We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous place, fabulous hosts!”
Review of Duke House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Duke House B&B
Ranked #3 of 4 Holton B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous place, fabulous hosts!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a beautiful, charming B&B. I stayed for a few nights with my parents and sister on a visit to Minsmere. It really is one of the most beautiful places I've ever stayed - the gardens are spectacular, the rooms are so, so pretty, and Sharon & Ray are the perfect hosts - friendly, welcoming & damn, they make an excellent breakfast!

To Sharon & Ray, I can't thank you enough on behalf of my whole family for making our weekend so special (and many apologies for taking a month to write the review!)

To everybody reading this review, I can't recommend this place highly enough! Go treat yourselves!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingJoanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere Port
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We recently stayed for one evening whilst on a self organized cycling holiday.
The accommodation is very nice and well equipped. Breakfast was really nice and all of the highest quality. A lovely couple and I would definitely stay again if we are ever back in Holton.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

This really is a magical place to stay. Sharon and Ray were so friendly and kind, giving us lots of good advice on places to eat out locally etc. The place itself is tucked away in the countryside. It is beautifully appointed. Having breakfast overlooking the cornfield was such a refreshing thing to do. I can not recommend this place enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Thank you to Sharon and Ray for a perfect weekend break. They are a lovely couple and the room we stayed in was perfect. Comfortable with everything you needed for a weekend getaway. Close to Southwold and surrounding areas. Definitely recommend and will visit again in the future. Lynne & Barrie x

Room Tip: The small ground floor double room was light with pretty decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Romney, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Lovely Bed and Breakfast. Great location and close to all ammenities Very nice room with lots of interesting pictures and nik naks. Sharon and Ray were very welcoming to us and our dog. Wished we could of stayed longer. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50KimL2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Well I have to agree with all the other reviews, after having yet another great stay at Duke House. It is totally unique and Ray and Sharon ensure that everything is taken care of to a high standard, so all that is left to do is relax and enjoy your stay and the surrounding countryside.

No need for any more waffle, just make the time to stay at this lovely B&B - we will be going back again soon. Also if you are visiting and fancy a drink ask Ray for directions to the Nelson.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevorandAng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 November 2013

All you really need to know is that so many of Sharon and Ray's guests have, like us, gone back to stay at Duke House many times. This week, (Oct 2013) was our fourth stay. Repeat business, you could say, except Sharon and Ray are so naturally adorable and welcoming and hospitable, and they involve you in the evolving nature of their place, that it feels anything but a business. We are treated more like friends now, as I'm sure most of their returning guests are too. There is nothing to fault. And everything to gain. Our daughters (8 & 10) love it and ask us when we're going again. They love Dexter the greyhound and Sailor the cockatiel (not always there) as well as the totally informal, creative atmosphere around the place. What are you waiting for!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holton
5.5 mi away
Randolph Hotel
Randolph Hotel
#1 of 4 in Southwold
324 reviews
3.3 mi away
White Hart Inn
White Hart Inn
#1 of 2 in Blythburgh
227 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hall Farm Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Stables at Henham Park
The Stables at Henham Park
#6 of 19 in Southwold
108 reviews
3.0 mi away
Valley Farmhouse B&B
Valley Farmhouse B&B
#1 of 1 in Westhall
58 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Angel Inn
The Angel Inn
#1 of 1 in Wangford
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke House B&B

Property: Duke House B&B
Address: Beccles Road | Upper Holton, Holton, Halesworth IP19 8NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth > Holton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Holton
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing