We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Howard Johnson Gothenburg
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gothenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    83
    43
    6
    3
See reviews for
93
40
24
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

It's tough to find a clean, spacious room for less than $90, but that's what I found at the Gothenburg HoJo. The complimentary breakfast was carb-heavy but good w/ waffles, biscuits and gravy, muffins, etc. and the upstairs hallway smelled a little smoky, otherwise I'd give it a 5/5. Most important, the place was clean and fair-priced, and the staff was available and friendly.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ted D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our HoJo! We are always looking for feedback from our guests and are especially glad you had a pleasant stay. We appreciate your kind review and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We have never stayed at what would be classified as a "motel" but this Howard Johnson was nicer than some of the Hampton Inns and Marriott's we've stayed in in terms of cleanliness. It's nothing fancy, but welcoming. The staff was very polite and accommodating, the room was clean, the beds comfortable, and the continental breakfast was better than we expected. Keep in perspective that this is a roadside over night stay kinda place. Unless you're expecting 4-star, you won't be disappointed with your stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SupRMomSometimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to fill out a review about our hotel, The Howard Johnson in Gothenburg, NE. The staff and I would like to thank you so much for the kind words and honesty you have written. I hope you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here on our way to Colorado. The staff was extremely friendly. The price was just right. Our room was clean. If you're looking for a nice place that doesn't cost a lot, this is just right. The Bar-N restaurant across the street is very convenient and good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
On behalf of the entire staff at Howard Johnson, we thank you for your generous words about our hotel. We are always pleased when our guests leave happy and rested. We hope and look forward to seeing you stop by to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OMAHA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Had to make a one night stay in Gothenburg for business. This Howard Johnson used to be a Super 8 years ago. It's an older building and the age is showing. The furnishings in the room are worn and the desk chair was wobbly to the point that I was afraid I would break it. Breakfast was basic. Beds are ok, bathrooms are old and in need of an update.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DALE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
We are so pleased your one night stop was with us in Gothenburg at the Howard Johnson Hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our property and hope to see you again soon on your next travel through our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
301 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel is right off I-80 and my room faced the interstate but you wouldn't know it because it was so quiet. The woman at check in was so friendly and helpful with everything.

My room was huge. It was fairly clean. I did see one dead roach in the hallway toward the back entrance but it didn't bother me. I didn't see any bugs in the room.

The prices in the vending machine were really cheap, less than most places.

The hotel doesn't seem great from the outside but I'm glad I stayed here, it was worth it to only pay $45 for a more than decent room. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Luv-that-farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
We are so grateful you took the time to review our hotel online. The staff is pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are continuously sweeping up the beetles and june bugs from the back entry, but we do appreciate your keen eye with how clean we keep our hotel. We hope you had a restful night sleep and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

It was not a good stay. Breakfast was terrible! I ran out of tissues and instead of your stay getting me a new box they gave me the one at the front desk. There was a rollaway bed left in the hallway all weekend. Your rooms and the furniture all need a lot of work. The chairs were torn and stained. I know this is new ownership but maybe you should have done a lot of work one the place before letting someone stay in some of those rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Ashly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macy F, Manager at Howard Johnson Gothenburg, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review regarding your recent stay at our hotel. On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to each room to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gothenburg
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Gothenburg
Comfort Suites Gothenburg
#1 of 3 in Gothenburg
215 reviews
10.8 mi away
Knights Inn Cozad Lexington Area
10.8 mi away
Rodeway Inn Cozad
Rodeway Inn Cozad
#1 of 2 in Cozad
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Gothenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Gothenburg

Property: Howard Johnson Gothenburg
Address: 401 Platte River Rd, I-80 Exit 211, Gothenburg, NE 69138-2607
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Gothenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Gothenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Gothenburg 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Gothenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gothenburg
Super Eight Gothenburg
Gothenburg Super Eight
Gothenburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing