We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place Great Location for Fonner Park”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is great if you are traveling with kids. The pool area is great, large and very unique. It also has ping pong tables, mini golf (simple, but fun for the very young) and a pool table in the pool area. The restaurant was nice. The hotel has undergone a nice renovation recently. The interior rooms facing towards the indoor pool area would be nice if you don't want that direct outside access. The rooms have been nicely decorated. The outside rooms have a secure covered walkway for their access. The room we stayed in was a little noisy and bright from the lights shining in from a street or parking lot light. Overall, I would recommend this hotel, and very conveniently located to Fonner Park.

Room Tip: Stay on the inside towards pool unless you want quick access to outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda S, General Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a complimentary review on the Midtown Holiday Inn in Grand Island. We take pride in our service we deliver and appreciate your review.
Rhonda Saalfeld, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2012

We just wanted a place for the night on our journey and found this Holiday Inn to be really better than expected. Looks new, everything is very clean, quiet. It has a great pool and jacuzzi area, decent fitness centre and nice restaurant. Certainly better than your average HI of this type.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACSHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda S, General Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2012

Thank you so much for taking time to post a review of our property at the Midtown Holiday Inn in Grand Island, NE. WE appreciate it very much and hope you return if in the area again. Thank you, RHonda Saalfeld, GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Love the staff and the rooms are so clean and well kept. I stayed for four days and I felt as through I was coming home every evening. Great location!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aidee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel has a great pool area that kids would love. It is a little pricey for the area, however. If you are looking for peace and quiet be sure to specify a room away from the pool. Also, it you are a Priority Club member, be sure and check your key envelope as they may include coupons to the restaurant/bar. They didn't mention that at check-in and I didn't find them until days after our stay while I was cleaning out my purse!

Room Tip: Rooms by the pool are convenient, but noisy if you want to take a nap or sleep in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Midwestshoelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda S, General Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our hotel. I'm sorry you were not told about the Priority Club Coupons when you checked in. I am glad to know that this happened so we may talk with our guest service representatives about this and stress the importance of making the guest aware of these value coupons that can be used in either our lounge or our restaurant. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. RHonda Saalfeld

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Spent 3 days here on business. Overall a nice place. Older hotel but updated and with a nice lounge, good breakfast and a nice pool/hottub. Free Wifi and a Comfortable stay

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlintHillsKansan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2012

This was a very strange experience. It was my first time using priceline and I found that I basically got a decent rate that was about 70% of retail. I expected to get a lower price through priceline than I did but it was worth a try. As for the hotel this appears to be a converted old fashioned roadside motel that Had exterior entrances for every room but now those exterior entrances are enclosed behind an unheated un-insulated hallway, which was basically freezing cold during late December when we stayed.While the bedding was upscale the rest of the amenities (shower, toilet, sink, vanity, flooring) were all trailer home style fixtures-like the cheapest you can imagine. The pool was larger than I expected but it was in this very large high ceiling indoor courtyard which wasn't adequately heated to make it comfortable once you got out of the water. My freeze proof 3 year old had chattering teeth in the pool after about 5 minutes (it was far to cool for my comfort) and the hot tub was almost scalding. The vending machines wouldn't take paper money and when I went to the bar for change I couldn't find anyone working after 3-5 minutes I went to the front desk and got change there. I would not stay again.

As a post script we stayed here on our way to Colorado Springs. I thought this was right on the highway it's really about 5-7 miles north of the highway on a road that seemed to be heavily policed and has a much lower speed limit. I would call Grand Island a speed trap for tourists considering there is very little signage of what the actual speed limit is. I will not stay in Grand Island again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nahdogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda S, General Manager at Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for your comments concerning your stay of January 27. I am sorry that you found your experience less than you expected from a HOliday Inn. During our rennovation we have totally upgraded all 200 of our rooms bathrooms to include new tiled floors, granite vanities, and all new fixtures. I hope you will reconsider staying at our property again. I'm sorry for the cold atrium. THis must have been an oversight of our staff as we try to keep this area at 72 degrees and our pool at 82 degrees. I will pass this on to the staff so that it does not happen again.
Again, thank you for your comments that always encourage and motivate us to do better.
Rhonda Saalfeld, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The Pros
The second you walk in the door it smells nice and it looks nice. This is a very well managed property and you can tell.
Check in a breeze. The free internet service performed excellent.
There is a pool and the pool area does not look like the 80s era. They have updated.
The food in the restaurant is very good. I had a great Reuben.
The printer in the business center was not working well so the attendant let me go back and use a computer and printer at the manager's desk. How cool is that.
Nice room, nice temperature. Nice new LG TV. The key always worked. They had those adapters so you could plug in all kinds of stuff... Nice! All of the housekeeping employees were friendly and greeted me.
The deskstaff and restaurant staff are adults. What I mean is.... when you ask for something, they answer you. They are articulate and well groomed. They are not afraid to make decisions. Can I check out 15 minutes late late due to a conference call... they said... sure ... no problem...

The Cons
The area has lots of hotels but I would not call it a particularly nice part of town. But it is definitely a hotel district. 10 minutes from I 80.
The gas station next door is kind of nasty. The property is huge.... You could walk quite a distance to your room.
The open convention space in the epicentre of the hotel creates an empty voided feeling. Lots of empty round tables.

Overall...A very nice place and I will not risk staying somewhere else in Grand Island because this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the front of the hotel... or you could be a long distance away from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grand Island hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Island Inn & Suites
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Grand Island
Hampton Inn Grand Island
#2 of 22 in Grand Island
365 reviews
2.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Grand Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Grand Island
3.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Grand Island
Candlewood Suites Grand Island
#10 of 22 in Grand Island
15 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rodeway Inn Grand Island
Rodeway Inn Grand Island
#11 of 22 in Grand Island
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown

Address: 2503 S Locust St, Grand Island, NE 68801-8225 (Formerly Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown)
Region: United States > Nebraska > Grand Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Grand Island
Price Range: £72 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Concerts, sporting events, water parks, shopping, and 200 years of history are within 10 minutes of a great hotel guests love in Grand Island, NE. Hotel Grand Conference Center places you minutes from area attractions including Island Oasis Water Park, Stuhr Museum, and the Nebraska Bird Observatory at Crane Meadows. Our hotel is also the central location for guests visiting our local businesses such as Case IH, Chief Industries and Swift. If shopping is what you are looking for Grand Island is Nebraska's third largest retail center. Grand Island is home to Conestoga Mall, as well as many specialty stores and several large national chain stores.Our hotel has 196 beautifully decorated guestrooms, which include 6 suites, each of which is equipped with free high-speed Internet capabilities. All Rooms come with microwave/refrigerator units. The hotel has more than 13,500 square feet of meeting and banquet space, which can serve groups from 10-500 people in size. For your enjoyment we have an indoor pool, whirlpool, 5 hole mini-golf course, and pool table. Stop by our Breakfast Cafe for "free" hot breakfast daily. Unwind at Images Bar & Grill located inside the hotel, serving the best steak and pasta dishes in town. Also check out our nightly drink specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Grand Conference Center fka Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Grand Island-Midtown Hotel Grand Island
Grand Island Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing