We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and serene....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Comfortable and serene....”
Reviewed 10 January 2011

My husband and I happened on Lochmara by accident a couple of years ago when traveling around the upper South Island. We loved it so much we made sure to include it in our itinerary for our Dec/Jan 2010-11 holiday trip to New Zealand. Lochmara Lodge, simply put, is elegant, casual, exciting, relaxing and educational--all rolled up together. The chalet rooms are great--but don't expect big hotel amenities. No TV, no phone, small shower, no frou-frou toiletries--but they're clean, big, have a 'frig and microwave, and an absolutely breathtaking view of the sound.

One thing that attracted us to the lodge on our first NZ visit was the wildlife recovery program and the lodge’s ‘green’ practice. It’s immediately obvious upon arrival at Lochmara that they take sustainability serious. Cudos—keep up the good work!

The trails around the lodge are great--something different around every corner. We were pleased to see the Alpaca are still at Lochmara along some new additions--pigs and sheep (loved the little piglets!). There was some slight trail damage from all the rain, but it only added to the overall charm. The glowworms and phosphorescence are amazing. Loved walking through the little orchard!

The cafe is excellent. Pretty good beer and wine selection (wish there was more Chardonnay). Prices are a bit steep, but considering the remote location and quality of the food, worth every penny. Ella was great!

We loved all the artwork, including the computer circuit board light fixtures (great idea for recycling!)!

My husband and I spent many hours over wine discussing the work that must have gone into creating this wonderful place, and planning our next visit!

Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jirwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    46
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
100
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2010

Not a peaceful place. We had the unfortunate experience of staying over New Year's. Our room was tiny and noisy. The buzz and exhaust of engine fumes were pervasive. the trail out to the Queen Charlotte was damaged due to rain, so no access to waterfall or the track.
the staff were pleasant, but it was a great disappointment. they suggested we hike to the hammocks for some quiet, but the weather was cool and we were resting our legs from previous hikes.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wvan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you for your review. We take all feedback very seriously and I have looked into the situation around your stay. As you mentioned, unseasonal storms closed roads and caused flooding throughout the country this new year's. We were let off lightly, and our access to the Queen Charlotte track is open again now. While it was closed we did offer FREE water transfers to and from the track for our guests, which I understand you accepted? Our own nature walks on our property were open throughout. In regards quiet, at this time of year we are a popular family choice and some noise from other guests at the beach and outdoors is unavoidable in our units. For peace at any time of year we recommend staying in a chalet, or visiting one of the 40+ hammocks tucked into quiet spots. I have looked into your feedback re boat noise and fumes and can’t find any reports of problems during your stay – if you could email us with further particulars of this so that we can follow up, that would be great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vasteras, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2010

My partner and I spent three nights at Lochmara while travelling New Zealand in October. We had high expectations after browsing their web site but it turned out to be even better! The location is just fabulous in the Marlborough Sounds, close enough to reach Picton within 15 min with water taxi but far enough to feel secluded. The room was basic which is quite appropriate since you wouldn't want to spend your days inside anyways given the location. The staff was super nice and made us feel so welcome. The food was great. There was plenty to do - our favourite activity was problably kayaking (there are kayaks for free use). We also spoiled ourselves having massages and a lovely hot bath in the bath house overlooking the Sounds.

We would recommend this place to anyone looking for a place to relax and enjoy the outdoors. The stress free environment made the three days feel like a full week and we were able to continue our NZ tour fully invigorated.

Sofia and Robert, Vasteras, Sweden

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia_Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Hi Sofia and Robert. Thanks so much for the lovely review. It was a pleasure having you to stay, and to hear your kind words. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Marlborough and New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2010

Stayed here for 1 night as part of Queen Charlotte Track walk package, so arrived late afternoon and left early, and did not really get the full benefit of staying at Lochmara Lodge. Lovely comfortable room with great view and fantastic pillows. (there are different grades of rooms, so not all would be as good). We had a really great dinner in the restaurant, and breakfast was good too (wonderful freshly baked danishes). Lots to do - extensive grounds, birds, animals etc, so would be good for kids. Very friendly helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Manager at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Hi Sue - thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you again when you're back this way. Join our page on Facebook (search Lochmara Lodge) to stay in touch with special deals and what's happening at the Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre. See you again one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

We spent two nights here on our honeymoon after a civil union. We enjoyed early morning kayaking (saw dolphins just off the beach from the lodge), delicious meals (breakfast, lunch and dinner) in the restaurant, with views out over the bay, relaxing in many of the 50-odd hammocks and reading. There are star-gazing hammocks, hammocks with views, hammocks in the shade, hammocks in the sun... Double hammocks, single hammocks... We found the staff very friendly and accommodating. Our room was tiny; room for a bed and not much else and the bathroom was VERY tiny. But this was reflected in the price; we opted for a 'budget' room and splurged on good food. Even though the room was 'budget' it still had a great view out over the bay.
The lodge has a very special 'feel' with sculptures hidden around every corner and wonderful birdlife. We will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatWtgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

We stayed for 3 nights at “Lochmara Lodge” in January 2009.

Location:
The lodge is located in the Marlborough Sounds, more or less on the other side of the bay from Picton, and can only be reached by boat from Picton or via the Queen Charlotte Track (one hour down from the track). The lodge has an own boat and collects new guests every day from Picton. It takes only a short time on the boat to get there.

Rooms:
We stayed in a Luxury Chalet. The interior was clean and tastefully furnished. It provides a bedroom & sitting area, an open kitchenette and a bathroom. The kitchenette was not suitable for real cooking (no heating plates), it was ok just to prepare things and to boil water. The chalets have their own private deck with a table and chairs to sit outside and a view over the wonderful bay. You feel like being in the middle of nature when lying on the bed and seeing the fern trees and other plants touching the windows or growing just next to you when sitting on the deck –absolutely great!

During our stay they had some trouble with the water tank (it was empty and it takes some time to refill it), so the water stopped sometimes, for example for 30 min in the evening, and they could not really tell at what time there would be enough water in the tank again. So be aware that you maybe cannot rely all the time to a permanently working water supply.

The restaurant is really cool, with lots of art and special things around, and the food was good. They serve small dishes, cake, drinks and coffee until the late afternoon, and main dishes in the restaurant in the evening.

The grounds are very large, so you can walk around, see the “Punga people” and other art distributed around, a lot of hammocks, too, everything really special and cool.

You can use the washing machine, but this room and the room next to it (some kind of kitchen for people working there) is more the backpackers’ way than anything else.

One thing that should be improved: the dates that are made for transfers should be more reliable. We wanted to hike a part of the Queen Charlotte Track (from Anakiwa back to the Lodge with a side-trip to the hilltop lookout, took us about 6 hours –recommendable, excellent view from there!) and asked if the owner could bring us to Anakiwa with the boat next morning. They said he would be able to bring us at 10 am, which we found to be too late, because we wanted to spend more time out on the track, but they could not arrange it earlier, so we agreed, because there was no other possibility. Next morning we waited and waited until 10.30 am until he arrived at the pier to bring us. This was really annoying for us, because it was not the first time (he was also much too late when he collected us from Picton on the day of arrival). This is not really a disaster, but there are for sure better things to do than spending the time with just waiting for transfer.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelSiMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nelson
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

We booked for the stay for two nights get one free special and looked forward to a relaxing break having read such great reviews. On arrival, our family chalet was stale, grubby and claustrophobic. But we stayed positive until a boat load of drunk party goers arrive shouting their heads off. Horrible! Another "function" the following day. We found the staff far more intersted in catering for these people. We were unable to get even a slice of bread or a piece of fruit for our young daughter. Food was overpriced and unsuitable for families. Healthy, simple food was not available. The chef was uninterested and unhelpful. Could not wait to leave after one night.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edward31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochmara, Communications at Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre, responded to this review, 24 May 2010
We’re very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience – our aim is to give all our guests and visitors a wonderful and relaxing experience, and so we take your feedback very seriously. We have a separate area for functions, but ALL our guests are important to us and should feel valued, and our kids-friendly policy means that our staff usually go the extra mile for littlies (there should always be fresh simple food available – we grow lots of it on site!), likewise we service rooms daily and have a thorough housekeeping process. Our reputation has been built on the great experiences people have at Lochmara, and your feedback is both unusual and upsetting for us, so we will be looking in to it to make sure it doesn’t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lochmara Bay
8.5 mi away
Bay of Many Coves
Bay of Many Coves
#1 of 1 in Arthurs Bay
314 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Portage Resort Hotel
3.6 mi away
Bay Vista Waterfront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Punga Cove Resort
Punga Cove Resort
#1 of 1 in Endeavour Inlet
322 reviews
4.2 mi away
Raetihi Lodge
Raetihi Lodge
#6 of 84 in Marlborough Region
184 reviews
4.4 mi away
ASURE Jasmine Court Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre

Property: Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre
Address: Queen Charlotte Sound, Lochmara Bay 7201, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Marlborough Region > Lochmara Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Lochmara Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great accommodation in 14 units & bay view chalets set on the tranquil shores of the Marlborough Sounds, a short cruise from Picton in our water taxi (Lochmara can easily arrange this for you, there are no roads to Lochmara). Explore the Wildlife Recovery & Art Centre, nature & sculpture trails, Queen Charlotte Track, art gallery, wildlife, free use of our kayaks, or relax on the beach, hammocks or Bath House spa. Licensed cafe/restaurant serving local and seasonal produce and local wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery and Arts Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lochmara Lodge - Wildlife Recovery And Arts Centre Hotel Picton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing