We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful House, Incredible Tiffany window”

G.W. Frank Museum of History and Culture
Ranked #11 of 20 things to do in Kearney
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: The Frank Museum is located in one of the largest mansions built during Kearney's 19th century industrial boom. Completed in 1890, the home of George and Phoebe Frank was notable for its opulence and modernity, featuring hand-carved oak woodwork, electric lighting, indoor plumbing, steam heating, large fireplaces, and other modern amenities. Following Kearney's collapse in the mid-1890s, the building served as both a private sanitarium and the residency for the Nebraska State Hospital for the Tubercular (now the West Campus of UNK). Today, the museum's mission is to engage diverse audiences with the history and culture of Kearney, Nebraska, and the larger Great Plains region through collecting, preserving, and sharing the stories of the many individuals associated with this historic site. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, the Frank Museum serves as a living institution, interpreting the home and its cultural resources, and is dedicated to exploring our past as a way of better understanding our present and future. Throughout the year, the museum is available for public and private tours, school trips, university functions, and as a resource for class projects.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for older children
Freedom, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful House, Incredible Tiffany window”
Reviewed 11 November 2012

The instant I saw the window I knew it was by Tiffany, ten foot tall Tiffany stained glass window is absolutely beautiful! The Frank House is free to tour and the window alone makes it a worthwhile stop but if you are a woodwork hound then the house is full of treasures to discover. Th workmanship is exquisite. Restoration is correct and a work in progress

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurie-Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nine Mile Falls, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A True American Treasure”
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We spent a couple of hours here today. The young man who served as our tour guide was simple awesome. His name was Brian Whetstone. He is a local high school student, but he is one of the most knowledgeable tour guides I have ever encountered. He answered all of our questions and gave us lots of information about the house, town and the development of the area. Highly recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A grand Victorian Mansion: The Frank House”
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Built in the 1880's, it is the first house west of the Mississippi tohave both plumbing and electricity. Its many fireplaces feature Austrian tiles of many colors. Some artifacts in the home (marked with red ribbons) are original possessions of the Frank family. Mr. Frank had previously built mansions in Corning, Iowa, and Warsaw, New York. The Corning house was destroyed by fire but the Warsaw home still stands.

The home was placed on the National Registerof Historic Places in 1973.

The home is presently owned by, and is on the campus of, the University of Nebraska at Kearney. It is at the west end of the campus and is just a block north of highway 30. Look for a "Frank House" sign on the north side of the road.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Loperfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth a visit!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a grand house built in the late 1800's with plumbing and electricity. The builder was a local developer who helped bring electrification to the entire community through a canal system that provided hydrolelectric power. The house is grand and the tour guides were excellent. Beautiful wood carving throughout the house as well as a large Tiffany stained glass window.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank greeleyborn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvard
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC HOUSE”
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This is the most gorgeous house. This is the 3rd mansion Mr Frank built before he went bankrupt during the depression. The rooms & furnishing are fabulous. You HAVE to see it to believe it. They are renevating it back to it's original & are doing it all on just donations. So they need our help. This is a 3 story mansion plus basement but you can't go into the basement. I want to go back again in a few years to see what all they've done to it & I hope I'm able to see the finished product as it is going to be gorgeous. GO see this mansion, is all I can say.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank mwalters211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed G.W. Frank Museum of History and Culture also viewed

 

Been to G.W. Frank Museum of History and Culture? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing