We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility at it's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duke House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Holton B&B and Inns
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquility at it's best”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Where shall I start, so many good memories of my stay. The Duke B & B is nestled in the Suffolk countryside, in a wonderful location with Southwold just a few miles away. I had a very enjoyable stay at the Duke. The hosts Sharon & Ray are lovely people, really friendly and welcoming. The guest accommodations are lovely. They have three guest rooms and they are all tastefully decorated and very individual and also really fitting in their surroundings. The property has wonderful gardens to take walk through, the sort of place that makes you feel the peace and serenity of the English countryside. For me, this was a short break to just take some much needed time out. I picked the perfect place to do this. I slept with the windows open all night and all I could hear when I woke the next morning was the sweet sound of nature, the birds tweeting. My morning began with a wonderful breakfast, which included local produce and delicious home baked bread, not forgetting the tasty homemade preserves. Before you leave, a walk in the gardens are a must. You may even meet Dexter on your visit, he is so quiet and chilled. I'd been there for ages before I realised that he was just a few feet away the whole time, just watching the world go by :-) You will leave here feeling very mellow, having had a totally chilled and relaxed stay and like me, wishing you had booked to stay for longer!! - (Angela from Hertford)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cookham, Berks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Duke House for 2 nights whilst attending a local festival and loved the place, very quirky and laid back. The garden is gorgeous, lots of hidden places and secluded bits, and our room was very cosy and comfortable, wonderful to come back to after a long day out. We would def go back for a long weekend to relax and explore the area a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a memorable stay at Duke House, beautiful rooms in a beautiful setting.
The owners Ray and Sharon were both welcoming and helpful.
P.S the breakfast was yummy, locally sourced bacon, which was a joy to eat.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeetano9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

As ever, and we have been coming here since Ray & Sharon started the B&B, a lovely, friendly home from home,in a perfect location.Clean, comfortable and with marvelous breakfasts, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts, what more does one need? Easy access to all the local amenities and beaches and places of interest Why do you think WE keep coming back here? Thanks Ray/Sharon for another enjoyable visit. Look forward to the next one!
Dave & Ange Bucks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 869Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed for a second time in this fantastic B&B close to Southwold. The Guesthouse has a great garden and serves a good breakfast, The hosts, Sharon & Ray are extremely welcoming and would absolutely stay there again.

Paul

Kingston Upon Thames

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Lovely B&B with a perfect country decor and very comfortable rooms and clean crisp linen. Charming hosts with natural friendliness and very relaxed attitude. Their rambling gardens offer plenty of sun spots to relax and enjoy some tasty vino. Duke's House comes with our High recommendation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2013

My mum and I spent 3 nights at Duke House in the Spring Bank Holiday. Sharon and Ray made us very welcome - totally unfussy and friendly. Our room (the twin room upstairs) was full of vintage charm and very comfortable. Liked the rooms being in the separate coach house, completely relaxed. Breakfasts were excellent. Beautiful natural garden - rambling and full of interest. Good location for visiting Southwold, the coast and countryside inland. Would definitely stay again if in the area, good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holton
5.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
316 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 2 in Blythburgh
220 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Valley Farmhouse B&B
Valley Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 1 in Westhall
56 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Duke House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke House B&B

Property: Duke House B&B
Address: Beccles Road | Upper Holton, Holton, Halesworth IP19 8NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth > Holton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Holton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing