We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Updated gem on the prairie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Kearney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Kearney
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Winterset
2 reviews
“Updated gem on the prairie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel had a modern feel to it. Excellent staff and breakfast. Small refrigerator and microwave in room. There was only 3 towels so if you have a big group you may need more.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor to avoid slow elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Every year we have numerous large groups that stay with us, and it is our top priority that each guest feels as though they are at home. I want to thank you for your constructive review, as this allows us to strive to improve our quality and service at this hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip through Kearney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    48
    6
    8
    1
See reviews for
72
34
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sloan, Iowa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

This is your traditional express but the people are extra friendly. I stayed here three years ago and experienced the same hospitality. The rooms have recently renovated. A very nice experience!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jlutt87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
I would first like to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. It is our goal to continue to maintain a consistent level of service and quality throughout our hotel and our company. I am glad to hear that the experience you received recently was the same as your stay three years ago. Reviews such as yours help us to continue to strive toward our goal of consistency and quality. Thank you for reviewing our property and when you are back in our area we look forward to your visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

This property is one of the best hotels I have stayed at. As an international traveler the InterContinental Group is a brand that is consistently good, but I can honestly say this is a wonderful property. The makeover is just being completed on the exterior, but the inside and rooms are complete. Very contemporary decor that is tasteful and well thought out. Would recommend this property to everyone! Staff is very accomodating-came in at 9:00 p.m. and they were out of coffee, but made a pot just for me. THAT is what I call great service. Breakfast had a wide variety of options. Manager reception Monday - Thursday that includes fingerfoods, beer and wine.

Room Tip: My preference is always a top floor room as it tends to be quieter than any other floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BamTamOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
I want to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. I am glad to hear that your experience at our property was nothing short of “amazing.” It is our staff that truly makes our hotel a one of a kind experience. Combined with our newly renovated hotel, our staff works hard to set our hotel apart from our competition. As the manager of the Holiday Inn Express, reviews such as yours truly make myself as well as our staff feel like we are making a difference. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mfarid2009
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed there a conference in Kearney. The place was excellent and everything was clean. The bed was comfy and the room was spacious and well organized. The breakfast food was a good variety and had fruits and cereals plus eggs and sausages. The pool was nice too.



  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mfarid2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

This is one of a group of hotels in town owned by the Younes Group. It's a little bit outside of town, just past the I-80 ramps, so you can't really walk anywhere except for Skeeter Barnes next door. The hotel was undergoing renovations when I was there, but I hardly noticed, which is a credit to the management and the workers doing the construction. This was one of the cleanest and most up to date Holiday Inns I've ever stayed at. The room was quite large, with a couch in it, and the bed was very comfortable. It looked like the bathroom had been recently repainted a fun green color (though the tiles could have used a good bleaching, particularly under the sink area where they were black). Usually, a hotel fitness center is outfitted with treadmills that seem to have been manufactured in 1982. This gym actually had brand new Matrix equipment (3 machines and a full set of free weights) with built-in televisions and fans. Breakfast was the usual Holiday Inn disappointment, so if you can, make plans to eat out somewhere, but they made up for it with a free 5-7 happy hour every night in the lobby. The hotel does have a business center but it was out of service (ie: no computers or printers) due to the construction while I was there. If you are needing this, call ahead to see if it's back up and running. All told, I really liked this hotel and would stay here again if I ever need to return to Kearney.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Piles of tile and unfinished floors and dust at reception and lounge. Rooms that are finished still smell but windows won't open far enough to air it out. We wouldn't have stayed here if we'd known.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frontierfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Case Manager at Holiday Inn Express Kearney, responded to this review, 13 April 2012
Dear Frontierfan,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear you didnt enjoy your stay. We try to keep impact to guests of our renovations minimal.
I appreciate that you have provided us with valuable feedback. I hope you can come back and see all the changes that have been made.
Best wishes for future travels.

Katie J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
141 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2012

All the rooms have been recently renovated. However all three nights we stayed here, we experienced difficulties getting into and out of the hotel due to all the work involved in renovating the first floor. It was a mess with lots of dust. The first floor should be finished by March 24 or so. The breakfast was still good. It was served in the meeting room because the breakfast room was being worked on. The rooms were clean and nice. We were here to see the annual Sandhill Crane migration, which was awesome.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoefromOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kearney hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Kearney
Hampton Inn Kearney
#1 of 22 in Kearney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
0.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Kearney
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Kearney
Comfort Inn Kearney
#7 of 22 in Kearney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Kearney
Holiday Inn Kearney
#13 of 22 in Kearney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Kearney
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Kearney

Property: Holiday Inn Express Kearney
Address: 508 2nd Ave. South, P.O. Box 2558, Kearney, NE 68848
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Kearney
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kearney
#11 Business Hotel in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Kearney 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you are coming to Kearney s Holiday Inn Express on business or just for fun you will find all the comforts of home, at one of the most convenient locations in the Midwest. We offer easy access to I-80 and are just minutes away from The Great Platte River Road Archway Monument. Holiday Inn Express Hotel Kearney has 89 over sized rooms, of which, 9 are suites with sitting areas. We have 6 hot tub suites and one meeting room. Exercise in our fitness center, go for a swim in our pool, polish that presentation in the business center or relax with a cold beer at our managers reception. All of Kearney s Holiday Inn Express guest rooms feature the following: free high-speed wireless Internet, microwaves, refrigerators, coffee-makers, large work desks, desk lamps, and 42' flat panel TV with HBO. We have a heated indoor pool and whirlpool. Free hot breakfast is available everyday with eggs, biscuits, gravy, sausage or bacon, fruit as well as many other items! If you re staying during the week make sure to enjoy our managers reception (Monday through Thursday 5:30 PM to 7 PM) which includes: free beer, wine and hors d'oeuvres and a Priority Club point drawing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Kearney Hotel Kearney
Holiday Inn Kearney
Kearney Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing