We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people, wonderful property”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duke House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Holton B&B and Inns
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful people, wonderful property”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

What else can be said about Ray and Shannon that hasn't already been said? You couldn't ask to meet 2 nicer people anywhere in the world. They're the ultimate hosts, friendly, helpful and genuine in every way. The property and room was lovely too and we felt instantly relaxed, the moment we arrived. The breakfast was really something special too.
We couldn't recommend Duke House more highly.

Thanks Ray and Shannon, from Andrew and Margie.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

An absolutely lovely B & B, set in idyllic surroundings. The rooms are lovely, clean and very homely. The owners Sharon and Ray are great hosts and always look after us very well. Sharon cooks a mean breakfast! It is ideally located to visit the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSimps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Very old world rooms in a converted coaching house. A quaint setting in a lovely part of the country and excellent hosts. We really enjoyed the breakfast. Ray recommended the local pub the lord nelson for the evening meal which very good. I liked the gardens which you could wander around in to your hearts content.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

After friends had recommended Duke House, we booked in for 3 nights whilst visiting family in the area. We were greeted on arrival by Sharon who showed us around the lovely double room with its own bathroom and introduced us to their very mellow greyhound. The room was very nicely decorated, with nice country cottage style furniture and lots of interesting pictures, signs and books and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely too and we had our own little porch area which was useful. Breakfast was delicious - homemade bread every morning with other homemade and local produce. Ray and Sharon were brilliant hosts, very interesting and spent time chatting with us each morning. We didn't want to leave and ended up staying for an extra night! Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgoldsmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were booked into Duke House as we were attending The Lattitude Festival nearby. We had no idea what a treat we were in for. The owners, Ray and Sharon are the most wonderful hosts!
The property is just beautiful. All the rooms are unique and perfectly decorated. Every detail is perfect. The garden is a magical experience not to be missed. Around every turn there was a wonderful sculpture created by Ray with an equally amazing story behind it. Sharon makes the most delicious foods, breakfast was incredible and definitely worth getting up for. Even though the trip was initially booked for work purposes, we will definitely be booking again, next time with our family in tow! Thank you for a lovely experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house at the time, but I would like to stay in the converted stable house the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckenham, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

First visit to Suffolk and it will not be the last..what a great part of the country to have a mini break. Sharon and Ray made our 4 night stay a pleasure and we loved the accommodation, being surrounded by a pretty garden and countryside. We will definitely be booking to stay at Duke House when we next visit. Jenny and Peter.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elsenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

I stayed for two nights with Ray and Sharon. and what a lovely place! . I had a double en-suite bedroom converted from stables and set in a beautiful foresty garden. Cosy, comfortable and with lovely furnishings. Ray and Sharon are so kind and accommodating. nothing is too much trouble. They're really concerned for their guests' welfare and chatting to them feels like talking to old friends. fantastic breakfast too! Would definately recommend Duke's House and hope to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holton
5.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 2 in Blythburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.0 mi away
Valley Farmhouse B&B
Valley Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 1 in Westhall
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Duke House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke House B&B

Property: Duke House B&B
Address: Beccles Road | Upper Holton, Holton, Halesworth IP19 8NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth > Holton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Holton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing