We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what you see is what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“what you see is what you get”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

booked thru 3rd party website. a quick drive away. arrived early and delighted with an early check in with no questions asked. given hotel key , waterpark tags , pool towel vouchers , breakfast voucher. the room has an interesting layout. king size bed on mezzanine floor.
lofty and has a washroom on both floors. equipped with fridge , sink. no stove. everything was adequate for us. staff generally very accomodating and pleasant. smiling faces. just dun overwhelm them with too many requests.
total of 3 pools. the waterpark lacks features except the lazy river slides. was able to wear shorts and shirts attire here. went to the other waterpark at M block cluster and spent most time in the pool there instead. water looks way cleaner. in fact the whole pool was ours. but had a personnel there to remind us of proper swimming attire minus shirts eg. we didnt visit the third pool near the teratai coffee house / reception though. nice lounge chairs provided at beach.
fast check-in / check-out even though having busloads of corporate clients on getaway.
Pros.
mini firework display at night. it was friday night.
watersports and other activities to keep preoccupied.
decent live band.
mini dance-off after dinner.
must watch sunrise from the beach lounge chairs. early bird for breakfast means avoiding the massive crowd afterwards.

Cons.
car park slots can be limited , which means having to park further & a long walk back to the room.
balcony was absolutely filthy. scattered dead insects covers the entire floor.
water shower pressure intermittent.
dirty pool towels.

Room Tip: choose room near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Salihin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    331
    313
    73
    52
See reviews for
480
113
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Enjoyable stay especially for my kids, they enjoyed the pool.
Stayed for an extension nite, changed from room H510 to K104.
Request the rooms to be maintained on the cleaniness &
Have regular check on the room maintenance as some of the elctricals are out of order upon check in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RoulRiqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We liked the room service, friendly and cooperative staff. Not much for Vegetarian though, we liked the shuttle, water park,pools, beach and recreational activities. Overall, a good and memorable trip !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank rgdubey71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We were assigned to Q block. It was big for just me and my friend. It was clean and very cozy. The resort is big and there's a shuttle that can take you from block to block. Although the reception that helped us checked in is a bit slow and when we asked her if we need to book for the massage at the spa, she said no need, just go there and walk in. When we got to the spa, they were fully booked at that time and told us that we should have booked before hand. We can just call and press 7 to connect. The reception should have advised us that instead. I think her name is Naomi. Anyway, the place is ideal for team building or for family short getaway. The kids will enjoy the big space and they can just run around in the grass. The resort has everything, restaurants, retail shop, swimming pool...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evi3girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The baby cot was delivered immediately right after we checked-in. Good! We enjoyed the stay with my parents. They like the buffet breakfast most. Anyway, hope to use the clean towel without dark stains.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank annie_poh2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

One of the best things about this hotel is the loft/duplex style accommodation for the 1 bedroom suite. The king sized bed was big and comfortable and bathrooms are clean, my only complaint with the bathroom was that there was no floor mat. In room amenities are basic so be sure to bring your own toiletries. The bathroom had a nice big triangle bathtub. The accommodations are a bit dated, but most accommodation in Desaru are like this. Another great thing about the resort is the beach cabanas/lounge chairs that line the beach that resort guests can use at no extra charge. The water is not so safe to swim in as the currents at the time we came in were a bit strong. Water is definitely not crystal clear, but is nice to dip your legs in and let the kids play on the sand. The swimming pool was nice, but the so called 'water park' isn't really a water park at all, it's really just an extension of the swimming pool facilities they have, consisting of a main pool with a waterfall, a slide with a big bucket, a lazy river that seems to close for a few hours a day, and a water playground. The kids definitely will enjoy it. Adults may feel a little bored.

The breakfast was just so so, enough to fill you up, but you'll be sick of it if you stayed beyond 3 days there. Don't try the buffet restaurant, even if you are ordering a la carte. Two of us ordered a fried spring chicken and both orders the chicken inside was raw and rock frozen! Try the Thai food at the other restaurant as it's much better.

Overal it's good for a short break and I would consider staying there again if ever we return to Desaru.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room near the lobby area otherwise you have a very long walk to the breakfast area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missreenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

I lost count on how many times i stay in Lotus Desaru Resort. Again it was another enjoyable stay. This time after my last visit 2 years back, i was surprised to know that the resort under go some major changes to the layout. The reception was shifted to the building straight down the central road through the resort. A retail shop and funfair was set up beside the Teratai restaurant. And there is a extension of dining area with the Seaview restaurant. I think the maib fun point of this resort is still the waterpark. Not only children but youths, adults and elders enjoyed it. The beach area was also a nice place with newly erected cabanas where you can enjoy the breeze and views of the sea. For sea sports lovers, do try out the para-sailing, banana boat, jet-ski or other activities. Rooms was also a plus for this resort, whether for couples or families, the spacious floor area makes you feel like your home. Overall, it was a resort cater for all. I will plan my getaway here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian_Ang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
1.1 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
7.7 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 5 in Bandar Penawar
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Lakeview Terrace Resort
Lakeview Terrace Resort
#1 of 1 in Pengerang
5 reviews
22.3 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
23.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
#36 of 314 in Singapore
4,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Property: Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1854 Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing