We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem”
Review of Duke House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duke House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Holton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Sharon and Ray have made a little jewel of this B&B!
The rooms are decorated in very good taste shabby chic style and the en suite is as good with a shower, We stayed on the top floor.
The place is kept very clean, Breakfast is an excellent experience too,
Nothing is too much to ask for as the hosts, making sure you are felt welcome.
We strongly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Upstairs room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrBlueSky81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

I highly recommend this B & B , Me and my mum stayed here for 2 nights and was made to feel very welcome from the owners Sharon and Ray, The twin room was delightful , very clean and comfortable. They have the most idyllic garden which you can wander round. The breakfast is superb , will definitely come bach here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Our third year in succession!!!Sharon and Ray are excellent hosts,a very welcoming and relaxing atmosphere pervades.Bedroom: extremely cosy,clean, comfortable and well appointed with the most tasteful of decor[see title].Bathroom:very clean,with loads of hot water and clean towels.Breakfast:superb .A truely great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

What can I say!! We had such a lovely stay at Duke House. Sharon and Ray made us feel very welcome and the quality and comfort of their rooms is excellent. We stayed in a delightful room with our two children, they loved it and didn’t want to leave!

The bed is the comfiest I have ever slept in and the bathroom was lovely!!

Breakfast was fantastic and I love the fact they source all their products locally, Sharon makes the Jams and marmalades herself, they are wonderful!

Duke House is situated very close to the stunning beaches of Southwold which we enjoyed very much, also Walberswick where we went crabbing which our children loved!!! RSPB Minsmere is also very close by and well worth a visit.

We are looking forward to our next stay at Duke House.

Well Done Sharon and Ray, you have a wonderful B&B which we have already recommended to several of our friends!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMandfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

What a gem. I defintiely would like to stay here again. This property was so full of character and personal charm. It was incredibly clean and comfortable, and stands out as one of the better bed and breakfasts I have stayed in. First, Ray and Sharon could not have been more welcoming. The room I occupied was very well kept and spacious. In addition the property is surrounded by green gardens and woods, and was a peaceful place to be. The icing on the cake for me though was the breakfast. Best mushrooms ever.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Ray & Sharon made us very welcome, on our recent 2 night stay.
The room was very clean and comfortable, the breakfast was absolutely delicious.
The house is set in a wonderful garden, so peaceful and tranquil, it was a super base to explore the Southwold region.
The Duke B&B and surrounding area are well worth a visit

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed for three nights .Sharon and Ray are a lovely, cheerful ,friendly and helpful couple. Throughout there was a very relaxed "home from home" atmosphere. The room was excellent- spacious and clean. The garden and surroundings are completely natural, and charming , with little "nooks and crannies" to discover ,and an unspoilt , rather continental feel, in the best sense of the word.The breakfasts were very good, and the breakfast area situated to catch the sun in the morning..and lots of things within it to catch the eye!

We thoroughly recommend it to others, and we would certainly stay again should the occasion present itself.

Room Tip: We were in an upstairs room, and found it had a sunny aspect, and plenty of room, particularly the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestSussexCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Duke House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke House B&B

Address: Beccles Road | Upper Holton, Holton, Halesworth IP19 8NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth > Holton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Holton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing