We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are you kidding me?”

Thunderhead Brewing Company
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in Kearney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Description: Woodstone oven pizzas, calzones, salads served with wonderful craft brews.
Restaurant details
Description: Woodstone oven pizzas, calzones, salads served with wonderful craft brews.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Are you kidding me?”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Please do something that I did not do before I went here to eat ---- read the reviews more closely. This place is really not a restaurant but is a place to drink beer. The menu is extremely limited and there are definitely better dining options available.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyclops1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    56
    19
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gardner, Kansas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Jalapeño Ale!!!”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were traveling through on our way to Mt. Rushmore and stayed the night in Kearney and I found great reviews on here. Thought we would give it a try, the pizza was fantastic and the creative brews were delicious and appreciated the creativity:). This is also a very family friendly restaurant and they have very cheap pint glass souvenirs...we took a couple home:). Staff was very friendly and service was very fast. Definitely will be coming back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank serenity4life03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Local Pub”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Great small town place!! Pizza is tasty, beer plentiful! Great place to meet up with friends for happy hour!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank littl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Ne
Level Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great local brew pub”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

food is brew pub style. Pizza is a don't waste your money. The rest is good and the beers are great. Need a new menu that reflects more of the local area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kycgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Evening”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We like to check out local brewpubs when we are traveling. Thunderhead was a nice find, pretty busy for a week night. The Thunder Pie (pizza) was tasty and the beer selection was decent. We were most impressed with our waitress who was constantly going up and down the stairs (main restaurant is upstairs, bar is downstairs). If you're in Kearney, it's worth the stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Likes2Travel2Places
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thunderhead Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Thunderhead Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing