We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Zetland”
Review of The Zetland Arms

The Zetland Arms
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Kingsdown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, View, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Zetland”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Now summer is here (well as here as its likely to get in England) every right thinking city dweller will be looking for a reasonable pub near the sea with acceptable food. The Zetland is charming, with good beer, great pub gastro style food and a wonderful location at the top of a steep shingle beach on the outskirts of Deal (Kingsdown is at the Walmer end). Saturday evening was perfect, clear and still and nothing beats this place on a warm summer night.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    176
    63
    36
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“nice pub right on the beach”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

locations is great right on the beach . Food looked nice but we didn't eat. Popular with couples and families

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JillyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bazemont, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, great location”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Regardless of the other critiques, this is one of the best pubs we went too on our last stay. It is right on the beach, which is great for the children. They have a good selection of real ale and the food is very good. The only problem is that the wait was very long (50min), although this was clearly stated from the outset.
Finally, the place has a great draw and is packed, which proves what a great pub it is!

Erik K. from Bazemont, France

Helpful?
Thank Erik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Last minute, great find”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

After hearing alot of great things about The Zetland we called for a table at the last minute on Saturday night hoping we could be squeezed in and luckliy there was room!
The staff are very friendly and welcoming without being over bearing and the food was delicious and very fresh, we went looking for seafood and we certainly weren't disappointed.
We managed to fit in a malteser cheesecake for desert, this is highly recommnded, we think we may have found our new favourite local restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Decent Pub Grub, Lovely Location.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The Zetland is at the end of a long walk from Dover towards Deal and is a lovely location to sit down with a rumbling tummy and have a nice cold beer and some food.
The staff are welcoming and professional. It's a perfect place to eat on a old winter afternoon with the log fire burning, equally on a hot summers day outside at a wooden picnic table by the sea - with a view of pretty beach huts and the cliffs.
The food is decent. It's fresh, well cooked and adequately priced. The menu is a standard pub type menu with chowder, steak burgers, pies etc. It's nothing mind blowing but nothing to fault it with for what it is. We've been back many times and the only time I wasn't overwhelmed was with the crab and salad, which lacked dressing and seasoning. The burgers were literally melt in the mouth tasty. The sandwiches were tasty too on thick cut moist bread.
They also serve Asahi beer, my absolute favourite, on tap... And it's crisp and cold and fresh. Oh and I do believe dogs are allowed in. Which I like.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Zetland Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing