We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bear's Paw

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bear's Paw
Ranked #1 of 2 Warmingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
331 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Love this place. A great find. Restaurant is great quality, extensive menu lots of choice in starters and mains and very good value. Rooms are contemporary, decor is high quality and clean. Would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    726
    155
    36
    10
    14
See reviews for
179
499
11
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

I have eaten at The Bear's Paw on a number of occasions and each time is different. The good times definitely outweigh the bad and generally, the food is very good but I have had to send one or two items back and I have experienced some ridiculous delays as well. The last time I ate here was on Fathers Day and we had specifically requested two highchairs as we had two young children accompanying us. When we were seated, there were no highchairs at our table and we were told that none were available. I find this especially frustrating as it has a direct impact on the dining experience and it is a simple matter of pre-organisation.
However, the staff are friendly and the atmosphere is good so I would probably give it one last chance before totally shutting the door on it.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lady_A_1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My partner and I got a deal through Living Social for a night in this quaint hotel. The room was beautiful, one of the best I've stayed in. Spotlessly clean, modern and comfortable. We ate in the cosy restaurant and to be honest I thought Gordon Ramsay was in the kitchen. The food was amazing, the meat and vegetables were bursting with flavours and the presentation was fantastic. The breakfast was fab too! We were made welcome by all the staff and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We had the standard which was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazmo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riberac, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

We were treated to a stay at " The Bears paw " our welcome was exceptionally friendly. Didn't have too far to walk to our room which again was very welcoming and warm.
Food was very good, staff extremely helpful. We would definitely stay again, also a lovely part of Cheshire..

Room Tip: Think they would all be good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australi
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Second stay here at the Bear's Paw whilst visiting family in Sandbach. Love, love, love this place! Wonderful location in the country, great food, fantastic staff & the best porridge I've eaten anywhere! Aside... the dinner menu is abundant & varied, great wine list, generous breakfast choices & comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seafolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvechurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Stayed in room 8
Great size room, nice bathroom, nice and warm (but not too warm) all night.

Tv on wall had excellent reception - viewable from bed only

Mobile phone reception almost zero and while the hotel has wifi we could not link to it in room on iPhones or iPad.

Bar was good with an excellent selection!

Breakfast was fab - included in room price, big selection, and service good.

Staff nice the whole visit, helpful etc.

Only negative was dinner the night before stay - expensive, and very much style over substance, lacking in flavour...

I would return and use hotel again, just not have dinner there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrazerSlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Six of us spent two nights at the Bear's Paw and were delighted with our comfortable double rooms with en suite good sized bathrooms. However, one couple had booked a twin bedded room which had a king sized bed and a double sofa bed as the second bed. That was not appropriate for their needs as both senior citizens have arthritic spines and need a good mattress which the sofa bed did not have. Apparently all twin bedrooms are furnished in the same way so it was not possible to change to another room. It seemed a pity they did not have a proper single bed instead of the double sofa bed. They were actually offered an additional second room, but decided to manage with the king sized bed and did not inquire if there would be an extra charge if they'd taken the extra room. The food was excellent with plenty of choice and served by friendly and professional staff. A really enjoyable week-end.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirleyN981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warmingham
4.4 mi away
Rookery Hall Hotel & Spa
20.8 mi away
Grosvenor Pulford Hotel & Spa
4.7 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
De Vere Cranage Estate
18.9 mi away
Edgar House
Edgar House
#1 of 45 in Chester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kelsall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear's Paw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear's Paw

Property: The Bear's Paw
Address: School Lane, Warmingham CW11 3QN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Warmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Warmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bear's Paw 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th century character inn situated in the picturesque village of Warmingham. Accessible from the M6 and strategically placed between three market towns; Sandbach, Middlewich and Crewe. The luxurious boutique style bedrooms with exquisite decor and furnishings are the ideal haven for a peaceful nights rest. This charming, yet stylish, gastro inn uses only the freshest and most seasonal produce which is locally sourced wherever possible and features six real ales from local micro breweries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Bear's Paw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear`s Paw Hotel Sandbach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing