We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laxfield King's Head (The Low House)
Ranked #1 of 1 Laxfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had an overnight stay here on route to Lincoln. We had read about the Kings Head in the pub guide and were fascinated by it's history. It was like stepping back inn time, no bar, your chosen beer was poured straight from the barrel in the original tap room. Lots of historic photos on the walls and a very welcoming landlord and staff. The food in the evening was of an exceptional quality and the staff were interested in you as a customer without being intrusive. Our double room in converted stables alongside the pub was very well thought out and everything you could need was there. A fantastic home cooked breakfast of local ingredients the following morning was also welcome, even though we were still full from the previous evening! All in all a perfect place to stay in beautiful surroundings, just inland from Southwold. We will definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
There are newer reviews for Laxfield King's Head (The Low House)
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2013

Being not on the main road through Laxfield it's not one of the sort of pubs you pass by and say, "I must try that one day". We knew about it but had never tried going there on any of the short visits we have to the area over the last few years. Having read the good reviews to date we thought we must give it a go. We were so pleased we could get a table for dinner on short notice. It has to be said that this place is a real gem, fantastic beer if you are an Adnams ale fan like I am and the food was absolutely perfectly matched. I had one of their well acclaimed home made pies and it was perfect with new potatoes and fresh perfectly cooked vegetables. My wife had pan fried Sea Bream which was the fish of the day and that was also very very tasty with wonderful minty potatoes served with fresh veggies. The family that run the pub are so welcoming and were really good to chat with. We give this a 5 dot rating as all aspects were to our liking and we would definitely return each time we visit this part of beautiful Suffolk.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight so cannot comment on the rooms
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank b4lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Lovely setting, wonderful old world charm, various small "rooms" with settles and large tables, the bar, a few barrels at the end of the corridor, "fantastic",,, food excellent, Pub just like my old Dad used to take me in (what seems like a million years ago). A must if you find yourself in this part of the world.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Codone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just got back home from the Low House having spent 3 fantastic nights there....and could not fault a thing. The accommodation gives a choice of a downstairs flat or one of two rooms upstairs...we stayed in the flat as we took our dog Rosie...dogs are very welcome. The landlord and landlady Bob and Linda were fantastic host's, all the staff were extremely friendly and very happy to please. The ales served from the tap room are well kept with alot of choice and there's always a Bob's Special.. The breakfasts were the best we've had anywhere and the meals in the evening were superb, good honest pub food, brilliantly cooked and was very difficult to choose from the menu as it all sounded so good... The low house has an amazing beer garden which was busy the whole time we were there with people enjoying the sun, lunch and lovely atmosphere that is unique to the Low House. We absolutely loved it and so did Rosie......

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

As a former Laxfield resident, this was the local for my wife and me for 2 years. Living in Laxfield was made a privilege because of this place.

Totally unspoilt, totally traditional, although Bob tolerates football on a telly located in a way that it won't disturb those who are disinterested.

Definitely worth even a quick visit.

Also has some excellent events throughout the year, including 2 beer festivals and carol singing at Christmas.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lenzar86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Popped down to the Low House with a friend from London as wanted him to check out a real country pub with a unique character.

Have drank at the Low House many a time usually on a Sunday afternoon but this was the first time I'd actually eaten here. Rang to check when they served till: 9pm - brilliant, in fact the kitchen didn't actually close till well past 10pm. Been so many country pubs where the last orders have been at 8.30pm! ( how do they make any money??) There were plenty of diners here too & for very good reason:

Firstly drinks, if you love your real ale it's an Adnams pub & serves their full range of beers direct from casks with taps, which gives you beer as the brewer intended.

Secondly the food: we ordered mussels to start with which are fresh everyday & were delicious. We then had a fantastic 'dressed Cromer crab' with a potato salad which was exceptional. The menu is all home cooked, including some very nice pies. I had a lovely Pinot Grigio with my crab, but if I were to make a suggestion it would be with the red wine selection & to steer clear of the ubiquitous South Eastern Australian & Chiliean Reds in favour of a chianti & Rioja maybe.

Didn't have a pudding but they have a great selection again all freshly made. Definitely recommend a visit for a 'real' pub experience ie: lots of friendly local people from all walks of life who know one another & are always happy to chat to visitors & the like.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JonniePolyester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This pub is renowned for the ancient layout, and it was very interesting to have a few beers there.

The beer was served direct from the cask and was in excellent condition. It's an Adnam's pub, and they had about 8 different options.

If you are in the area take the time to seek it out, but it is worth knowing that there are a lot of other good pubs around, so plan a little tour. We stayed locally and cycled.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laxfield
6.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
728 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
402 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Westleton Crown
The Westleton Crown
#1 of 1 in Westleton
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
725 reviews
6.0 mi away
Thurstons Farm
Thurstons Farm
#1 of 2 in Rendham
38 reviews
4.2 mi away
Sibton White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laxfield King's Head (The Low House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laxfield King's Head (The Low House)

Address: Gorams Mill Lane, Laxfield IP13 8DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Laxfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laxfield
Hotel Class:3 star — Laxfield King's Head (The Low House) 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into The King’s Head is like a journey back through time. We are a very traditional English pub, serving great beer straight from our tap room, quality food from local producers and peaceful accommodation away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Set in the heart of the beautiful village of Laxfield, it's an ideal location for exploring the surrounding Suffolk countryside, and it’s many attractions. We are a dog friendly pub, so there is no need to travel without your best friend, and we are surrounded by fantastic walking routes and stunning scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Laxfield King's Head (The Low House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing