We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good Sunday Lunch with friends.”
Review of The Nelson

The Nelson
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Holton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very good Sunday Lunch with friends.”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

It was lovely to hear that The Nelson was open again. We had friends up to stay and thought that it would be nice to go out for Sunday lunch. We made a booking and the owner was extremely helpful which gave a favourable impression even before we dined. We decided to go for Roast Beef and a pudding. The beef was cooked just right - a genuine medium rare. The vegetables were nice and firm - a small amount but very nicely cooked and presented. Roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings cooked to perfection. A very good bottle of red wine. All of us enjoyed our choice of dessert and the coffee was a nice finish to a very good meal. The service was smooth and very attentive and the only thing that we felt would improve the experience would be, as a previous writer has commented, a little softening of the décor. We would definitely go back and would recommend the restaurant to one and all!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    15
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Staying at nearby Duke House, Sharon and Ray advised us to try the newly refurbished Lord Nelson in Holton. What a great place - nicely decorated, it is very warm and welcoming. The owner, his wife and son could not do more and the chef even came out to speak to us. We relaxed in front of the log fire, while we chose what to eat and had drinks. When our meal was ready we moved into the main restaurant, which again is very clean and comfortable. The food was well presented and very tasty, couldn't fault it. Overall service was exceptional and both the owner and his wife checked that everything was OK and we were enjoying ourselves. Great service continued to the point that as it was now raining hard and we had walked to the pub, Jay ran us back to where we were staying.

If you haven't tried yet or are in the area the Nelson is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorandAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The reason I visited this pub was because I won vouchers for a lunch for two which included two courses. It always looked small from the outside but the area in the courtyard is quite big for summer eating. The landlord was lovely even though I had a free food voucher. The food was superb and plentiful. A reasonably priced menu and very very busy. Will defineately go back.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieHall86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So pleased to have found somewhere new.”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We drove to The Lord Nelson to use it as a base for exploring Suffolk. We were shown to a fabulous room, one of three. It was furnished and decorated to a much higher standard than we would have expected and was certainly amazing value for money.
The restaurant is lovely and the menu had an excellent selection of fish, seafood and meat dishes. All were superb. Herring salad for starters followed by huge steak and an even larger cheeseboard. Sandra's monkfish fillets were tasty and generous.
Breakfast was again., beautifully presented and again a huge portion.
We have found a new venue for future Suffolk trips and I cannot recommend it enough.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank raggyessex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great pub with great local food”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We visited late on a Friday after working in the area. They were still serving and we had great food and great survive from friendly staff and owners. We all ended up having 3 courses as it was great home made food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twickenhamsaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nelson also viewed

 
Halesworth, Suffolk
Wenhaston, Southwold
 
Bramfield, Halesworth
 

Been to The Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing