We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have enjoyed many meals here”

Murphy's wagon wheel
Ranked #6 of 66 Restaurants in Hastings
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We have enjoyed many meals here”
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

This may be my favorite restaurant in Hastings. The service is usually pretty quick, the beer selection is very good, the meals are varied and we have not had a bad one yet. There are a variety of areas in the pub style restaurant to sit so you can either be in a loud fun place or more of a dinner place depending on your mood, there are pool tables for entertainment. They have regular specials that are usually an excellent value, I often get a steak since I am from the coast and like to order meat while I am here. They serve deep fried pickles, something I had not ever eaten before and sliders that are an excellent value since one fills me up.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Really nice place to hang out!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We went in this bar on a Friday night and it was a really nice place. It was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful in making suggestions for gluten free drink options.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SHarrisonKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Always good”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We eat here often and always find it a very good place to eat and drink. They grill over open wood flame which ads extra flavor to their grilled dishes. Burgers are always good using fresh meat. Steaks are also very good. Their wings are big and there are many choices of accompanying sauces. There are always drink specials of various beers and liquor. Murphy's is a Hastings's institution and for good reason.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CardinalFan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Best Kept Secret In Town”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Murphy's has the best burgers in town bar none. Make sure to ask for their daily specials. They can be really great, 1.50 burgers on Tuesday nights is hard to beat. 7.00 steak dinner on Thursdays isn't bad either. The wooden furniture is a little worn, but it fits the set up and decor. A great place for singles, friends to get together, or families catching a bite together. My family really loves the place. Everyone is happy to go there.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Local watering hole for the who's who in Hastings.”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Murphy's is a cocktail lounge, sports bar and restaurant all in one. If you want to rub elbows with the Hastings business and governmental higher ups, this is the place. Not exactly a place for families but its alright for a burger and beer.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BorealForestDweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murphy's wagon wheel also viewed

 

Been to Murphy's wagon wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing