We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget choice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Kearney
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Minnesota
Level Contributor
186 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good budget choice”
Reviewed 16 December 2010

The clerk was friendly and welcoming upon arrival and the owner greeted us and asked how our stay was in the morning. This hotel is close to the freeway yet quiet. The lobby was spacious and the hallways were newly carpeted and clean. Our room had a new king bed and new carpet. It was clean. The breakfast room was clean and pleasant with 3 cereals, oatmeal, waffles, breads and bagels, and muffins and rolls. There were two juice machines and coffee.
For business I often stay at a Marriot for 4 times the price and don't get breakfast included. This is a good choice for budget minded travelers.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    54
    72
    56
    34
See reviews for
112
42
30
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We were coming back from a trackday at Mid America Moterplex and stopped over night at this gem. The rate was incredible for we got got a nice spacious room, and oh god the beds were soft and plushy. We took a dip at the hot spa, and jumped right to the pool and slept a good nights rest. All in all satisfied, I'll definitely be staying here again next time we stop in Kearney.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dannythrottle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, Ca.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 March 2010

Tragic circumstances brought me to Kearney, but tears turned to elation as I enjoyed a pleasant weekend in one of the Jacuzzi Suits at the esteemed Days Inn of Kearney.

The staff looked after my needs, and I had a very quiet and clean room with a huge jacuuzi next to the bed where I enjoyed myself like a Roman Centurion after a long battle. Not only did I get a good couple of nights sleep, I was was bathed in luxury as well in the large and lavish bath... the free breakfast was superb as well and the staff are second to none.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinsvoyage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsley
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2009

The worst! The carpet and furniture were filthy. The room had an odd odor. The beds came unmade the moment you got in them. I could hear another room's tv and conversations through the springs of the bed...honest to God! I could feel the springs of the matress poking me all night. The tub drained so slowly I was standing in a good 6" of water during my shower. The help was anything but helpful or friendly. There is a cement ramp up to the sidewalk that is not properly marked which my mom tripped on and fell. Do not stay here!

Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank trulyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kearney hotels

Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

What's with the zillions of hotel rooms in Kearney?? Is that wood arch thing over the freeway really that big of a deal? Anyway I only choose this place because I was using a Roomsaver coupon. It's not bad, it's not great. Carpet could use some cleaning of stains and the beds are not great. But overall, it's doable. And I figured I could complain to the corporate office if it turned into a motel from hell. Well it wasn't and I slept good. I even heard the manager yell at a housekeeper the next morning over some incomplete vacuuming. So I guess they must care about the condition of this place.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1runner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dell Rapids, SD
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

The hotel was clean, the pool and hot tub were ok, and the continental breakfast was pretty good. The rooms were a decent size and everything was in order. The only thing I didn't like was the layout of the hotel. To get to our room we had to squeeze through the small breakfast area and dodge people that were eating or watching TV. Also, the parking was a little inconvenient. Overall, I have no serious compalints though. Everything was adequate.

  • Liked — Room appearance and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Hotel layout and parking
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank janhalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
prescott valley az
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2005

this is a great hotel! the staff was most accomodating. our room was very large. it could have held 2 king sized beds not just one. the bed was fairly firm. the room was quiet. the pool and the spa were great. the breakfast was outstanding. omletes, sausage, waffles, biscuits, gravy, juice. make sure you have dinner or lunch at skeeter barnes. we had the best ribs ever and we eaten a lot of ribs.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123bud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kearney hotels
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#16 of 22 in Kearney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.5 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Kearney
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#14 of 22 in Kearney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn & Suites
Rodeway Inn & Suites
#2 of 22 in Kearney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Kearney
Ramada Kearney
#19 of 22 in Kearney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Victorian Inn & Suites - Kearney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Kearney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Kearney

Property: Howard Johnson Kearney
Address: 619 2nd Ave EAST/I-80, I-80 & Exit 272, Kearney, NE 68847-7809 (Formerly Days Inn Kearney)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Nebraska > Kearney
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 22 Hotels in Kearney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Kearney 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in central Nebraska, this motel is 7 miles from Fort Kearney State Historical Park. it serves a continental breakfast every morning and features an indoor pool. Free Wi-Fi access and cable TV with HBO are included in every room at Howard Johnson Kearney. They are furnished with a work desk and equipped with an iron. Select rooms feature a 48-inch flat-screen TV. Guests can relax in the hot tub or exercise in the fitness centre at Kearney Howard Johnson. The reception is open 24 hours a day and there is also a business centre on site. The Museum of Nebraska Art is 1.5 miles from the Kearney Days Inn. The Great Platte River Road Archway is 10 minutes' drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Kearney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Kearney
Kearney Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing