We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was the chef still drunk from Christmas?! Wasn't worth a visit!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Nelson

The Nelson
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Holton
Cuisines: British, Pub
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was the chef still drunk from Christmas?! Wasn't worth a visit!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Having grown up in the area I can't fault the upgrade of decor or choice of beers on tap. Aside from that it was over priced for the service, menu or standard of food.

A few tips if you decide to visit:
If you expect butter with your bread or any of balsamic and olive oil dip - ask for it or it will be served dry
If you are following a raw food diet, you'll love this place. Vegetables and handcut chips are definitely served on the rarer side.
If you like your steak rare, ask for blue as medium and rare come served the same, although maybe skip the steak as it comes cooked in oil which should always be a no for a fatty steak.
When it comes to sauce for the steak, don't confuse pepper with peppercorn...the pepper sauce was little more than an onion gravy...

There is always a saving grace in a story and the dessert had to be that.

Overall, though The Lord Nelson lacks lustre, has visions of grande and is ultimately a disappointment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodheavenseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    15
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Have visited this pub to eat a couple of times. The reception is very warm - very nice staff so it's not surprising that there are plenty of seniors who enjoy the place. When the open fire is lit the ambiance is very cosy.

The food we had was enjoyable and with hearty portions. If I had a quibble it is that with a couple of the dishes - the starters in particular - I would have been happier with a smaller portion with a bit more delicacy in the presentation. For example, the salmon and sour cream starter was only that: there was plenty of it and it was fresh, but it would have benefited imho from some toast or a more seasoned salad. This is intended to be helpful because there is a lot of local competion, and I would like to see the Nelson thrive as it has a very pleasant vibe.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ratherhungry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“nice to see the old pub open again”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

but it is not a pib now, it is a restaurant with a bar and three letting rooms.

we used the restaurant on a saturday night, it was quite busy.

there was one vegetarian starter and one main course on the menu, our waitress arrived with news that there was one more of each, so we had a choice, which was good.

however the food was yery ordinary.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 53farmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A very good Sunday Lunch with friends.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

It was lovely to hear that The Nelson was open again. We had friends up to stay and thought that it would be nice to go out for Sunday lunch. We made a booking and the owner was extremely helpful which gave a favourable impression even before we dined. We decided to go for Roast Beef and a pudding. The beef was cooked just right - a genuine medium rare. The vegetables were nice and firm - a small amount but very nicely cooked and presented. Roast potatoes and Yorkshire puddings cooked to perfection. A very good bottle of red wine. All of us enjoyed our choice of dessert and the coffee was a nice finish to a very good meal. The service was smooth and very attentive and the only thing that we felt would improve the experience would be, as a previous writer has commented, a little softening of the décor. We would definitely go back and would recommend the restaurant to one and all!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hidden Jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Staying at nearby Duke House, Sharon and Ray advised us to try the newly refurbished Lord Nelson in Holton. What a great place - nicely decorated, it is very warm and welcoming. The owner, his wife and son could not do more and the chef even came out to speak to us. We relaxed in front of the log fire, while we chose what to eat and had drinks. When our meal was ready we moved into the main restaurant, which again is very clean and comfortable. The food was well presented and very tasty, couldn't fault it. Overall service was exceptional and both the owner and his wife checked that everything was OK and we were enjoying ourselves. Great service continued to the point that as it was now raining hard and we had walked to the pub, Jay ran us back to where we were staying.

If you haven't tried yet or are in the area the Nelson is definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TrevorandAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Nelson also viewed

 
 

Been to The Nelson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing