We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Auberge du Chemin Faisant
Nearby Hotels
Econo Lodge(Temiscouata-sur-le-Lac)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$69
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Internationale Rivire-du-Loup(Riviere du Loup)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$47
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Motel T Cote(Riviere du Loup)
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel Riviere Trois-Pistoles(Trois-Pistoles)(Great Value!)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Chateau Fraser(Temiscouata-sur-le-Lac)
Motel Camping Caldwell(Temiscouata-sur-le-Lac)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
32
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is our go-to spot for our drive from southwestern Ontario to Halifax. My wife and I have stayed here 3 times, and couldn't be more pleased. The rooms are cute and very quiet, and quite reasonable compared to the soulless hotel offerings in Riviere-du-Loup. The hosts are friendly and accommodating. (And Mr. Massey is a fantastic cook - if you can manage to stay on a night he's offering one of his tasting menus, take it. We tried to rearrange our travel dates to do so, but the stars did not align. The food is great and the value unparalleled.)

This last time, Mr. and Mrs. Massey were on vacation, but his parents were running the place. The welcome was just as warm, and the experience was great. As always, the breakfast of pain au chocolate, crepes, and fruit and yoghurt hit the spot. The hot chocolate was also a cup of ambrosia powering me through the first few hours on the road the next morning.
One day we should really plan a trip where we can linger here a bit...

Room Tip: I don't think there's a bad room in the bunch. They are different sizes and styles, so talk to the owners and they'll help you pick one. I guess Le Bureau is on the first floor, so if you retire early on a "supper" night, you may hear a little kitchen noise at first.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlairConrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeCheminFaisant, employée at Auberge du Chemin Faisant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Thank you Mr Blair for this message! It is always a pleasure to welcome you and your wife and we are happy to see that you appreciated the welcome of Hugues' parents! We are looking forward to see you again and hopefully you will be able to enjoy a diner too! Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Romantique room, which was a little more cramped than I expected, but very nice. The bed was very comfortable.

The rooms have old thin doors, which adds to the ambiance but lets noise in from the hallway and restaurant.

We did have some problems with the plumbing in our room, which we noted on our comment card. The toilet didn't flush well, and the bath was cramped and drained very slowly. I was standing in several years inches of water by the end of my shower.

Overall we enjoyed it, but we would pick another room next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeCheminFaisant, employée at Auberge du Chemin Faisant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

Thanks Jenn B for this comment. Our guests well-being is very important for us and it's when people brings things to our attention that we can fix it. We are happy to know that you've enjoyed your stay and will be pleased to welcome you again in the room of your choice so you can hopefully enjoy every moment of your stay! We are looking forward to see you soon! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012

We've stayed there twice en route from Toronto to Halifax. The village is lovely to walk around, and is on a fantastic bike trail; lots to explore, mostly undiscovered. The room is elegant and the breakfast and dinner are top quality -- the dinner was one of the best we've ever had, and the price quite modest by big city standards. There are many artists in this community and many have works on display here -- a showpiece of what Quebec has to show the world about cultural and eco-tourism -- wayne roberts and lori stahlbrand, Ontario foodies

Room Tip: all good rooms but each has a different mood (some deliberately romantic)
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wayne300944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AubergeCheminFaisant, Employée at Auberge du Chemin Faisant, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2012

Thank you so much for those nice words. We are happy to know that you had a good time with us. We are looking forward to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018
Google Translation

Room Tip: Die oberen Gästezimmer sind sehr romantisch und verspielt eingerichtet.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheminFaisant99, Employée at Auberge du Chemin Faisant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CheminFaisant99, Employée at Auberge du Chemin Faisant, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews