We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Laxfield King's Head (The Low House)
Nearby Hotels
The Crown Hotel(Framlingham)
US$146
Toprooms.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Satis House Hotel(Yoxford)(Great Value!)
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
J.D.Young(Harleston)
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$223
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$118
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (106)
Filter reviews
106 results
Traveller rating
76
15
6
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
76
15
6
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubkings headlove coming heregreat beer gardennew ownersbrilliant placemashseparate buildingstayed two nightsfish pielovely villagepump roombarrelalesadnamspubslandlady
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 106 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We spent a few days staying in the stables at the Low House - the rooms are clean, comfortable and attractive, nothing was too much trouble for Bob, the Landlord par excellence; the food at the pub was wonderful - locally produced food with village allotment holders bringing their produce to the kitchen - Linda's Full English Breakfast is highly recommended,and everything we ate was tasty and well prepared - rare roast beef sandwiches with horseradish were a real treat, as was the lovely roast beef we had for Sunday lunch. Plenty of choice too for vegetarians or when we fancied something lighter to eat. And of course wonderful ales - the Adnams bitter was superb straight from the cask and was all I wanted to drink - but there were also plenty of guest beers for my other half and friends to enjoy.
And the surroundings are lovely - waking in the morning to the sound of green woodpeckers calling from the old bowling green outside, and strolling up the hill to the allotments behind the pub and hearing Gt Spotted Woodpeckers drumming - why would anyone want to be anywhere else? We shall return!

Room Tip: The family room has a lovely view over the churchyard.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank penelopepitstop342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed overnight in the Stables, nominally self-catering but we did it on a bed and breakfast basis. Can't fault it - clean, comfortable and spacious.

But it's the pub itself that really makes this place. It is as genuine a 'proper' pub as you'll see anywhere in the country. The food is good too - we had the belly pork and mash in the evening and the full monty for breakfast and both were excellent. Bob and Linda run it very well, though Bob told me they don't plan on staying as long as her great grandparents who ran it from 1882 to 1943.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed in the self catering accommodation at The Low House. Very clean room with spacious bathroom and kitchen facilities. Not that needed the kitchen - the food at The Low House was excellent. I had the Steak and Ale Pie with vegetables followed by sticky toffee pudding for evening meal and a full English breakfast the following morning..
The beer is wonderful with well kept Adnams served from barrels in the cellar. There is no bar. Friendly landlord and staff attended to all our needs.
The village is quiet and pretty with the pub being behind the church. A great base for exploring North Suffolk.
We cannot recommend this pub highly enough and we will be going back for a great value break.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank divedart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

My wife and I always enjoy a visit to this unusual pub.There is no bar as such and you select your beer from the barrels in the tap room.I selected the Adnam's beer brewed locally in Southwold ,this is a very enjoyable drink.The atmosphere was warm and friendly and the food was excellent.Try their excellent pies.
The service was quick, efficient and friendly,The decor, beams, tap room,low lighting and open fire in the pub transports you in your imagination back in time to the 17th century.
We have spent many enjoyable evenings at the Low House.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AGCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Pro's: This pub building is unique in character and style. Thatched, with no bar and a blazing fire surrounded by wooden settles. If that wasn't enough the staff are even better. The welcome is always great, and Bob & Linda the landlord and lady make everyone very welcome. Some of the best customer service I've encountered anywhere. I'm quite a tough judge as I train people in Customer Care.
The curry nights on Tuesdays are as good as any Indian restaurant, and the regular pub grub is fantastic - traditional homemade English fayre, served to a very high standard at very reasonable prices. Extremely good value and something for everyone.
If you like good beer, this is the place. The ale is served directly from the barrel in the tap room. They have local Suffolk ales, and other guest beers from across the UK.
In the summer there is a beautiful beer garden at the rear, with regular events throughout the year.
Well worth a visit.

Con's: There aren't any negatives!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterbenchley65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews