We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short family break in April......lodge no:48”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingsdown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kingsdown Holiday Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

On arrival at Kingsdown Park, seeing the little triangular lodges on the lush green fields were amazing and picturesque. Once stepped inside our mood had changed. The children's beds were discustingly filthy! Stained to the point of thinking of leaving!!!! On the good side there was plenty of games for the children to occupy themselves with and a swimming pool that was open all day. Also having free wifi in the lounge was great and couldn't fault the staff........ Buy some new mattress covers and duvets and you'll be a holiday camp worth recommending.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yve J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KDP_Team, Holiday Sales Manager at Kingsdown Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, I am disappointed to read that you found the cleanliness of the bedding less that satisfactory. We have a team of cleaners and housekeepers that are dedicated to making sure all the accommodation is clean and suitable for our guests. We are committed to resolving any issues quickly and efficiently, had this been reported to us we would have done all that we can to correct it so that it didn’t disrupt your stay.

I’m glad to see that aside from this you and your family went on to enjoy your time here, I only wish we were able to resolve your concerns whilst you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 224 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

I have recently just spent 3 weeks in the lovely 56 Kingsdown Park. The New Owners have done a fantastic Job modernising this Swiss Style Holiday Chalet. Each room has a smart TV with Sky. The furnishings are fresh with the ability to connect the 2 singles in the room upstairs into a large double. My children especially enjoyed the WIFI that is installed in the lodge and the ability to Skype their friends at home through the laptop and the smart TV in the lounge.
This fantastic Chalet is a credit to the Owners and the Park and i would strongly recommend it to fellow Holiday Makers.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KDP_Team, Holiday Sale Manager at Kingsdown Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and recommending lodge 56. I'm glad to read you enjoyed your 3 weeks at Kingsdown Park and that your accommodation was well received. I'll pass your feedback onto my team members and the owner of lodge 56 as I know this'll make them very happy! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was our fifth time at Kingsdown Park - we went during the February half term so it wasn't too busy.

The pool had just been renovated and the kids loved it. They have Wi-Fi in the lounge bar which is open all day. I didn't eat in there but the meals I saw others eat looked nice.

These triangular chalets are all so different so it's best to book privately (we booked through homeaway.co.uk). If you book through Hoeseasons, as we did the first 2 times, you just get allocated what chalets are available and they do differ in quality and cleanliness. We had chalet no. 52 which was very near the bar and pool. It was immaculate. 3 bedrooms ( 1 twin room, 1 double room and the master bedroom which was the whole of the upstairs had a kingsize bed! ), 2 leather sofas, the TV had all the basic channels available through SKY, DVD player with a couple of kids DVDs. Fully equipped kitchen and dining table for 6. There was also a large terrace at the back with a slight sea view,a bench and table and chairs although as it was Feb it was too cold to eat outside!

I'd recommend eating in the Zetland Arms on the beach (5 mins walk), fantastic fresh food but you need to book. Deal, 2/3 miles down the road has lots of bars restaurants and shops and is only 5 min drive. There's a big Sainsburys next to the Station to stock up for the week. The holiday park itself is very well kept with immaculate grounds. There is a playground, table tennis, tennis court, mini golf etc for the kids. You need to park in the car park and use a trolley to transfer you bags. There are no dogs allowed.

The electricity is by £1 coin meter (we spent around £15 for the week as the heaters were on, last summer we only spent £4!) Everyone is friendly and it's not 'Chavy' like many holiday parks. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Book privately - I would highly recommend chalet 52.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jamie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

I celebrated my 40th birthday with my family at Kingsdown holiday park, hut number 11. We had a delightful time. The huts provide everything you need to have a comfortable and quirky break away from home. We didn't use the numerous facilities on site, opting for the castles, the seafront and the lovely Zetland Arms instead. But from what we could see, others were enjoying them despite some damp weather. The only small complaint we had was about the cleanliness of the hut. Whilst making the beds up we had to pull one away from the wall and the dust, hair and rubbish that had accumulated down the side of the bed was substantial. The sheets were well washed but the duvets and pillows were slightly stained and one smelt strongly of curry!? The stairs could also do with sprucing up as they are heavily marked with footwear scuffs and just give an edge of scruffiness to the hut. But these are all surface things and do not take away from a great birthday break away. We will definitely be back and have even thought about purchasing one of the huts!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Went for a week at the end of October and had a great time. Booked a privately owned villa (16) which was really nice and modern inside. The pool was a hit with the kids and the bar was pleasant and served nice food. Might book again for the same time next year as the Halloween party was a riot, the kids had a whale of a time.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank fletchem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We recently enjoyed a lovely 3 day stay at Kingsdown Holiday Park. Our friends had rented one of the Scandinavian style lodges through a small private agent who has few of the lodges on his books.
Their one was situated on the cliff edge with nice views of the sea from the rear terrace. It had been refurbished inside to a high standard and was very nice. A double and twin upstairs with a bunk bed room downstairs. Nice kitchen / diner with small dishwasher etc, and lounge at the front with terrace outside. They paid £350- from 7th Sept for the week. Another couple we met said their lodge was nowhere near as nice inside and they paid £342- for only 4 days through one of the big companies. So it pays to shop around.
We enjoyed eating at the bar/restaurant and found the food very tasty and service excellent. Rachel and Les who run the restaurant are really helpful and friendly. Can’t ask for more.
We didn’t use the pool but our friends found it very warm and enjoyable.
It’s a nice spacious attractive park.
A couple of years ago we stayed in one of the fisherman’s cottages down on the beach near the Zetland Arms but had no idea the holiday park was here, literally 5 minutes walk away! They keep it well hidden.
This is a nice area, a quiet backwater but with lots of attractions and amenities within easy reach. There are 3 pubs within 5 minutes walk.
Deal is an easy drive along the coast road past Walmer Castle, or you can walk along the flat coastal path and get the bus back. There is a medium size Sainsbury’s and Co-op in Deal if you need to stock up on anything. In the other direction you have St Margaret’s Bay where Noel Coward and Ian Fleming lived in cottages on the beach, and the Pines Gardens with its tea room and museum, and then of course Dover with its famous castle.
We like this area it has a lot going for it...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy_0749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We have just spend 4 nights in Lodge No.72 and we had a great time. The lodge was "home from home", with a lovely separate new kitchen and new shower room, with everything we needed. The staff on reception were very friendly and helpful and park was very well maintained, with lovely views over the sea.

With three local pubs within walking distance, it was nice to get back from our day trips, and not have to get in the car again. We particularly enjoyed the pub meals at The Rising Sun, so didn't actually try the other two.

Would certainly recommend this park and we will certainly be returning at some point next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingsdown
5.4 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
917 reviews
2.8 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Deal
103 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
545 reviews
11.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express, Ramsgate - Minster
18.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
Holiday Inn Express Canterbury
#1 of 1 in Upper Harbledown
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsdown Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsdown Holiday Park

Address: Kingsdown Park Upper Street, Kingsdown, Deal CT14 8EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal > Kingsdown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Kingsdown
Price Range: £30 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the review page for holidays booked direct through Kingsdown Holiday Park only. Kingsdown Park is the perfect location for peaceful relaxing breaks or active, fun family holidays. Whether it's finding shells with the family on the beach, strolling around a pretty fishing village or getting active on the golf course or tennis court, Kingsdown Park has a wonderful holiday waiting for you. In the heart of a spacious tree-lined park atop dramatic cliffs, Kingsdown Park is set along an unrivalled piece of Kent's stunning coastline. The Park has is right by the beach, a giant beach playground for families, where you can swim, play and relax in an inspiring environment. A charming seaside town, Kingsdown has some quaint pubs perfect for tasty lunches or dinners, and the nearby town of Deal boasts an excellent selection of cafes, bars & restaurants, all just a short stroll away. The wide range of local shops offer everything from everyday groceries to that special seaside memento. Kingsdown's relaxing appeal is mirrored by its close proximity to the south east's best visitor attractions, many of which are no further than a short 30 minute drive. The county of Kent has unrivalled beauty and we are sure you will find an abundance of visitor attractions, sight seeing tours or just shopping. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kingsdown Park Holiday Village Hotel Deal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing