We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Columbus
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The rooms were very large and extremely clean. The indoor pool and fitness center were also very well kept. The breakfast was amazing! Hot, fresh and well stocked. Staff went above and beyond. Excellent!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank aweedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2013

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express in Columbus NE. I have shared your comments with the staff and everyone is very pleased that we reached our # 1 goal and that is to make your stay pleasant. We look forward to having you as a guest in the very near future. Thanks again!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 101 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

This Holiday Inn Express is excellent choice in Columbus Nebraska. It has good location, relaxing lobby area, clean rooms and Walmart store just beside the hotel. Personnel were very nice and service in the lobby area during Happy Hour was very good. They serve decent Happy Hour appetizers with draft beer or wine as well. I recommend it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank Pancho628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Columbus NE. We are always very pleased to hear your comments about our hotel and staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

The room was large, Clean, Shower was Great, Beds were soft, And the Breakfast was tops. Biscuits and Gravey, Pancakes, Rolls, cereal, Eggs, yogert, coffee, milk, juice, sausage, and many mores items to choose from free local newspaper, The pool was an indoor one and kind of cold, the hot tub was almost to hot and the jets were not that great. But everything else was really good. I would stay there again for sure.....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for staying at the Holiday Inn Express in Columbus NE. We strive to make your stay comfortable and meet all your expectations. We all hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I stayed over the Labor Day holiday which was a disaster. The room I requested was not cleaned due to lack of housekeeping staff. The room I accepted was poorly cleaned, I had to clean the room to make it acceptable. The front desk clerk replaced the shower curtain because it was filthy. There were socks under the bed from the previous guest. The room was not stocked with toilet paper or soap. The desk clerk was very kind and did her best to make a bad situation better. In the morning, the Manager did speak with me and offered fair compensation for the inconvenience. I have stayed here before several times and I have always found the rooms clean so I hope this is a "one time experience"... and that the housekeeping manager will crack down on her staff. Kudos to the staff who are always helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LJR67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We are very sorry that we did not meet all you expectations. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. I have shared this with the entire staff just as I do the compliments. We do sincerely hope that you give our hotel and staff another opportunity to have you as a guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

The Columbus Holiday Inn Express is a nice place to stay. It does have a chlorine pool smell throughout the building but other than that, the rooms are nice. The staff was amazing during our stay. The lady who ran the continental breakfast was always so helpful (I was traveling alone with my 2-year-old). She would grab my daughter fruit out of the back and got me half-and-half anytime I needed a cup of coffee. Very conveniently located, too.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicKel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Columbus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for the wonderful comments about the Holiday Inn Express in Columbus NE. We are always very excited to hear that we made you feel welcome and that your stay was excellent! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

But sadly, that's not saying a whole lot.

The room was huge, the beds were fantastic and there were plenty of pillows. The pool was fairly small, but I have seen smaller.

There was more truck noise than I expected, but then I also expected to be harassed by the train, but I never heard the train. I was on the back side facing the fields, so that might have helped with the train.

My shower head wasn't working properly, but I didn't remember to report it to management. There was a horrible smell of manure outside that managed to make its way into the lobby area -- I don't suppose there's a whole lot the hotel could do about that. They managed as best they could and the smell never seemed to make it to the elevators. It was definitely coming from outside. It would have been nice if smokers were encouraged to be further away from the entry doors though.

The breakfast is abundant, but rather gross. The food is all industrial, precooked, prepackaged food that is heated up in trays in a convection oven. It was all very low quality - but again, there's not much else in Columbus and I ate it because I didn't expect to find any better.

Room Tip: Ask for the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracieKnits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This is a very nice facility. Definitely the best in Columbus. There was a couple of snags with our room, however the staff took care of everything and really made us feel welcome. The beds were great and even though the hotel was full our room was quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beachkid_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Columbus hotels
2.7 mi away
Ramada Columbus Hotel and Conference Center
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#3 of 10 in Columbus
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Columbus NE
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Victorian Inn North Columbus
2.8 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#8 of 10 in Columbus
20 reviews
2.7 mi away
Columbus Inn
Columbus Inn
#6 of 10 in Columbus
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Columbus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Columbus

Address: 524 E 23rd St, Columbus, NE 68601-2827
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Columbus
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Columbus
Price Range: £84 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Columbus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus, a Quality Excellence Award-winning hotel, offers 88 smoke free, guest rooms including 19 suites of which 3 are whirlpool suites. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus guest rooms feature the following: free high-speed wireless Internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffeemakers, large work desks, desk lamps, and 32' HD flat screen TVs with HBO. We have a heated indoor pool and whirlpool. We also offer our guests a free hot breakfast every day with eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage or bacon and fruit as well as many other items! If you re staying during the week make sure to enjoy our Manager's Reception (Monday - Thursday 5:30 PM to 7 PM) which includes free beer, wine, snacks and a Priority Club point drawing! Don t forget! Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Columbus is the closet hotel to Becton Dickenson and Cargill that offers a Manager's Reception and Priority Club points! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Columbus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Columbus Hotel Columbus
Holiday Inn Columbus
Columbus Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing