We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Stay at The Turret”
Review of The Turret

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Turret
Ranked #2 of 2 Lake Hayes B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Brilliant Stay at The Turret”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Fantastic location, away from the noise of town (5 mins from Frankton). We had the top floor and it was wonderful. Great bed, separate living room, balcony and separate bathroom with an amazing claw-foot bath. Fiona is the perfect host and can rustle up a breakfast to rival any restaurant. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Top Floor. Absolutely Beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    9
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
33
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

We spent two nights at this lovely b&b staying in the turret suite which was spotless and beautifully appointed. We had a large bedroom with sleigh bed, a sitting room with panoramic views over Lake Hayes and Coronet Peak, a large bathroom and walk in wardrobe. We also had a small balcony. The breakfasts were delicious and nicely served. Our hostess was so friendly and helpful.

Nearby was Arrowtown, a small ex mining town which has some lovely old miners cottages, shops, good restaurants and a river where we panned for gold (and found some!). We were also well placed for Queenstown with all it's attractions.

All in all the Turret was a quality place to stay and would be happy to recommend to anyone looking for a top notch place to stay..

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthendersEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collingwood, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This was the best place we stayed!!! We were on a 3 week Holiday in New Zealand and stayed at over 6 different places in New Zealand. The Turret was by far the best for the view, price, cleanliness and hospitality. It is a beautiful house opposite a great hike around Lake Hayes. We also walked to the winery down the street which was awesome. Thanks for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the Turret Suite....the view is outstanding!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel2Live2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

we stayed in this b&b for two nights and fiona upgraded us to the turret room, which is actually two rooms and a fantastic bathroom. the view over the garden and lake is wonderful. fiona was very helpful and friendly and cooked us a great breakfast with many different choices to fuel up for a long day. we even met her dog, smeagols, a truly lovable chap. (note to people who do not like dogs: smeagols is not allowed in the guest rooms, we wanted to meet him.) the turret room has a very comfy bed and a neat sitting room as well as a cute balcony. we loved our stay at the turret, thank you fiona.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank clivia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The Turret is one of the most beautiful B&Bs we have ever stayed in and is right across from the beautiful Lake Hayes. We stayed in the larger, 2 room, Turret room and it has the most amazing view from the living room; even the bathroom was palatial! (Check our pictures)

Fiona & Tim made our stay the most comfortable and went out of their way helping us with information on public transport, stuff to do, etc. The morning breakfast is lovely and Fiona made us eggs the way we wanted...hot & welcoming. We especially loved one breakfast table which has an awesome view of the lake. There's free wifi, though connectivity could be an issue in some parts of the house.

The Turret is around 7-10 minutes away from Frankton, a major bus station of Queenstown. There are yellow connectabuses that run between Frankton to Camp Street (city centre); so, once you get to Frankton, you are fine. To get to Frankton, use the yellow buses that run between Arrowtown and Frankton and back. While going to Frankton, the closest stop from The Turret (Amisfield Winery) is around 7-10 mins walk; while returning, the stop (Lake Hayes Pavilion) is just on the opposite side.

All in all, if a beautiful English Manor cottage opposite a beautiful lake on the outskirts of the busy Queenstown is your thing, The Turret is The place for you.

Many Thanks to Fiona & Tim for an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: We strongly recommend the 2 room Turret room on the 1st floor; the view from that living room was su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nirmesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Fabulous, stayed 3 nights and was upgraded to the suite which is absolutely lovely. Good location only 15 min from Queenstown, great and plentiful breakfast and views of the garden and lake. Fantastic host and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amicaTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Words aren't adequate to describe the Turret. It's basically an elegant English Country Manor overlooking Lake Hayne. We stayed in the Turret Room. You MUST stay at this inn. This is the first place in NZ where we actually bought a bottle of wine (from the winery down the street, Amisfield) and simply watched the view of Lake Hayne and bunnies (3 adults and 1 baby) scampering across the expanse of lush green lawn. The entire Inn is clean beyond belief. The location is just a few miles from Arrowtown (an old mining town "not to be missed). Though the Inn is off the road, you can hear the road, so bring earplugs but don't let this detour you as this Inn is really amazing. We ate dinner at the Postmasters House in Arrowtown and the food was terrific.

Room Tip: I highly recommend the upper floor turret room as it has an adjacent living room with amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LagoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Hayes
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Queenstown
3.9 mi away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Queenstown Remarkables Park
4.8 mi away
Hilton Queenstown Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Stoneridge Estate
Stoneridge Estate
#1 of 2 in Lake Hayes
154 reviews
1.2 mi away
Queenstown Country Lodge
Queenstown Country Lodge
#6 of 43 in Queenstown
157 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ferry Bed & Breakfast
The Ferry Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 3 in Lower Shotover
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Turret? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Turret

Property: The Turret
Address: 712 Lake Hayes Arrow Junction Highway (SH6), Lake Hayes, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Lake Hayes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Hayes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Turret 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Turret, featured in NZ House and Garden Magazine, is set in an award-winning landscaped garden at Lake Hayes, situated between Arrowtown and Queenstown with panoramic views across the lake to Coronet Peak. Accommodation is comprised of three guestrooms all with their own private bathroom and fabulous views. An open wood burning fire warms the guest lounge and breakfast is served in the guest dining room, which features stunning garden, lake and mountain views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Turret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing