We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A so-so experience”
Review of Grand Island KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Doniphan
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Grand Island KOA
Denver, Colorado, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A so-so experience”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We've stayed in many KOAs, and generally love them -- the cabins are perfect for our family of 5 and dog when we are road-tripping. Wish I could say the same of this KOA, but we will not be staying here again. They do not allow dogs in the deluxe cabins (most KOAs do), so we had a very small, basic cabin with no bathroom. We knew this going in, and have stayed in those cabins before...we prefer the bigger ones with bathroom, but wanted to get further down the road than Gretna, where we usually stay. It's a tight squeeze with all of us and the dog! Pool was shaded by large trees -- so it was cold! -- kids braved it anyway. No food or drink allowed by the pool, so parents can forget about relaxing with a cold one (can would have been fine) after a long day on the road. We got the dinner from the "chuck wagon" -- $10 gets you a steak or piece of chicken, baked potato, green beans that looked as if they'd been cooking since last week, and a salad of iceberg lettuce and a couple of carrot shreds. Chicken was small and bland; steak was overcooked. Kids got hot dogs and fries, which were fine. One kid got mac and cheese -- $3 gets you a little styrofoam bowl with about 3/4 cup of mac and cheese. I asked for more and was told I would need to pay another $3 for another serving if I wanted more. So we just supplemented from our road trip food supply. Dinner took a good 45 minutes...there were only two people working the chuck wagon. I felt a bit sorry for them, but if they're going to charge that much for food, maybe they should consider adding some more staff. There are few amenities to this campground...my kids missed the fun stuff like bouncy pillow, zip line, etc, that Gretna has. Someone was shooting off firecrackers until at least 11 PM, and I don't know if the staff did something about it finally or if they just stopped...either way, it should have been stopped by 10, as that was supposed to be when quiet hours are enforced. We were up and out as early as possible in the morning. If you have to stay in Grand Island, I would say go for a chain hotel and a chain restaurant...you'd get more for your money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CAS2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    21
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
18
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a month during a job; we have been to many, many campgrounds in the last 2 years and this was the first one where we saw people working all the time. Mowing, cleaning, planting, fixing, etc. Had difficulty with main electric breaker tripping; many ticks in pet area around the trees and tall grasses. Hunt Brothers pizza was awesome!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrammyMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2013

I think we would have had a warmer greeting if we had stayed at the Bates motel! Because we had asked for a two week stay we were questioned as to why?, what kind of work my husband does?, what kind of camper we had?, and where we where from? We were told that our SUV had to be parked in the overflow because it was in the way of other 'vacationing' guests who were there for fun. (It fit fine in our campsite) They removed our door mat because it was 'killing their grass'! We heard him be extremely rude to a child whose mother was less than 15 feet from him. The day we were to check out by 11:00 AM they turned our water off by 8:30!?!? THE BATES NEED A LESSON IN HOSPITALITY AND KINDNESS! They should consider ALL GUESTS regardless of WHY they are staying. KEEP DRIVING - DON'T STAY!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave-and N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunning, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

We stopped in following a high wind storm that took our awning as we were traveling in our class A. We also had a blow out. The camp ground was clean, well maintained, The staff was friendly and understood our problems. Even when the service crew came to fix the RV the staff at the camp ground was very accommodating. The cost was average for this type of campground. There was a play ground where children could play. A pet exercise area that was clean and well maintained also. Too many are just weedy areas, but not here. I would stay here again when we go back the other way.

Room Tip: The cabins were very nice, looked well cared for and comfortable. Place is near interstate so traffi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldfoxbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

They were very rude to our children..who were not badly behaved! They had horrible customer service! They were rude to me even though i was polite, and friendly as was my husband.There campsites are incredibly small!! We will NOT be stopping there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mesa, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

We stayed here for just one night on our way cross-country in July 2012. It was a nice stop over location and we experienced no problems. Everything was as promised. The pool was refreshing and clean. Convenient access from the interstate. Good value.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I was driving to Yellowstone and wanted to give the boy a break for some KOA type fun. He really liked the game room and the pool. We had pizza delivered on a golf cart!!!! The wifi was way better than other KOA's we have been too. Very nice folks and way cheap prices. They have a constant breeze and are next to corn fields!!!!!!

Room Tip: Leave the hotels alone!!!!!KOA is the way!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Doniphan
6.2 mi away
Motel 6 Grand Island
Motel 6 Grand Island
#12 of 22 in Grand Island
63 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Island Inn & Suites
6.5 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#6 of 22 in Grand Island
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Island
Hampton Inn Grand Island
#2 of 22 in Grand Island
339 reviews
6.4 mi away
Boarders Inn & Suites with Full Circle Venue and Conference Center
7.0 mi away
Island Inn
Island Inn
#17 of 22 in Grand Island
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Island KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Island KOA

Property: Grand Island KOA
Address: 904 S B Rd, Doniphan, NE 68832-2108
Region: United States > Nebraska > Doniphan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Doniphan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing