We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“High standard B&B”
Review of Buckland House

Buckland House
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Buckland House
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“High standard B&B”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed for two nights early August in the ground floor garden room at rear of house which was perfect. The hosts were very helpful and well organised and the catering was first class particularly Francis's home made cake ! The location was perfect for places such as Southwold and the Minsmere RSPB reserve. Would not hesitate to recommend this first class B&B.

Room Tip: Garden room at the back of the house nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
44
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Had a flying visit and stayed overnight in july, was made most welcome on arrival and the tea and cakes were much appreciated.
Car parking was good and made even more of an effort by making space in the secure stables for my motorcycle, this was very much appreciated.
we had a room at the back of the house, this was very quiet with a lovely bed and a clean large bathroom,the whole house was impeccably clean.
Roger even offered to run us to a local pub so we could have a drink with our meal, he even picked us up again later!
Breakfast was extremely good and very tasty with just enough of everything to set you up for the day ahead.
would stay again and recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank desmo666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
264 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We have just returned from 2 days at Buckland House and have had a great time. This charming B&B is well appointed and well furnished and very clean indeed. The breakfasts as others have noted are excellent with lots of homemade treats and eggs from the chickens in the garden. The hosts were very friendly and so helpful.

We traveled with our 5 year old daughter and stayed at the room at the front. This was the ideal situation for us as the room was big enough to cater for all of us and it is directly above the guest living room (and accessed from the living room) so we could put our daughter down and have somewhere to sit while she was sleeping which was a really welcome surprise. Anyone can use the living room but they didn't while we were staying there. We were very late having been stuck in terrible traffic and Roger stayed up to meet us without a sniff of annoyance and even provided us with wine glasses to help us unwind!

Roger and Frances would say that the property isn't suitable for children as they are next to the main road and the stairs up to the room are terribly steep. This is true but if your child, like ours, sleeps well and is reasonably well behaved then this is a good place to come I would say. Babies and toddlers maybe not so but it depends on the child and the parent!! Our daughter was made very welcome.

I am surprised to see some other reviewers say it isn't rural enough! It is by a main road, main by Suffolk standards, but other than that it is surrounded by farms and fields. The gardens are lovely, feeding the chickens was great fun. We weren't bothered at all by the road, neither us nor our daughter were woken by it and we had no problem sleeping in the very comfortable bed. Breakfast was superb. We were offered water to take out with us, etc. I can honestly say we couldn't have wanted for more.

In addition, when we have traveled to B&B's where the normal occupancy is 2 we have been charged extra for breakfast for our daughter on occasions. None of that here! It is well placed for all the local sight seeing spots. We'd return and I have already recommended it to friends.

Room Tip: The room at the front is by the main road but is very well proportioned with a great shower. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReviewerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our second relaxing visit to this B & B having discovered it last year.
Buckand House is a lovely cottage, comfortably and sympathetically furnished without being over fussy. A warm welcome from Frances and Roger and a most welcome pot of tea and cake upon arrival. Nothing is too much trouble for our hosts including the loan of spectacles when we lost ours. Buckland House is suitably positioned for visits to the coast and there is a good selection of places to eat in Bungay and Halesworth (including Sunday night and Bank Holiday Monday).
The cottage is on a main road, we live on a no through road but didn't find the traffic a problem - we were at the front of the house.
Must also mention the breakfast, Chris loved the fish cakes and we could tell that the eggs were free-range (from the cottage chickens), beautifully presented.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I went to buckland house b&b with three members of my family and I can honestly say I have never felt so at home anywhere, it felt like I was going to my favourite aunt and uncle, they could not have been more welcoming and kind. The house and grounds were immaculate with great attention to detail. All the food was delicious,with home made bread, hot cross buns, yogurt, jams and marmalade to mention but a few, we had two lovely days out at the beautiful aldborough and southwold, but I have only scratched the surface and can't wait to go back. Five stars for comfort, food, atmosphere and making us feel so at home, ThankYou roger and Francis

Room Tip: Double room upstairs with ensuite and a twin bedroom downstairs with ensuite and pet dogs are welcom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geraldine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bucks
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Everything about Buckland House was excellent apart from the fact that it's really very close to a fairly busy road. This is not such a problem for the two back rooms, but is very noticeable in the front room (the Floral Room). And it does detract slightly from the rural country feel which we were expecting from reading the website.
The welcome was very friendly and welcoming, as was service throughout, and Frances was very happy to extend her tray of tea and cakes to include an extra person who we'd arranged to meet us there in the cosy common sitting room. The bedroom was very comfortable and well equipped with a small tin of cookies as well as the usual tea and coffee (real!) with fresh milk always on hand in a fridge in the entrance hall. Excellent shower as well.
Breakfast was very good with fresh local produce, eggs from their own hens, homemade bread, etc.

Room Tip: The Floral Room has the larger shower room but is on the road side of the house, so noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tortoise_or_Hare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

I was surprised that Buckland House is right on a busy road. We had a room at the back of the house so the road was not noisy but not the country setting I expected. Our room (the Penny room) was rather small but clean and well-appointed. Biscuits,tea and cake on arrival very nice and homemade biscuits in room. Breakfast was fine, nothing special other than the delicious homemade lemon curd. Rather spoiled by the rat running round the garden we could see through the French windows. Very friendly owners though and plenty of car parking. It was fine here, nice, in fact, just not as spectacular as the website and reviews here suggested.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Buckland House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckland House

Property: Buckland House
Address: Buckland House Halesworth Road, Ilketshall St Lawrence, Halesworth NR34 8LB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Halesworth > Ilketshall St Lawrence
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ilketshall St Lawrence
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Buckland House is an extended 18th century cottage,situated in the picturesque North East corner of Suffolk. We offer luxury accomodation,comprising 2 doubles & 1 ground floor twin, all ensuite.We have an extensive breakfast menu, using locally sourced produce & eggs from our own hens. We are ideally placed for the Heritage coast, Southwold, Minsmere, Aldeburgh & the start of the Broads. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Buckland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing