing