We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Duke House B&B”
Review of Duke House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duke House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Holton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Duke House B&B”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Have lost count of the number of times we've stayed at Duke House (in all seasons) but it never fails to delight. All three, highly individual, rooms are charming and comfortable and surrounded by lush gardens. The overriding sound is birdsong. Sharon & Ray are warm and welcoming hosts who provide excellent breakfasts that always include seasonal fruits & conserves, cereals & yoghurts, along with the Full English. The homemade bread alone merits a detour! Kate & Stephen

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Sharon & Ray made us very welcome the accommodation was great ,and the garden was was very much like a secret garden with little areas with table & chairs set out. The breakfast was great with home made bread .Could only stay for 3 nights would loved to stay for much longer.looking forward to going back in the near future .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidbrown19441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Thoroughly recommend this lovely bed and breakfast. Sharon and Ray gave us a really friendly welcome and the bed was beautifully made up. Breakfast amazing so make sure you don't miss it! Garden lovely. What more could you want?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Where shall I start, so many good memories of my stay. The Duke B & B is nestled in the Suffolk countryside, in a wonderful location with Southwold just a few miles away. I had a very enjoyable stay at the Duke. The hosts Sharon & Ray are lovely people, really friendly and welcoming. The guest accommodations are lovely. They have three guest rooms and they are all tastefully decorated and very individual and also really fitting in their surroundings. The property has wonderful gardens to take walk through, the sort of place that makes you feel the peace and serenity of the English countryside. For me, this was a short break to just take some much needed time out. I picked the perfect place to do this. I slept with the windows open all night and all I could hear when I woke the next morning was the sweet sound of nature, the birds tweeting. My morning began with a wonderful breakfast, which included local produce and delicious home baked bread, not forgetting the tasty homemade preserves. Before you leave, a walk in the gardens are a must. You may even meet Dexter on your visit, he is so quiet and chilled. I'd been there for ages before I realised that he was just a few feet away the whole time, just watching the world go by :-) You will leave here feeling very mellow, having had a totally chilled and relaxed stay and like me, wishing you had booked to stay for longer!! - (Angela from Hertford)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cookham, Berks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at Duke House for 2 nights whilst attending a local festival and loved the place, very quirky and laid back. The garden is gorgeous, lots of hidden places and secluded bits, and our room was very cosy and comfortable, wonderful to come back to after a long day out. We would def go back for a long weekend to relax and explore the area a bit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cazathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

We had a memorable stay at Duke House, beautiful rooms in a beautiful setting.
The owners Ray and Sharon were both welcoming and helpful.
P.S the breakfast was yummy, locally sourced bacon, which was a joy to eat.
We would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skeetano9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2013

As ever, and we have been coming here since Ray & Sharon started the B&B, a lovely, friendly home from home,in a perfect location.Clean, comfortable and with marvelous breakfasts, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts, what more does one need? Easy access to all the local amenities and beaches and places of interest Why do you think WE keep coming back here? Thanks Ray/Sharon for another enjoyable visit. Look forward to the next one!
Dave & Ange Bucks

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 869Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holton
5.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 2 in Blythburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
3.0 mi away
Valley Farmhouse B&B
Valley Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 1 in Westhall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Duke House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke House B&B

Property: Duke House B&B
Address: Beccles Road | Upper Holton, Holton, Halesworth IP19 8NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth > Holton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Holton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing