We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“family getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“family getaway”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Spacious room, the resort provide alot of activities and good breakfast.
Resort should upgrade their room's facility & maintenance. The room furniture abit old and also, the TV is old type of TV, should upgrade it to LCD or LED. The waterpark pool are not well maintained.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank mangoQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDesaru, Admin at Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments on need to maintain and improvise the Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.

Your comments has been noted and highlighted to the respective departments and will be looked into improvement.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon to stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resorts and Spa.

Please do not hesitate to call or email us for your future reservation and will ensure the next trip will be a pleasant memorable during your stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    327
    312
    73
    52
See reviews for
475
113
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Hi. Just left Desaru after a 2D/1N stay here. Wonderful stay with very friendly n helpful staff, easy booking/checkout, wide variety of activities, beautiful night lights, tight security n value for money! Will definitely come again with a bigger group ;-)

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank alvinanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDesaru, Admin at Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments on need to maintain and improvise the Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon to stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resorts and Spa.

Please do not hesitate to call or email us for your future reservation and will ensure the next trip will be a pleasant memorable during your stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

this is my 2nd time here and we booked a 1 bedroom apt for 2d1n. did not expect much from their ramadhan package promo as it was only rm160nett, which includes a buffet breakfast & dinner for two. the buffet dinner surpassed my expectation- quite a good spread for the amount we paid (lamb satay was juicy & good, grilled fish, prawns, prata station, etc) also we thought there will not be many other guests staying as it was a weekday but the main dining area was filled. however for the breakfast buffet the spread could be better and improve (especially the nasi lemak rice). the curries are not bad, flavours are there. staffs at the teratai cafe & reception are friendly & helpful. they have an ongoing supper promo now (world cup season, price start from rm5, 12-6am) room wise, huge space with a large bed. not bad that that vision four & hypptv channels were provided. furniture/decor can be updated for a modern aesthetic, towels are thin. (we stayed on the 5th floor, lifts looks really rundown but in good working condition). tram service provided for guests but rooms are at a walking distance to the main facilities (5-10min stroll) Beach is clean (staffs will clean it every morning i believe) & there are on going renovations around the resort which is a good sign. deco lights on the trees at night are really pretty, did not expect a live band as well at the rhu bar. water games & spa prices are expensive (which are expected). they have a convenience store as well (helpful in case you forgot your toothpaste,etc) security wise, i feel safe. can see guards patrolling around. overall enjoyed my short stay here at lotus desaru, no complains & will not hesitate to come back again.

Room Tip: ask for rooms facing the water park & nearer to the main facilities area. remember to shut your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDesaru, Admin at Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments on need to maintain and improvise the Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.

Your comments has been noted and highlighted to the respective departments and will be looked into improvement.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon to stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resorts and Spa.

Please do not hesitate to call or email us for your future reservation and will ensure the next trip will be a pleasant memorable during your stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Large resort with many activities ; swimming pools, arcade, gym, and mini water themepark.
And there is the Beach, which is not very clean and the water activities is not exactly cheap.
Tram service throughout the resort, if not you have to walk pretty far to the F&B outlets and the activities if your apartment is near the Main entrance.
The room looks old and tired.
There is nothing within walking distance nearby the resort and you have to base all your F&B in the resort.
Unless if you drive there's a small town within 5 mins with local eateries.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms near the activity centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoyRideBike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDesaru, Admin at Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments on need to maintain and improvise the Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.

Your comments has been noted and highlighted to the respective departments and will be looked into improvement.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon to stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resorts and Spa.

Please do not hesitate to call or email us for your future reservation and will ensure the next trip will be a pleasant memorable during your stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level Contributor
501 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We booked an apartment with 3 rooms costing RM1000 per nite on Christmas Eve by Dec 2011. The apartment condition is acceptable, no complaint. The kids love the water park very much. The breakfast is great and tasty. The beach is just beside the restaurant which we can enjoy good scene view while eating the breakfast. We can only get a good connection of wifi at ground floor. We stayed at up floor can't surf internet at all, very weak.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hweeying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDesaru, Admin at Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments on need to maintain and improvise the Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.

Your comments has been noted and highlighted to the respective departments and will be looked into improvement.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon to stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resorts and Spa.

Please do not hesitate to call or email us for your future reservation and will ensure the next trip will be a pleasant memorable during your stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stay there for 2days 1 night from 21jun2014 to 22jun2014.The only problem that my family and I encountered is the late arrival of the bus at the ferry terminal. They promised that they will arrvied at 1.30pm but when I reached there at 1.15pm the bus had not arrived so we waited untill 1.30pm and the bus did not arrived so my father called the travel agency and the lotus Desaru beach resort they said they are on their way but we waited till about 3pm+ before they arrived and sent us to the resort but overall the resort is well maintained with enough space but the resort have very less options to dine if you are on budget then I recommend you to dine at the cafe with dishes from Rm5 above.And comment on the resort buffet the buffet they give you in the morning are packed with variety to choose from

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 452lua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDesaru, Admin at Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments on need to maintain and improvise the Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.

Your comments has been noted and highlighted to the respective departments and will be looked into improvement.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon to stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resorts and Spa.

Please do not hesitate to call or email us for your future reservation and will ensure the next trip will be a pleasant memorable during your stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontian Kecil, Johor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Poor apartment's quality & uncomfortable at all.
Smelly apartment, windows can't close, lousy towel quality, old and small TV at living hall!!

Dirty Beach & Expensive the water activity.
Will not go back again & ll not recommend to friend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yenlung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LotusDesaru, Admin at Lotus Desaru Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback and comments on need to maintain and improvise the Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.

Your comments has been noted and highlighted to the respective departments and will be looked into improvement.

It has been a pleasure having you with us and looking forward to welcoming you back soon to stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resorts and Spa.

Please do not hesitate to call or email us for your future reservation and will ensure the next trip will be a pleasant memorable during your stay with Lotus Desaru Beach Resort and Spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bandar Penawar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bandar Penawar
1.1 mi away
Sand & Sandals Desaru Beach Resort and Spa
1.4 mi away
Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Desaru Coast
7.7 mi away
Amansari Hotel Desaru
Amansari Hotel Desaru
#3 of 4 in Bandar Penawar
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Lakeview Terrace Resort
Lakeview Terrace Resort
#1 of 1 in Pengerang
5 reviews
22.3 mi away
Village Hotel Changi by Far East Hospitality
23.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
Crowne Plaza Changi Airport
#33 of 312 in Singapore
4,330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lotus Desaru Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lotus Desaru Beach Resort

Property: Lotus Desaru Beach Resort
Address: Lot 1854 Jalan Desaru | Bandar Penawar, Bandar Penawar 81930, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Kota Tinggi District > Bandar Penawar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bandar Penawar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lotus Desaru Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 700
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lotus Desaru Beach Resort invites guests to design the vacation of their choice in a tropical seaside setting - whether they fancy an activity-filled holiday, a relaxing retreat, or even a mix of a little business with pleasure on the side. It's not just a resort that you can relax and unwind, it's also a place where you can have fun with your kids and loved one. Try our 'splashtacular' Water Park specially designed for fun and excitement with your family and friends, don't miss to enjoy our Water Park that features Giant Coconut Fall, Lazy River, Aqua Play, Stone Bridge, Tipping Coconut with Kiddy Slide, Poolside Grotto, and Relaxation Gazebos. Aside from this, we have expanded our facilities to create more fun and activities for the guest. The 14 acres of Team Building Park, enjoy an all-out fun full of adventure and education. Our team specializes in organising team building activities such as water rafting, survivor experience, obstacle course, explorace, treasure hunt, paintball and more. Experience the nature of the forest with your friends with different activities such as bird watching, camping, jungle trekking and lake fishing. Be relaxed and unwind with our newly opened "Lotus Suria Ayurveda Spa", rejuvenate your body, mind and soul. Our Spa offers a unique blend of various treatments for the preservation of health and cure of diseases in a natural way that Ayurveda proposes. Of all those places you've been which attempted to blend nature with modern convenience, most could not live up to Desaru and the other remoteness along Malaysia's eastern coast. Yes, nearly the entire length of the Malay peninsular is pristine beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lotus Desaru Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lotus Desaru Beach Hotel Kota Tinggi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing