We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comparable amenities for a fair price except pet fee for sleeping in your temp. safe car overnight” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Western Inn South Kearney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Western Inn South Kearney
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Salt Lake City, Utah
2 reviews
“Comparable amenities for a fair price except pet fee for sleeping in your temp. safe car overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I was content with our short, one-night stay and the breakfast was comparable good for the reasonable price. We stay at hotels such as Super8, Rodeway Inn, and Econolodge. We checked in after midnight so I did not mention our dog since it was cool enough for him to remain in the car. At our 8 a.m. check-out, the manager told me of the $10 "on property" pet fee. I had to insist that the rules stated "in room" cleaning not "on property". Based on the manager's response to my gratitude, I was not sure the fee would be waived the next time we stayed. I was uncomfortable to ask about the next time which would have been the following weekend, so I reluctantly chose to go with Super8 which has comparable rates for Kearney. If it were not for the "on property" pet fee, I would have gladly returned to the Western Inn South. I believe its rate is a fair price for a short overnighter especially since it has a relatively quality breakfast included.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ric022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    6
    18
    6
    23
See reviews for
16
23
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alma, Nebraska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I am not sure why this has gotten bad reviews...I have been a guest off and on for several years ans have never had a bad experience!! It isn't a luxury hotel, but it has a very nice pool and hottub and is very clean!! I have always been impressed with the cleanliness!!

Helpful?
Thank mrsmac429
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Platte, Nebraska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Advertising stated children under 9 stay free so made reservations for two adults however at check in - because the reservation was for 2adults -we were charged $16 extra for each night(2 nights ) for a 5yr old child and a 15 month old child neither needing an extra bed etc. (And was suppose to be FREE- stated in advertising). Not impressed with breakfast and there were loud "neighbors" after 9:00 when we were trying to get children to sleep who broke glass bottle in walkway. When told manager was told "oh they are construction workers" so nothing was done to help the situation Manager was rude!! Advertising stated Hot tub but was not working- highly recommend that you stay elsewhere - better value and better treatment - I know we will be staying any place but here!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kearney hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

No hot tub. Ice cold pool more suited for ice fishing. My wife and mother in law were threatened and had to fight to get refunded our money after discovering about the pool and hot tub. Don't stay here. If you continue onto Lexington the Holiday Inn Express is nice and staff is great.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirit7162, Manager at Western Inn South Kearney, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
check everything before you check in, indoor pool has a 50000 gallons of water and requirement is 82 degrees , thats Nebraska health and human services.and we don't have hot tub and it says on the counter and as you enter to lobby the pool door is right in front and on the door it says "NO HOT TUB" in big writing.you should check all these things before you check in, and you or your family used $39.95 coupon. Holiday inn express don't have $39.95 rate for sure.compare our amenities with holiday inn express and then compare rates, we have business center,free breakfast,free wifi,in room coffee, indoor pool,each and every room has microwave and refrigerator,park up to your door, guest laundry, parking for big trucks, cable t.v.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewiston, Maine
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Cheap. Owners not welcoming. Pool "closed for maintenance" but appeared to simply be closed seemingly to save money. Hottub empty. Breakfast beyond scrimpy. Towels rough. Poor lighting in parking area. Breakfast area had seating for 4 people only. Owners unfamiliar with area. Soda machine empty. On and on....

Room Tip: Front of building more secure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyS54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Staff was friendly, pool was nice and warm. They accepted pets, which we appreciated. Grounds were pretty nice - a few cig butts on the parking area, but grass was nice and green.
Beds were of average comfort. It looked as if a renovation had perhaps begun, as the carpet looked new and didn't quite match the existing furnishings. The only thing I found odd and to be a quick fix was the PTAC unit in the room must not have fit perfectly, and to fill the gap, they had used wads of kleenex. The kleenex is OK as a air leak insulator, but perhaps consider covering it with some duct tape to make it look better? The free breakfast was quite simply, waffle, cold cereal, and toast, but for the price of the rooms - was acceptable. Neighbors were a bit noisy, and were in and our of their room all night long, doors slamming, etc. I would consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Not very full when I was there, ask for a room away from others to keep the noise down as door slam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirit7162, Owner at Western Inn South Kearney, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank You, We are trying our best to bring the property up to standard , And we are getting a new PTAC unit though. Hope to see you again and thank you for your gesture.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

I stayed in Western Inn South about a week ago. Staff was fairly friendly, room was clean, comfortable, and decent size. One of other thing I liked was that it was quiet. Swimming pool, wireless, accessible computer in lobby, microwave/fridge in room, and breakfast in the morning were all excellent perks. I never really travel through Nebraska but would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirit7162, Owner at Western Inn South Kearney, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Thank you very much, we will try to keep it up and improve more. t.y. and we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kearney hotels
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Kearney
Howard Johnson Kearney
#19 of 22 in Kearney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#15 of 22 in Kearney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#3 of 22 in Kearney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#14 of 22 in Kearney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.3 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Kearney
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Western Inn South Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Western Inn South Kearney

Property: Western Inn South Kearney
Address: 510 3rd Avenue, Kearney, NE 68845
Region: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Western Inn South Kearney 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Kearney Nebraska, this motel is a 2 minute drive from the trails & rails museum.it serves a continental breakfast every morning and features an indoor pool and hot tub.Free Wi-Fi and cable TV with HBO are included in every room at Western Inn South.They come with microwave, a refrigerator, and coffee-making facilities.The front desk at the Western Inn South is staffed 24 hours a day.There is a guest laundromat on site.The museum of Nebraska Art is a 5 minute drive from the motel. The cottonmill lake state Recreation Area is 6 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Western Inn South Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing