We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended”
Review of Trattoria Flippin Sweet - CLOSED

Trattoria Flippin Sweet
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Recommended”
Reviewed 11 May 2013

"flippin good" would describe it perfectly.

THE SERVICE was fast, always polite, ready to help and always with a smile in their faces,,, that is how they do it in Nebraska.

THE BUILDING was clean smelled great, great rustic Italian decor, outdoors siting available, very charming, since it is not right next to the street there are no disturbing noises, great place to have a great relaxing conversation with friends, family or even for a more romantic situation.

THE FOOD was great, it seems like their specialty is pizzas, so don't expect to find a big section for pastas, for Lunch the only type of pasta available is an AMAZING Mac and Cheese, the pasta is cooked to perfection and the 8 types of cheeses in it make it a beautiful thing. I hope that some day they would offer a bigger variety of pastas, the chef is very good, so I pray he will decide to make some ravioli some time soon. THE Pizza was VERY VERY GOOD, and believe me, Pizza is never my 1st option, but i may make an exception here. For less than 10 dollars you get great pizza big enough to probable feed three women or two young males.

Make sure you are bringing and army before you order the Calzones they are only available in FAMILY size.

Our food took less than 15 minutes to get to our table, however we were the only customers at that moment, we went around 3 pm after lunch rush.

You can also get some great desserts and frozen yogurt.

We are definitely going back soon, maybe this time after sunset. I will keep you updated.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sds1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    8
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The calzone filled our table with goodness!!!”
Reviewed 8 March 2013 via mobile

Bring your appetite. This charming restaurant has some of the best pizza in the Midwest. It's definitely worth a stop if you are in Kearney or traveling through on I-80. We started with a wonderful salad. The greens were mixed, fresh and perfect- no iceberg to be seen. The house dressing is "pesto Caesar", and that flavor should be envied by other restaurants. For the two of us we ordered the cbr calzone (chicken, bacon, ranch). It filled our table and we could make a dent in it. It's probably for 4 people. Cooked to perfection and gooey, flavorful and filling!!! The food came quickly and the service was outstanding. Our server chatted, was super friendly and very proud of the restaurant... Which they should be. We attended on a Wednesday night at 7 pm, and the place was full!!!! My only negative was that they do not have a liquor license. Hope they can add a wine or beer option in the future. The pasta and dessert menu looks interesting, and the few dishes we saw pass looked phenomenal - so maybe we will plan to try those next time. Check out this place... Cuz it's "Flippin Sweet".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This restaurant has moved to Kearney NE. The food is awesome...but the place is small and can be hard to get into.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
128 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A sweet spot”
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

Everything about this restaurant is "flippin sweet." The decor is unique. The setting is comfortable. The service is excellent. The pizza was possibly the best we have ever had, Chicken-bacon ranch. The bourbon banana foster for desert was really yummy. What a special find in Kearney.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisannandroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We'll Be Back!!”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We took our out of town friends to Flippin Sweet for dinner. We had a group of eight and had no trouble getting a table on New Year's Eve (we called ahead to gauge the wait time). The service was great and the food was outstanding! The pizzas, pastas and desserts were delicious. The Bourbon Bananas Foster was especially good. The servings are huge, so be prepared to share or take home leftovers! We'll definitely be back again and again!! Flippin Sweet is for sure the best pizza/pasta in Kearney.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Flippin Sweet also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing