We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just go!!!”
Review of Fuji Steakhouse

Fuji Steakhouse
Ranked #4 of 133 Restaurants in Grand Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just go!!!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

Another great place for Japanese food. If you're tired of paying high price for the hibachi...head over to Wasabi! Both places are equivelant in taste but Wasabi is a little quieter and low keyed! Can't go wrong with either!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
396 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
“Fun for the hibachi experience but sashimi is average”
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We did not have the hibachi, though I must say those that did were having a rollicking time. We started off the edamame and a seaweed salad. The eds were warm with a touch of salt for seasoning. The seaweed salad was OK but presented on a bed of lettuce which did not jive. The spicy tuna roll was OK. We then had a big variety of sashimi and put the place to the test. On a Friday night, everything should be at its freshest. The mackerel was good, the octopus, cooked shrimp, sweet uncooked shrimp, conch, smoked salmon were also all good. The Maguro, albacore tuna, and salmon were all lacking flavor and tasted as though they had been frozen for quite some time and then thawed. It was the same taste experience one gets with a mealy apple. The squid was OK, as was the eel. I ordered the flying fish roe and the eggs were stuffed in a thick piece of cucumber. One piece tipped over and most of the eggs spilled out. Not the best presentation format. That sashimi platter was about $100. It was very nicely arranged, but for the price ALL of the seafood should be fresh, fresh, fresh. We liked the food we had at Wasabi Bistro better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mingfatsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another great visit!!”
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

We love Fuji!! We needed a place to go for our anniversary and Fuji was the place. There is no better place for us to have steak than Fuji. If you are thinking about the hibachi and having steak, spend the extra money to get the filet mignon. Wonderful!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wmbroncosfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Nebraska, United States
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“good not great and service was average”
Reviewed 30 June 2013

good food, just average service....Our sushi came out well after our other food had been cooked for us. also, our group of four got charged gratuity on our ticket. I caught it, but the other couple didn't. Kind of a sneaky way to get extra money. Will go back if in mood for Japanese but otherwise, will wait till Omaha for it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank bbiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Entertainment value is high, food is average”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Have eaten here several times. It is fun to sit around the habatchi, watch your food be prepared, and laugh at the routine jokes. The food is good, but not exceptional. The dining experience is social, as you sit in a group around the habatchi grill. There are several habatchi grills in the same room, so it can be loud, but that can be fun too. Fuji is often compared to Wasabi Bistro in town. The food at Wasabi is better overall and the atmosphere at Wasabi more intimate and quiet. I've not had the Sushi at Fuji. I hear its very good. It is also very good at Wasabi. Whether you'll think this place rocks depends what kind of dining experience you're looking for. It's a nice place and a treasure to have it in Grand Island.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fuji Steakhouse also viewed

 
Grand Island, NE
 

Been to Fuji Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing