We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best backpackers I have ever stayed in”
Review of Moana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Moana Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Rancho Santa Margarita, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best backpackers I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Moana lodge is a beautiful old house that is very large, and well sorted. The host was very accommodating, and helpful, and the bed was nice and soft, and had heated sheets.Our room also had a great view of the bay, and was situated right on the upper corner of the house. The walls were kinda thin, but most of the structures in New Zealand seem to be built to a more European standard, so it's normal. The lounge was also well appointed, and very inviting.

The location is just far enough out of town to be quiet, but close enough to be convenient.

All in all, the nicest backpackers I have had the pleasure of staying in.

Room Tip: The corner room on the upper floor has a goregous view, but it's a triple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skylinrcr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thanks for the awesome review! We love our location as much as you did apparently, nice & peaceful being slightly out of town but well connected via train or private vehicle! Look forward to having you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    24
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
43
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
855 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 503 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I booked a shared room here, but the friendly owner offered me a single private (shared bath) for just a couple of dollars more. My small, yet efficient room had a comfortable bed and a large window that overlooked the ocean. The sound of the howling wind coming off the ocean at night was soothing. The communal kitchen was huge and very well stocked with quality equipment, pots, pans, utensils, etc. It was nice to eat my meals in the formal dining room - this seemed more like an upscale B&B than a budget/backpacker lodge. The living room was massive - it had a wall of windows that overlooked the ocean and lots of couches/seating areas - perfect for enjoying an afternoon tea with other travelers. What is nice about staying here, in Plimmerton, is that I was able to take to train into Wellington for the day and come back to the peace/quiet of a city suburb.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view overlooking the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacker31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thanks for your comments! We really enjoy our guests cooking up a storm in the kitchen..an endless variety of international aromas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taree, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Moana Lodge. It was comfortable, peaceful, beautiful and everyone we met there, friendly and helpful. We were able to catch the train easily into Wellington city and leave the car near the station all day, with no hassles.

It is truly a tranquil and beautiful spot and we couldn't have been happier with our stay there.

It is also good value for money and is more like a small motel than a backpackers. The small number of guests that it takes means that isn't overcrowded.

Room Tip: We had the family room, which overlooks the bay with a beautiful big window. I believe it is the big...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments; we enjoyed having you here and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

My wife and I are young sexagenarians on our gap year, and were looking for a good place to stay near Wellington. We enjoy the hostel experience but are choosy about where to stay and focused on looking for a place with good reviews. We were happy to travel the 12 miles into Wellington and very much enjoyed our two nights in Moana Lodge. We had a sea view from our downstairs room, and met others like us who were also travelling around. The standard of cleanliness was first class and the kitchen facilities were excellent. We would happily recommend it to other discerning travellers.

Room Tip: Sea view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here and got to experience one of the seafront rooms. Thank you for your comments about the standard of cleanliness at our Lodge. Very much appreciated as the staff work hard to keep the place clean and tidy! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lodge was quite easy to find, at least with a proper map. From Wellington the road is good and it only takes like 15 minutes to drive. Plimmerton is nice, small town, few cafes and bars. The sea is close and there is a beach within walking distance of the lodge. Staff was nice and showed us around. There was also board games you could play. The bathrooms were clean and all of them had different kind of toilet seats etc. The showers were also clean. There was some kind of mat on the shower floor and if that was wrong side up, it was very very slippery. We had a room with a sea view and it was spectacular!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Hi, we are glad you enjoyed our beachfront location, views and the small 'extras' we have on offer. Very sorry about the mat in the shower! We do not actually provide mats inside the showers, only thick cotton fabric mats outside the doors so its a bit of a mystery to us too! All the best for the rest of your travels and we hope you will visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Moana Lodge is definitely not like any other hostel I have ever stayed it. It is much more like a nice hotel, just with shared facilities. Bathrooms and common areas are kept spotless. The kitchen is a cook's dream, with plenty of space and a great assortment of all the kitchen gear you could want. Accommodations were very comfortable and most rooms have at least a partial view of the sea. Danny, the owner, is super friendly and knows all about the best places to eat, things to do, and places to see in Wellington and across the region. And if you come in on the bus or train, he will even pick you up since the hostel a bit off the beaten path.

I highly recommend staying at the Moana Lodge if you are visiting Wellington or the Kapiti Coast.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauralee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Thanks for your lovely comments and recommendation! We are glad you enjoyed all that Moana Lodge has to offer. Our large country style kitchen is a real bonus for lots of our guests so its nice to get good feedback on it. Please do come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Sitting in the lounge and getting lost in that beautiful panorama is already a highlight. We stayed here in july 2013. The bathrooms are great! Great showers, everything is clean.
We were in a 4 bed room, which was small but cozy. The kitchen is big enough for several people to cook simultaneously, and it is really good equipped. Wifi-access is provided at check-in. Staff is friendly and the owner is really symphatic, had such a great chat.
If you look for a quiet, clean and cheap place near Wellington, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeNira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeachViews49, Front Office Manager at Moana Lodge, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here in July last year. Often the evenings and the sunsets are very beautiful during winter! We are always very happy that guests make the short trip out this way to enjoy our quiet and relaxing location here by the beach. Maybe we will see you again someday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Plimmerton
15.8 mi away
The Cambridge Hotel
The Cambridge Hotel
#16 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
14.2 mi away
Wrights by the Sea Motel
Wrights by the Sea Motel
#4 of 7 in Paraparaumu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
15.1 mi away
ibis Wellington
ibis Wellington
#17 of 46 in Wellington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Spinnaker Motel
Spinnaker Motel
#1 of 2 in Porirua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.8 mi away
AAA Mana Motel
AAA Mana Motel
#2 of 2 in Porirua
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
4.6 mi away
Amethyst Court Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moana Lodge

Property: Moana Lodge
Address: 49 Moana Road, Plimmerton, Porirua 5026, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Porirua > Plimmerton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Plimmerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Moana Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located for an exceptional beachfront experience, Moana Lodge offers excellent accommodation facilities combined with amazing sea views. Just ten steps from the water’s edge and overlooking Plimmerton Bay, it provides the ultimate stay for a peaceful relaxing break. Being an accredited 5 star backpackers, all facilities are immaculate and well kept. With a fully equipped farmhouse kitchen, outdoor courtyard, and friendly welcoming hosts, you can be assured of a peaceful relaxing stay.Situated just 20 mins from Wellington city, with easy access to public transport, you can truly get out and about enjoying all that the Capital has to offer. And at the end of a fun filled day you can come home, relax, and enjoy a wine in our sunny outdoor courtyard!Moana Lodge offers a superb range of rooms catering for groups, families, couples and individuals. With a combination of single, twin, double and larger family rooms, you can choose the option that best meets your requirements and budget. And for backpackers travelling alone, enjoy your stay in our 4-bed share room. As quoted by Lonely Planet: “…this exceptional backpackers right on the beach is immaculate and inviting…”. Moana Lodge also attained the Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence for 2012 and 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Moana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing