We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Dining”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Laxfield King's Head (The Low House)
Ranked #1 of 1 Laxfield B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Casual Dining”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have recently moved to the area and visited the "low House" for a birthday treat. The bar area is great - there is no bar - and the young lady who served us was excellent - she made our 10 year old very welcome. Restaurant was cosy with an open fire. Food was just what we wanted - steak cooked perfectly but my husband would rather that the pie he had had pastry on the bottom and not just on the top. The only downside is that the loos are outside - not so great on a cold night. We will return for our next family outing.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    13
    3
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A great historical inn for an overnight stay or longer, pet friendly, the food is alway's excellent in our experience, beer and wine also good, cannot wait for our next visit, when we know we will receive excellent hospitality and value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IRELAND
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I simply can't praise this pub enough. I really really wish I lived closer to it, I would never be out of it. The amount of history here is amazing, it's cosy, traditional and friendly. The owners can't do enough for you and treat you as a friend. We stayed two nights and loved every minute of it. The room was great, cosy and comfy, breakfast was fabulous, lovely ingredients, coffee etc. We also ate here on both nights - wow, what food! The chef here is really talented, we tried steak and ale pie, steak, fish, mussels, in fact everything was excellent. The ales here are served straight from the cask and are delicious. We were lucky as the Morris dancers were here on the first night, so we had a lovely time outside in the evening sun watching them practising their dancing. Cannot wait to visit again - simply excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OSCAR11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We had an overnight stay here on route to Lincoln. We had read about the Kings Head in the pub guide and were fascinated by it's history. It was like stepping back inn time, no bar, your chosen beer was poured straight from the barrel in the original tap room. Lots of historic photos on the walls and a very welcoming landlord and staff. The food in the evening was of an exceptional quality and the staff were interested in you as a customer without being intrusive. Our double room in converted stables alongside the pub was very well thought out and everything you could need was there. A fantastic home cooked breakfast of local ingredients the following morning was also welcome, even though we were still full from the previous evening! All in all a perfect place to stay in beautiful surroundings, just inland from Southwold. We will definitely return

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Being not on the main road through Laxfield it's not one of the sort of pubs you pass by and say, "I must try that one day". We knew about it but had never tried going there on any of the short visits we have to the area over the last few years. Having read the good reviews to date we thought we must give it a go. We were so pleased we could get a table for dinner on short notice. It has to be said that this place is a real gem, fantastic beer if you are an Adnams ale fan like I am and the food was absolutely perfectly matched. I had one of their well acclaimed home made pies and it was perfect with new potatoes and fresh perfectly cooked vegetables. My wife had pan fried Sea Bream which was the fish of the day and that was also very very tasty with wonderful minty potatoes served with fresh veggies. The family that run the pub are so welcoming and were really good to chat with. We give this a 5 dot rating as all aspects were to our liking and we would definitely return each time we visit this part of beautiful Suffolk.

Room Tip: We did not stay overnight so cannot comment on the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b4lamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Lovely setting, wonderful old world charm, various small "rooms" with settles and large tables, the bar, a few barrels at the end of the corridor, "fantastic",,, food excellent, Pub just like my old Dad used to take me in (what seems like a million years ago). A must if you find yourself in this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Codone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Just got back home from the Low House having spent 3 fantastic nights there....and could not fault a thing. The accommodation gives a choice of a downstairs flat or one of two rooms upstairs...we stayed in the flat as we took our dog Rosie...dogs are very welcome. The landlord and landlady Bob and Linda were fantastic host's, all the staff were extremely friendly and very happy to please. The ales served from the tap room are well kept with alot of choice and there's always a Bob's Special.. The breakfasts were the best we've had anywhere and the meals in the evening were superb, good honest pub food, brilliantly cooked and was very difficult to choose from the menu as it all sounded so good... The low house has an amazing beer garden which was busy the whole time we were there with people enjoying the sun, lunch and lovely atmosphere that is unique to the Low House. We absolutely loved it and so did Rosie......

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laxfield
12.9 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
12.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
6.7 mi away
Satis House Hotel
Satis House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yoxford
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Crown
The Crown
#3 of 4 in Southwold
386 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Crown & Castle
The Crown & Castle
#1 of 1 in Orford
791 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Ship at Dunwich
The Ship at Dunwich
#1 of 1 in Dunwich
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laxfield King's Head (The Low House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laxfield King's Head (The Low House)

Property: Laxfield King's Head (The Low House)
Address: Gorams Mill Lane, Laxfield IP13 8DW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Laxfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laxfield
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stepping into The King’s Head is like a journey back through time. We are a very traditional English pub, serving great beer straight from our tap room, quality food from local producers and peaceful accommodation away from the hustle and bustle of city life. Set in the heart of the beautiful village of Laxfield, it's an ideal location for exploring the surrounding Suffolk countryside, and it’s many attractions. We are a dog friendly pub, so there is no need to travel without your best friend, and we are surrounded by fantastic walking routes and stunning scenery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Laxfield King's Head (The Low House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing