We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dont be a fool...book the Folly.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Judd's Folly Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Judd's Folly Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ospringe
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dont be a fool...book the Folly.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights in twin single storey facing driveway. Room was adequate and value for money. Very quiet. Breakfast very good but no porridge on second day. Bar food very good. WiFi in bar only, and only worked on first night. Just the above little nitpicks for the benefit of owners, as I wasn't really inconvenienced. ( Without Internet for a day, and I'm still alive !! ).

Anyway, would I stay again ? Absolutely. Gorgeous setting and base. Faversham is a smashing town. Jason & staff were genuinely friendly and helpful. The morning we left, the staff were all sitting together for their breakfast, after serving everyone else. I think that says quite a lot.

Thanks for the hospitality, Judds, will definitely return if in the area again, and strongly recommend to others visiting the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marto1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    139
    42
    10
    11
See reviews for
67
186
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hailsham, east sussex, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just back from our first visit to Judd's Folly Hotel. Lovely drive off the main road to a rather strange looking hotel, set in beautiful countryside. Looks can be decieving because once inside we instantly felt as though we were in a beautiful country house hotel - cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Friendly, efficient check in and then we were shown to our room. Wow - for a 3* hotel our room was beautiful. We were on the first floor and the room (33) was spacious, light and quiet with far-fetching views. THE most comfortable, king-size bed, and beautiful soft-furnishings. The bathroom was ample for our needs with a shower, but no bath. We were left complimentary chocolates, wine and sparkling water. We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening, and can thoroughly recommend the food and overall experience. Compliments to the chef! The waiting staff were lovely - friendly, hard-working and eager to please. Price-wise the food and wine were very reasonable. No more expensive than popping down the local pub, but so much nicer! Breakfast too couldn't be faulted. I feel as though the staff at this hotel go the extra mile to make customers feel welcomed, relaxed and special. A good base for visiting Faversham and Whitstable. A super weekend!

Room Tip: No lift and stairs quite narrow and steep. We had a corner room with double aspect windows. Worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We booked this Hotel at the last minute to attend a Funeral. Check in was easy and friendly. We were shown to our room which was a chalet across a small courtyard, The room was a double with a large double bed, it was clean and comfortable,Unfortunately the restaurant was fully booked but was told that if we went to the bar they would arrange something.Breakfast was very good and the dining room very pleasant and comfortable and excellent service, Nit picking there was black mould all around the bathroom ceiling and the toilet could have done with. a bit of bleach. but this in no way spoilt our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

A belated thank you to Jason and his team for making the 17th May such a special memorable day on the occasion of our sons wedding to Julia.
From arrival to our departure the next day the staff looked after us all very well and in a caring manner.
When we all arrived ,about 25 of us ,the staff could not have been more attentive and helpful.
The wedding meal was delicious and served swiftly so all food was hot, something you don't get everywhere.!
Our rooms were very comfortable and breakfast most filling.
All guests commented on Judds Folly being a special place which made a memorable day even more so
Thank you all once again rather belatedly.
Our good wishes for continuing success.
Regards,
Philip and Lorenza Thompson

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I was rather apprehensive before arriving at Judd's Folly, there had been wildly varied reviews. The warm welcome quickly banished my concerns. The staff could not do enough to make my stay comfortable, one of them even carried my bag up a rather steep flight of stairs for me (no lift). My room was small and comfortable, the bed was wonderful, I slept so well. The service in the restaurant was efficient, I had a steak that was cooked as I had ordered.

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Anglia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed at Judd's Folly when we visited Faversham and nearby Belmont House. We were greeted upon arrival and shown to our room, a junior suite. The spacious airy room was well furnished with a very comfortable king size bed, large flat screen TV , leather sofa, chair and footstool together with a dining table and chairs. The ensuite bathroom was lovely with a big roll top bath and plenty of bathtime goodies. Our room was indeed very comfortable with an excellent tea and coffee tray, bottled water, 2 small bottles of wine and some yummy chocs. We had a quick cuppa and biscuits from our tray then went off to spend a very enjoyable afternoon at Belmont House. We decided to eat in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our meal, my husband had trio of sausages which he said was delicious and my choice was a very tasty seafood platter. We finished with a plate of English cheeses and a glass of red wine. Everything was well presented and served.
The bed was extremely comfortable and the location of the hotel means that there is absolutely no traffic sounds at all-wonderful.
All in all a very pleasant hotel, I did have one small gripe over the breakfast scrambled egg , I like mine soft, very yellow and buttery ..............but never mind, it's a charming hotel with helpful, courteous staff.

Room Tip: We were in Room 37, a Junior Suite, we could park our car right outside our Suite. It was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalpearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

this hotel is set in the Kent countryside. driving up to the hotel the main building looks like it could use a coat of paint.We had room one, which we had had before. the bed was huge, the bathroom had a roll top bath with 4 little yellow ducks( nice touch) the mirror in the bathroom was on the wall by the basin and not over the sink, my husband found this a little awkward for shaving.There was no wardrobe more a hanging alcove. Tea and coffee provided in the room and you could get more by asking at reception. We walked down to the village on the first night to eat at the Ship Inn, very nice, inside is better than outside. We ate at the folly on the second evening, unfortunately they did not have either of the dishes my husband ordered, also they ran out of smoked salmon for my breakfast, we were told that was because they were unusually busy. but the menu looked like it had been the same for weeks so not sure how that could have any bearing on it.

Room Tip: pay a bit extra and go for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank granniesue595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ospringe
1.3 mi away
Railway Hotel
Railway Hotel
#3 of 3 in Faversham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hempstead House Hotel and Spa
6.8 mi away
Crescent Turner Hotel
Crescent Turner Hotel
#1 of 4 in Whitstable
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
8.4 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#3 of 4 in Whitstable
4.0 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judd's Folly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judd's Folly Hotel

Property: Judd's Folly Hotel
Address: Syndale Park London Road, Ospringe, Faversham ME13 0RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Faversham > Ospringe
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ospringe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Judd's Folly Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Judd's Folly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing