We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Harlow, Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Total Disappointment”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stay a night in this resort and the rooms/apartments was like a maze. I never managed to find my unit at 1st try.

The lighting in the room was the only dim light from a bulb attached to a wall light. Need to switch on a bedside table lamp to enhance the brightness which only helps a little. My colleague's room shower was pathetic. It wasn't a shower' more like water dripping continiously.

All the rooms/apartment really needs some serious renovations. Parquet tiles was peeling off the floor.

Secondly, all 3 the eateries' environment in the resort has no air conditioned which means we're dining uncomfortably. The buffet will run out of food and took almost forever to top up if there's a busy crowd. Skip it if you can, as the quality of food was appaling as well.

Prices for the rides in the beach was ridiculously expensive. Totally doesn't worth it.

There's no wifi in the common area and 3G reception was bad.

The service of the staff was slow and undesireable.

Maybe, the only good in this resort was the shuttle bus. Quited a lot of it and they do arrive after a short wait.

There's plenty of resorts in Johor and I do not recommend this resort if you're paying that price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shackks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    331
    313
    73
    52
See reviews for
480
113
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kluang, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

stay for three days for association congress recently. quite big resort, under reservation so a bit noisy. the single room apartment is fine, but very dangerous for a family with kids because of the stair and balcony. the bathroom is nightmare, with not functional water heater and a very noisy pipe, we even can hear another apartment pipe, very annoying.

the food is also nightmare, the worst dinner that i ever had in the opening ceremony. they said we will having a Chinese set dinner but when the food arrived, it shock everyone on that table. the service very slow, the food is very oily and tasteless, the presentation of the food like they just throw the food on that plate. the most disappointment is the tea, i ask more than 3 times for them to refill my cup, no one is coming back to refill the cup, so we just having a cup of tea that night.

tomorrow morning, breakfast, i found a bowl of fried onion with a lot of ants covering the bowl. at morning tea break they just serve only one table for approximately 200 participants, cause a very long line beside the ballroom. at afternoon tea break, not enough spoon for the participant, we even go to the kitchen and ask them for spoon.

there are still a lot of disappointment but i think it is enough. maybe that weekend they have to entertained too many people with 3 or more family days etc so they do not have enough people to accommodate all the event. maybe the situation is different if we go with friends or family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norllinda83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This water park located within the hotel is the reason we’ve returned to this hotel, even though the rooms are quite old. Both my kids love the water, even if there were no slides. But throw in the slides and it made for a good couple of hours of water fun. We chose the package with dinner included and it was good value for money. I've blogged about our recent Desaru trip here: www.kidsjoyhome.com

Room Tip: Our one bedroom suite was a loft apartment, not sure if they have other types. If you don't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Our family of 2 adults and 3 small kids plus 1 infant, stayed for 2D1N in 2bedroom at Lotus Desaru. For us with small kids, its inconvenient to put on wrist band even need to use swimming pool (we understand if to use for waterpark). More else kids easily feel uncomfortable to put on too long for wristband. Thus, can't imagine if stay more than a night. We got to put it on all the way ?... and when asking for new sets, need to be paid ?!!
All this just because, due to management regulations ! If not, the life/security guard will demand us NOT to swim. Gosh !!! we paid for our night, NOT for free ! I think, this need to be revise towards yr customer convenience stay at Lotus Desaru.
Also, i think this stay should be more to international employee speaking. Very difficult to hv conversation with indians that not much english speaking, besides having pinoy.
1 of our toilet room was very noisy with the exhaust fan when switch was few mins on.
Thorough maintenance should be done, for customer comfortable stay at Lotus Desaru.
We never complain, as we got another toilet can be used and since we just stay for a night.
For food wise & especially for dinner, quite plain as it NOT to our expectation. Ice-cream provided too fast melting till kids complaining, why watery ?!! With charging for adult rm45++, is not match with the food that been served. Also, no cold soft drink provided, just plain water & hot tea ! LOOKS LIKE, THIS STAY WILL BE OUR FIRST AND THE LAST STAY FOR OUR FAMILY.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOHD76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I recently stayed in this resort as a getaway from Singapore and found it value for money. The hospitality was great and so was the stay. I stayed in a one bed room suite. The room was spacious enough for a small family. My 18 month old toddler enjoyed climbing up & down the stairs. I would say the two best attractions of this resort are the famous desaru beach with unpolluted waters. We enjoyed the morning sunrise with the breakfast as the restaurant was with sea view.
The second major attraction is the water park which can be enjoyed by all age groups. A variety of water games keeps the kid busy for hours together.
The downside of the resort I would like to say is that the shower inside the bathroom wasn't as good as we expected and definitely needs replacement.
Over all it was a good experience!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ArunKris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I stayed one night at Lotus Desaru Resort. It was an amazing experience with the resort. It covers a huge land mass and it has its own beach. The resort has got a water park, which would be very exciting for kids. It has got a neat swimming pool to spend time. The buffet breakfast was superb and it was very tasty. The staffs working there are very helpful and friendly. If you wanna enjoy your weekend, then this could be your destination.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karthik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Our family of 6 adults & 4 children booked their 3 rooms apartment for 3 days 2 nights. Rooms are comfortable & well maintain. This resort is quite big so we need to take the buggy which provided by the resort to the club house/ cafe for our meals. Anyway our children love the free rides. Foods are nice with lovely sea view. We love the water theme park very much & will definitely come back to lotus desaru beach resort again. Recommend for families with young kids & big groups of friends.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthialovetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
1.1 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
7.7 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 5 in Bandar Penawar
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Lakeview Terrace Resort
Lakeview Terrace Resort
#1 of 1 in Pengerang
5 reviews
22.3 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
23.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
#36 of 314 in Singapore
4,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Property: Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1854 Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing