We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to relax and unwind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and unwind”
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We spent two nights here on our honeymoon after a civil union. We enjoyed early morning kayaking (saw dolphins just off the beach from the lodge), delicious meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) in the restaurant, with views out over the bay, relaxing in many of the 50-odd hammocks and reading. There are star-gazing hammocks, hammocks with views, hammocks in the shade, hammocks in the sun... Double hammocks, single hammocks... We found the staff very friendly and accommodating. Our room was tiny; room for a bed and not much else and the bathroom was VERY tiny. But this was reflected in the price; we opted for a 'budget' room and splurged on good food. Even though the room was 'budget' it still had a great view out over the bay.
The lodge has a very special 'feel' with sculptures hidden around every corner and wonderful birdlife. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatWtgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    46
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at “Lochmara Lodge” in January 2009.

Location:
The lodge is located in the Marlborough Sounds, more or less on the other side of the bay from Picton, and can only be reached by boat from Picton or via the Queen Charlotte Track (one hour down from the track). The lodge has an own boat and collects new guests every day from Picton. It takes only a short time on the boat to get there.

Rooms:
We stayed in a Luxury Chalet. The interior was clean and tastefully furnished. It provides a bedroom & sitting area, an open kitchenette and a bathroom. The kitchenette was not suitable for real cooking (no heating plates), it was ok just to prepare things and to boil water. The chalets have their own private deck with a table and chairs to sit outside and a view over the wonderful bay. You feel like being in the middle of nature when lying on the bed and seeing the fern trees and other plants touching the windows or growing just next to you when sitting on the deck –absolutely great!

During our stay they had some trouble with the water tank (it was empty and it takes some time to refill it), so the water stopped sometimes, for example for 30 min in the evening, and they could not really tell at what time there would be enough water in the tank again. So be aware that you maybe cannot rely all the time to a permanently working water supply.

The restaurant is really cool, with lots of art and special things around, and the food was good. They serve small dishes, cake, drinks and coffee until the late afternoon, and main dishes in the restaurant in the evening.

The grounds are very large, so you can walk around, see the “Punga people” and other art distributed around, a lot of hammocks, too, everything really special and cool.

You can use the washing machine, but this room and the room next to it (some kind of kitchen for people working there) is more the backpackers’ way than anything else.

One thing that should be improved: the dates that are made for transfers should be more reliable. We wanted to hike a part of the Queen Charlotte Track (from Anakiwa back to the Lodge with a side-trip to the hilltop lookout, took us about 6 hours –recommendable, excellent view from there!) and asked if the owner could bring us to Anakiwa with the boat next morning. They said he would be able to bring us at 10 am, which we found to be too late, because we wanted to spend more time out on the track, but they could not arrange it earlier, so we agreed, because there was no other possibility. Next morning we waited and waited until 10.30 am until he arrived at the pier to bring us. This was really annoying for us, because it was not the first time (he was also much too late when he collected us from Picton on the day of arrival). This is not really a disaster, but there are for sure better things to do than spending the time with just waiting for transfer.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We booked for the stay for two nights get one free special and looked forward to a relaxing break having read such great reviews. On arrival, our family chalet was stale, grubby and claustrophobic. But we stayed positive until a boat load of drunk party goers arrive shouting their heads off. Horrible! Another "function" the following day. We found the staff far more intersted in catering for these people. We were unable to get even a slice of bread or a piece of fruit for our young daughter. Food was overpriced and unsuitable for families. Healthy, simple food was not available. The chef was uninterested and unhelpful. Could not wait to leave after one night.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edward31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Communications at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
We’re very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience – our aim is to give all our guests and visitors a wonderful and relaxing experience, and so we take your feedback very seriously. We have a separate area for functions, but ALL our guests are important to us and should feel valued, and our kids-friendly policy means that our staff usually go the extra mile for littlies (there should always be fresh simple food available – we grow lots of it on site!), likewise we service rooms daily and have a thorough housekeeping process. Our reputation has been built on the great experiences people have at Lochmara, and your feedback is both unusual and upsetting for us, so we will be looking in to it to make sure it doesn’t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Kick back, relax, switch your phone off (though convieniently the coverage is patchy) and enjoy this little gem. Accessable only by boat or from the Queen Charlotte walking track and set on the shores of the Queen Charlotte Sound, Loch Mara is ecologically designed and tastefully decorated with tons of art pieces hidden around the grounds, all of which, contribute towards the perfect place to unwind.

With (almost) every room with view to die for, super friendly staff the good quality local food and wine, we struggled to find something we didn't like.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin_The_Gerbi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

the best stay of our trip .friendly alpacas and sea birds lizards to spot, hammocks where we saw shooting stars,interesting art.and artists Our room was a little noisy from upstairs ,but there was so much to do and see around the lodge that we didn't spend much time there,we went canoeing ,walking, feeding the birds and swiming with the fish.
the views from the lookout were incredible .worth the walk
at night we went to visit the glowworms and swim in the glowing water on the beach-- a must do its a truly magical experiencei cant .recommend it enough .

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explorerNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

i recently stayed at the loch mara lodge as part of a wedding party and it was extremely enjoyable.
the hotel is owned and run by a couple where the enthusiasm of the owner is infectious
and she is thinking for you ...
the hotel is an inexpensive motel type accomodation but the food is 5 star ,
the only thing i think i would need to make this a highly recommend ed is ability to get to the queen charlotte track and for the walk to be signposted around the resort...its not easy walking .
i had a massage here also and it was very good.
the motel has linited access to teh outside world,if you stand at the water edge you might get a mobile signal and while we were there, their internet was down for 4 days ...
so dont expect to communicate with family etc while there.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHighgate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2010

We had a long weekend away here for some R&R and it was a tonic. I can thoroughly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LachlanHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
314 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
322 reviews
4.2 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#6 of 84 in Marlborough Region
184 reviews
4.4 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing